$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle M.
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

De Roode Leeuw Hotel in Amsterdam is in the very heart of Amsterdam. If you want to feel the pulse of the city this is the place to stay. A few blocks from Centraal Station you can walk and explore while you make your way to the hotel. My husband and I thought the hotel staff was very knowledgable, courteous.and friendly. We loved our vacation, museums were in walking distance and many restaurants to choose from. If you want to feel safe and invited in Amsterdam stay at this hotel and just like choosing a home remember these three words location, location,vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear very good walking shoes and write down the name of shops you may want to return to during your stay. Because in Amstedam there is a surprise around every corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jul 23, 2011

De Roode Leeue Amsterdam

(+) Very good location---10 minutes walk to Central Station. Just in the corner of Dam square. (-) I booked a non-smoking room, however, they made me spent the first night in a smoking-room---The smell inside the room was really-really bad, I couldn't sleep. I went to the front desk and asked to move me into a different room. He said that it was the only room available that night. They moved me to another room for night 2 & 3. I had breakfast on my first day. I found it expensive and not worthy (there were flies in the room!). Had I to be back in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay there again. I came to Ammsterdam to participate in a large conference. A friend of mine booked a room in a large hotel with a Polish name, which was just in front of mine. Excellent place. I had breakfast there on day 2 and 3 and enjoy their tea time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains in the Shopping Mall next to the Central Station and excellent cafes in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 3, 2011

Amazing Location, Comfortable Hotel

[...].The hotel is centrally located, right next to Amsterdam's most famous square (Dam Square). Also, just two blocks from the Red Light District, the shopping strip, and many restaurants. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. 10-minute walk to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room had two large windows that opened. Safe in the room. Clean and safe surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jun 27, 2011

worth it

Great place from which to explore Amsterdam. Right off Dam Square. Tram stops right in front of the hotel and train station (to and from the airport) is a 5 minute walk. This place is safe, clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Rooms are pretty small with nothing special in terms of amenities, although the bathrooms are quite nice. Free wi-fi. Good lodging at a fair price...I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at the Corner Hotel and Cafe is really good...baked mussels or veal...both delicious. Reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2011

Good location

Good Hotel, but the rooms are too small. Expensive additional internet access fee. Location is good - close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything, but notin the middle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
May 30, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location right at Dam square and definitely close to everything. Could walk to all the important places one should see while in Amsterdam. Room was small but enough as you are out most of the time. Bathroom was very large and modern. Staff were always friendly and when I needed help went out of their way to assist. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
May 30, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location right at Dam square and definitely close to everything. Could walk to all the important places one should see while in Amsterdam. Room was small but enough as you are out most of the time. Bathroom was very large and modern. Staff were always friendly and when I needed help went out of their way to assist. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lensgrinder
Business
USA
May 1, 2011

Small room, but perfectly fine

Quiet and yet centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, tx
Jan 22, 2011

Defines Awsome

Staff was really cool. Look out you window, to the left you see the central train station, and to the right there's. The Dam square. So easy to find after a hard night of drinking. Tip: freaks come out at night, most are just beggers but just stay alret around them and watch your back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top