$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Georgia
Aug 17, 2010

Hotel Amsterdam

I loved the location of Hotel Amsterdam. It is right in the middle of EVERYTHING. The staff was friendly, helpful, quick, and very knowledgeable about the city. The rooms were small, however, most rooms in Europe are small. We did not stay in the hotel very much and there were only two of us. It worked well for us. We did not mind the small as we have been in smaller rooms in other European cities. Safety is a key for me and here it worked well. Lots of eating places (fast food and restaurant) within 5 minute walk. Excellent food on buffet for breakfast. It is a ten minute walk to Central Station and water transportation. Ground transportation has a trolley stop at the hotel front. Trolleys were easy to use and maps from the hotel worked well for us along with instructions from the helpful staff. I just can not say enough good things about the location, food, hospitality and safety. People in Amsterdam were more than willing to help us find were we needed to go on the trolley. I would not hesitate to book there again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your Ann Frank House tickets ahead of time and other museums because the lines are long (or were for us). The hotel sells them right there at the counter along with free discount coupons for several things in Amsterdam.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Wolf" and Joan
Couples
Wantagh, Long Island, New York
Aug 29, 2010

Location...

Terrific location right on Damrak Street in the center of city. Saved big by taking the train directly from Schipol Airport since the hotel is only short walk from Central Train Station. So much to see.... musts are a 'Canal Cruise', Anne Frank House, the many Museums, Vondelpark, the beautiful and picturesque Jordan district and the infamous and very interesting Red Light District. If you like to "people watch", there were many 'street performers' and interesting people to keep anyone fascinated! But watch out for the bicycles and bike paths.. the locals do get mad if you walk or block them and be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as most of the streets and walkways are cobblestone. If walking is not for you, there are numerous trams to virtually every destination worth seeing. On one day, we took a full-day bus tour that stopped at a small cheese making farm that showed how Gouda cheese was made, we visited windsmills, fishing villages, a small clog making store where you witnessed them making the wooden shoes, a Delft ceramic store where they described the process of how Deftware is made, a trip to The Hague and an stop at Mauradam. If you do leave the Amsterdam area be sure to visit the 'miniature city' of Mauradam, where every one of the exhibits in the 'city' is exactly 1/25th of it's actual size. It was quite impressive! Amsterdam is really a very picturesque city. Whether it's just going to the coffee shops, sitting at an outdoor cafe or just taking in the sights of the city, the 100 canals and 1,000 bridges that encompass the this old and historic city make it must destination for any traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Powderhouse
Couples
Ystad Sweden (summer); Boston MA (winter
Jul 29, 2009

Excellent hotel on a nasty street.

Our room was quite large and very comfortable. We were just one flight up and in the rear, so there was a lot of street noise during the day, but at night it was quiet after, say, eleven o'clock. Service was super, the front desk helped us with every request. There were only two negatives. First, the hotel is very centrally and conveniently located but the street it's on -- Damrak -- is noisy, dirty, crowded, and displays a lot of the worst of what Amsterdam has to offer. (Fortunately, in five minutes you can get to the areas that make Amsterdam otherwise so charming and beautiful.) Second, we needed to print out our boarding passes the day before our departure, and although my wife knew exactly how to do this, the clerk insisted on doing it herself -- without success. So then the clerk suggested that my wife use the hotel's "business center", where, she said, my wife could use the computer free if she was on the internet for ten minutes or less. She did just that. But when we checked out, we were charged 7.50 euros for use of the internet. When we objected, we were told that we had been misinformed the day before, that there was always a charge for use of the internet. A minor complaint, but still a bit annoying. One other thing. I left an item of clothing in the room (only the second time I've done this in 72 years) and when I called the hotel to have it sent on (to Sweden, not across the Atlantic), the hotel insisted on a credit card number in order to charge me. I suppose that's not unfair -- and I'm grateful they were willing to take the trouble -- but considering what we paid for the room, and the minimal cost to the hotel, it struck me as a bit petty. On the whole, I'd have to say De Roode Leeuw is an excellent hotel -- comfortable, clean, spacious, air conditioned, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The world-famous Concertgebouw gives 900 concerts per year in its various venues. Mostly classical (of the highest quality) but some popular music as well. Getting there is easy -- a ten-minute tram ride. And the cost of the tram is included in the ticket, as is the cost of a drink (wine, beer, coffee, tea) before the concert and at each intermission. So for 39 euros each, we got transportation, three drinks each, and a splendid performance of Bach's cello suites by a world-class cellist. A terrific evening at a bargain price.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dougald
Couples
Amsterdam
Nov 16, 2014

Good Value

Excellent location in old town centre: within one to two minutes of two tram stops: Tram and museum tickets at reception: comfortable and clean rooms: very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IAN F
Couples
SPAIN
Dec 29, 2014

EXCELLENT VALUE

THE LOCATION COULD NOT BE BETTER, WE MANAGED TO WALK FROM THE TRAIN STATION ON ARRIVAL. WE VISITED ROYAL PALACE, MUSEUMS, RED LIGHT DISTRICT AND ALL RESTAURANTS ON FOOT. HOTEL STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. IT IS EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY. WE DID NOT EAT IN HOTEL AS WE WANTED TO TRY INDONESIAN AND TRADITIONAL DUTCH FOOD BUT RESTAURANT WAS ALWAYS BUSY. THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Couples
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alewyn M.
Couples
Isle of Palms
Mar 10, 2015

Great location. Splendid bufet

Friendly staff and nice restaurant. Best coffee in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junibug
Business
Rockville
Mar 24, 2015

Not bad for a business trip

The room was for one and extremely tiny, but met my needs for a short term stay. I was under the weather during this trip so maybe this didn't help me feel less claustrophobic. But the staff were very kind and helpful...kept the room tidy and allowed me to borrow the restaurant's utensils, etc. for my soup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert K.
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

City break

Great location within easy reach of all attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Bakrania
Friends
London
Nov 6, 2010

Great Location

Fantastic Location, right next Dam Square. You have shops/services avaliable to you as soon as you walk out of the Hotel. Hotel Staff were very helpful & Professional. Excellent Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top