$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Wolf" and Joan
Couples
Wantagh, Long Island, New York
Aug 29, 2010

Location...

Terrific location right on Damrak Street in the center of city. Saved big by taking the train directly from Schipol Airport since the hotel is only short walk from Central Train Station. So much to see.... musts are a 'Canal Cruise', Anne Frank House, the many Museums, Vondelpark, the beautiful and picturesque Jordan district and the infamous and very interesting Red Light District. If you like to "people watch", there were many 'street performers' and interesting people to keep anyone fascinated! But watch out for the bicycles and bike paths.. the locals do get mad if you walk or block them and be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as most of the streets and walkways are cobblestone. If walking is not for you, there are numerous trams to virtually every destination worth seeing. On one day, we took a full-day bus tour that stopped at a small cheese making farm that showed how Gouda cheese was made, we visited windsmills, fishing villages, a small clog making store where you witnessed them making the wooden shoes, a Delft ceramic store where they described the process of how Deftware is made, a trip to The Hague and an stop at Mauradam. If you do leave the Amsterdam area be sure to visit the 'miniature city' of Mauradam, where every one of the exhibits in the 'city' is exactly 1/25th of it's actual size. It was quite impressive! Amsterdam is really a very picturesque city. Whether it's just going to the coffee shops, sitting at an outdoor cafe or just taking in the sights of the city, the 100 canals and 1,000 bridges that encompass the this old and historic city make it must destination for any traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Georgia
Aug 17, 2010

Hotel Amsterdam

I loved the location of Hotel Amsterdam. It is right in the middle of EVERYTHING. The staff was friendly, helpful, quick, and very knowledgeable about the city. The rooms were small, however, most rooms in Europe are small. We did not stay in the hotel very much and there were only two of us. It worked well for us. We did not mind the small as we have been in smaller rooms in other European cities. Safety is a key for me and here it worked well. Lots of eating places (fast food and restaurant) within 5 minute walk. Excellent food on buffet for breakfast. It is a ten minute walk to Central Station and water transportation. Ground transportation has a trolley stop at the hotel front. Trolleys were easy to use and maps from the hotel worked well for us along with instructions from the helpful staff. I just can not say enough good things about the location, food, hospitality and safety. People in Amsterdam were more than willing to help us find were we needed to go on the trolley. I would not hesitate to book there again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your Ann Frank House tickets ahead of time and other museums because the lines are long (or were for us). The hotel sells them right there at the counter along with free discount coupons for several things in Amsterdam.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Woodbridge, VA
Aug 6, 2010

Excellent location and great view!

Wonderful location for shopping and site seeing. Hotel staff was very helpful. Small rooms but comfortable with a busy city view and a streetcar stop in front of the building. The Restaurant had great food, but the service was poor: slow and they seemed uninterested in serving us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get your attraction tickets through the reception desk as soon as possible. With the tickets you do not wait in any lines. Van Gogh Museum had a line a few blocks long. Since we had tickets we went to the front and were let in immediately. We were too late for Anne Frank House tickets and waited an hour in line to get in.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Gaithersburg, MD
Jan 28, 2010

Good Hotel, Great Location, Excellent Pr

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are recently renovated and very clean, but a bit small for 2 people. The location was fabulous. Lots of places to walk to and an easy tram ride to the museums. Many restaurants, cafes and coffeeshops within easy walking distance. Good shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ez_e
Couples
Greensboro, NC
Jan 14, 2010

it was ok.

The hotel is located in an excellent location. The staff was super friendly, but the 4-star category is questionable for this hotel. My wife and I didn' think it was very clean and that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I (am)sterdam
Friends
Philadelphia
Dec 24, 2009

Amsterdamaged 2009 = SUCCESS!

Gave us tourist tips and maps of the area, as well as discount cards for attractions such as the Rijksmuseum and Anne Frank House. By and large the best staff I've experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunter's Bar is only a few blocks away and has some of the best prices around. Pitcher of Heineken for only 10 Euro and there are always football matches playing on the television. Smoker friendly, though no tobacco. Also, free wifi.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Dec 9, 2009

Decent for price, great location.

Sewer smell from bathroom 24-7. Needs remodeling, and new furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
That Old Dude
Single
OKC, OK, USA
Nov 1, 2009

Hotel Amsterdam, as advertised.

I stayed six nights and The Hotel Amsterdam was exactly what I was looking for. My room was cleaned every day, no matter how late I sleep in. Great location, within walking distance of almost everything I wanted to see. Far enough way away from the Red Light District that you feel safe walking around to the nearby shops, restaurants and bars after dark. If something was too far to walk to, then Amsterdam's system of trams will get you there. One line stops in front of hotel, and another just one block over, with Central Station just down the street. The hotel staffs were a great asset, for directions and even the cost of what the trams would be. I could not have been any happier with this hotel. By the way, I did eat in the hotel restaurant and it was also great. My stay was just great, great, great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daviddj7
Single
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Hotem Amsterdam DE Roode Leeuw

It's a very nice place in the center of town withing easy walking distance of the train station. My single room was TINY but servicable but the staff at the front desk was very helpful in assisting me to find my way around the city. For the price I paid, I think that some kind of breakfast should be included. Also, internet is $7.50 Euros an hour in the business center and that is clearly out of line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place called "Fruiteria" just around the corner that makes great fresh squeezed fruit drinks and crepes that make a healthy way to start your day.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Serial Romantic
Single
Seattle, WA
Oct 21, 2009

A nice hotel

The rooms were very small, unless you pay for the superior room. I actualy stayed here twice in the last two weeks, each for four days or so. The location is what you are paying for. Breakfast at the hotel is unremarkable, and can be a long wait for coffee. The walls were paper-thin, though, and it wasn't really four-star quiet at night, even within the hotel. Unfortunately, the staff are very hit-and-miss. Some treated me very well, even remembering my name, while others clearly wished they were somewhere else. Room service was very good, and fast. The hotel has an old, slow elevator, if the stairs look daunting. I would stay here again in low season when the rates have dropped way down, but it was never worth more than 150 Euros for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The red light district, as well as shopping and cafes, are all within a few steps of the front door.

Back to menu Return to top