$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minna
Business
Finland
Aug 7, 2011

great location

location is great, just a five minutes walk to railway station, a few steps to shopping etc. The only minus was breakfast didn´t included the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jul 23, 2011

De Roode Leeue Amsterdam

(+) Very good location---10 minutes walk to Central Station. Just in the corner of Dam square. (-) I booked a non-smoking room, however, they made me spent the first night in a smoking-room---The smell inside the room was really-really bad, I couldn't sleep. I went to the front desk and asked to move me into a different room. He said that it was the only room available that night. They moved me to another room for night 2 & 3. I had breakfast on my first day. I found it expensive and not worthy (there were flies in the room!). Had I to be back in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay there again. I came to Ammsterdam to participate in a large conference. A friend of mine booked a room in a large hotel with a Polish name, which was just in front of mine. Excellent place. I had breakfast there on day 2 and 3 and enjoy their tea time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains in the Shopping Mall next to the Central Station and excellent cafes in the area.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 3, 2011

Amazing Location, Comfortable Hotel

[...].The hotel is centrally located, right next to Amsterdam's most famous square (Dam Square). Also, just two blocks from the Red Light District, the shopping strip, and many restaurants. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. 10-minute walk to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room had two large windows that opened. Safe in the room. Clean and safe surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jun 27, 2011

worth it

Great place from which to explore Amsterdam. Right off Dam Square. Tram stops right in front of the hotel and train station (to and from the airport) is a 5 minute walk. This place is safe, clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Rooms are pretty small with nothing special in terms of amenities, although the bathrooms are quite nice. Free wi-fi. Good lodging at a fair price...I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at the Corner Hotel and Cafe is really good...baked mussels or veal...both delicious. Reasonably priced.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2011

Good location

Good Hotel, but the rooms are too small. Expensive additional internet access fee. Location is good - close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything, but notin the middle

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
May 30, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location right at Dam square and definitely close to everything. Could walk to all the important places one should see while in Amsterdam. Room was small but enough as you are out most of the time. Bathroom was very large and modern. Staff were always friendly and when I needed help went out of their way to assist. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
May 30, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location right at Dam square and definitely close to everything. Could walk to all the important places one should see while in Amsterdam. Room was small but enough as you are out most of the time. Bathroom was very large and modern. Staff were always friendly and when I needed help went out of their way to assist. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lensgrinder
Business
USA
May 1, 2011

Small room, but perfectly fine

Quiet and yet centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top