$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
5 days trip in Amsterdam

The hotel is situated in perfect location next to Dam and close to the Central Station! Nice and... See full review

  • Charalampos
  • Apr 25, 2014
De Roode Leeuw

The staff are fantastic. The room was small (what does one expect in an old building), but... See full review

  • xjrs
  • Aug 17, 2013
Located in the heart of Amsterdam, this hotel is uniquely positioned in the middle of the financial, business, shopping and entertainment districts. The famous and vivid Dam Square, one of the most important places of the old city centre, is only 50 metres away. There one will find the Royal Palace, the New Church as well as Madame Tussauds wax statues museum and Diamond stores. The Roode Leeuw combines style with a warm and intimate atmosphere. One will feel at home during stay in a hotel renowned for its hospitality. The building dates back to the 15th century and is located on Damrak in the heart of Amsterdam. Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw opened in 1911 and is one of the few still privately owned hotels of Amsterdam. Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that one can focus on the bigger picture. 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon. The hotel offers Airport transfer(fee), baby sitting service(on request), banquet facilities, bar, business centre, conference facilities, dry cleaning, gift shop, Internet access( internet via TV is available in the hotel rooms and costs EUR 7.50 per hour), wireless internet access in lobby and restaurant, laundry service, lift/elevator, lobby, only non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant(1 breakfast room), room service, safe deposit box, secretarial services, smoke free hotel, tour desk, terrace, luggage storage, bicycle and rental and ironing service and shoe shine. Additional Charges: City tax of 5.5% not included in the rates to be paid by the guests upon check out! All our rooms are non-smoking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Budget Single Room
This non smoking room type offers one single bed, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone. No children permitted.
Standard Room Double/Twin
This non smoking room type offers a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Superior Room Double/Twin
These non smoking rooms are more spacious and offer a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that you can focus on the bigger picture. Our 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant, De Roode Leeuw serves regional Dutch specialties as well as international dishes. Once one -have become acquainted with the delightful creations of The Netherlands however, will most certainly be convinced. Superb wines and magnificent old-fashioned local liquors (recipes which are over 300 years old) are available. Guests can watch the world go by on the terrace of the brassiere, De Roode Leeuw, overlooking the colourful Dam Square. One can choose from a large range of drinks, typical Dutch snacks, lunch dishes, coffee varieties, pastries and ice creams. Brassiere De Roode Leeuw is one of the oldest (dating back to 1930) heated and air-conditioned terraces in Amsterdam, making it a perfect place to use as a meeting point or a haven in busy Amsterdam. Buffet breakfast is not included and costs EUR 15.00 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMCK
Business
UK
Sep 5, 2011

Excellent Central Location

A wonderful location, very friendly staff and at a good price. Also a fantastic resturant well worth trying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Business
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle M.
Business
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

De Roode Leeuw Hotel in Amsterdam is in the very heart of Amsterdam. If you want to feel the pulse of the city this is the place to stay. A few blocks from Centraal Station you can walk and explore while you make your way to the hotel. My husband and I thought the hotel staff was very knowledgable, courteous.and friendly. We loved our vacation, museums were in walking distance and many restaurants to choose from. If you want to feel safe and invited in Amsterdam stay at this hotel and just like choosing a home remember these three words location, location,vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear very good walking shoes and write down the name of shops you may want to return to during your stay. Because in Amstedam there is a surprise around every corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xjrs
Business
Ireland
Aug 17, 2013

De Roode Leeuw

The staff are fantastic. The room was small (what does one expect in an old building), but everything you would need was there and functioning. My only gripe was the twin beds. It was my fault I would think, because I left it until the the last minute to book. Dam Square is right around the corner. You won't get a better location in Amsterdam. I'd stay there again without hesitation. If you want to see all of the sites, you'll save money by purchasing all of the the tickets in a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the canal tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charalampos
Business
Thessaloniki,Greece
Apr 25, 2014

5 days trip in Amsterdam

The hotel is situated in perfect location next to Dam and close to the Central Station! Nice and clean room not very big actually. Helpful and very kind staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Rijksmuseum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, IL
Aug 17, 2011

De Roode Leeuw

Friendly staff and an absolutely superb view of Dam Square were the highlights of this hotel. This hotel is also in a very good location with access to many of the smaller neighborhoods such as Rembrandtplein. Smaller sized rooms but that is true nearly everywhere in Europe. Overall, I was very satisfied with this hotel and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A fun thing to do is to get out of the Red Light and walk to some of the smaller neighborhoods to get a better feel of Amsterdam and what it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nola
May 21, 2009

great place to stay

Great location to be in Amsterdam. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Room itself was not new, but very clean. The bathroom appeared newly remodeled and was very clean. Will stay again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
That Old Dude
Business
OKC, OK, USA
Nov 1, 2009

Hotel Amsterdam, as advertised.

I stayed six nights and The Hotel Amsterdam was exactly what I was looking for. My room was cleaned every day, no matter how late I sleep in. Great location, within walking distance of almost everything I wanted to see. Far enough way away from the Red Light District that you feel safe walking around to the nearby shops, restaurants and bars after dark. If something was too far to walk to, then Amsterdam's system of trams will get you there. One line stops in front of hotel, and another just one block over, with Central Station just down the street. The hotel staffs were a great asset, for directions and even the cost of what the trams would be. I could not have been any happier with this hotel. By the way, I did eat in the hotel restaurant and it was also great. My stay was just great, great, great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I (am)sterdam
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 24, 2009

Amsterdamaged 2009 = SUCCESS!

Gave us tourist tips and maps of the area, as well as discount cards for attractions such as the Rijksmuseum and Anne Frank House. By and large the best staff I've experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunter's Bar is only a few blocks away and has some of the best prices around. Pitcher of Heineken for only 10 Euro and there are always football matches playing on the television. Smoker friendly, though no tobacco. Also, free wifi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, tx
Jan 22, 2011

Defines Awsome

Staff was really cool. Look out you window, to the left you see the central train station, and to the right there's. The Dam square. So easy to find after a hard night of drinking. Tip: freaks come out at night, most are just beggers but just stay alret around them and watch your back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top