$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMGB
Business
Surrey UK
Aug 30, 2013

Basic but very comfortable

Small rooms but very comfortable and clean. Good central location a short walk from Central Station and within easy walk of places of interest. No traffic noise. Good restaurant. Excelled breakfast. Friendly, helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jun 27, 2011

worth it

Great place from which to explore Amsterdam. Right off Dam Square. Tram stops right in front of the hotel and train station (to and from the airport) is a 5 minute walk. This place is safe, clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Rooms are pretty small with nothing special in terms of amenities, although the bathrooms are quite nice. Free wi-fi. Good lodging at a fair price...I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at the Corner Hotel and Cafe is really good...baked mussels or veal...both delicious. Reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HF in NJ
Business
South Brunswick, NJ
Jul 10, 2009

Very convenient hotel

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and well maintained. Very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 3, 2011

Amazing Location, Comfortable Hotel

[...].The hotel is centrally located, right next to Amsterdam's most famous square (Dam Square). Also, just two blocks from the Red Light District, the shopping strip, and many restaurants. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. 10-minute walk to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room had two large windows that opened. Safe in the room. Clean and safe surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jul 23, 2011

De Roode Leeue Amsterdam

(+) Very good location---10 minutes walk to Central Station. Just in the corner of Dam square. (-) I booked a non-smoking room, however, they made me spent the first night in a smoking-room---The smell inside the room was really-really bad, I couldn't sleep. I went to the front desk and asked to move me into a different room. He said that it was the only room available that night. They moved me to another room for night 2 & 3. I had breakfast on my first day. I found it expensive and not worthy (there were flies in the room!). Had I to be back in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay there again. I came to Ammsterdam to participate in a large conference. A friend of mine booked a room in a large hotel with a Polish name, which was just in front of mine. Excellent place. I had breakfast there on day 2 and 3 and enjoy their tea time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains in the Shopping Mall next to the Central Station and excellent cafes in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daviddj7
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Hotem Amsterdam DE Roode Leeuw

It's a very nice place in the center of town withing easy walking distance of the train station. My single room was TINY but servicable but the staff at the front desk was very helpful in assisting me to find my way around the city. For the price I paid, I think that some kind of breakfast should be included. Also, internet is $7.50 Euros an hour in the business center and that is clearly out of line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place called "Fruiteria" just around the corner that makes great fresh squeezed fruit drinks and crepes that make a healthy way to start your day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Jan 28, 2010

Good Hotel, Great Location, Excellent Pr

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are recently renovated and very clean, but a bit small for 2 people. The location was fabulous. Lots of places to walk to and an easy tram ride to the museums. Many restaurants, cafes and coffeeshops within easy walking distance. Good shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pelger
Business
dayton, OH
Sep 22, 2009

extremelly convenient

This was a very positive experience. The location is unbeatable - close to everything in Amsterdam. You can walk to the hotel from the Central Station. It takes 10-15 min so you don't depend on public transportation and don't need a taxi to get from and to the airport. Once you are there you are within 5 min walking distance to restaurants, shopping, boat tours, and Red Lights district. There is also a tram station right in front of the hotel if you need to get to the museums. We spent a lot of time hanging out in the Dam square, which is just 50 meters away from the hotel. There is always something going on there. We had a good view of the square from our room and we could watch people and street performers from the window. The staff was very friendly. We arrived at 10 AM and our room was ready even though the check in time is normally at 3 pm. The room was clean, just a little old. The bathroom was nicely remodeled, although a little small. The internet is not included in the price, which is a minus. I was a little worried before we went that it would be noisy, being so close to the city center and the tram line. But the windows are sound-proof and it was reasonably quiet especially during the night. Overall we were very pleased and would choose the hotel again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perennial queen
Business
lancaster, pa
Jun 15, 2009

heart of old town Amsterdam

Hotel was very clean and accomadating. Restaurnat was very nice as well. Perfect location to shopping and all the sights of old town. Would stay there again. Good price for the premier location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misky
Business
Spring Hill, FL
Jul 22, 2009

Great Location and Comfortable Room

We loved this hotel! It was surprisingly quiet and cozy for such a busy location. Our room was very comfortable - small when compared with American hotel rooms, but plenty of room for us. Bed was exceedingly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Gravenstraat to a tiny gem of a pub called Cafe Belgique. You'll notice it by the little gnome sign that says "La Chouffe." Get there early because the place fills up fast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top