$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2011

Good location

Good Hotel, but the rooms are too small. Expensive additional internet access fee. Location is good - close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything, but notin the middle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
May 30, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location right at Dam square and definitely close to everything. Could walk to all the important places one should see while in Amsterdam. Room was small but enough as you are out most of the time. Bathroom was very large and modern. Staff were always friendly and when I needed help went out of their way to assist. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lensgrinder
Business
USA
May 1, 2011

Small room, but perfectly fine

Quiet and yet centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ifee
Business
Ireland
Mar 21, 2011

Very Good location and staff

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning at 9.30am and the staff were very friendly and said there was a room straight away and we could check in straight away..Which was great that we didnt have to wait around to check in at 3pm. Also the staff behind reception were great in booking the Ann Frank house for us.. Very good location and all round good hotel.. Would def stay here again...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, tx
Jan 22, 2011

Defines Awsome

Staff was really cool. Look out you window, to the left you see the central train station, and to the right there's. The Dam square. So easy to find after a hard night of drinking. Tip: freaks come out at night, most are just beggers but just stay alret around them and watch your back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Bakrania
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Great Location

Fantastic Location, right next Dam Square. You have shops/services avaliable to you as soon as you walk out of the Hotel. Hotel Staff were very helpful & Professional. Excellent Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Wolf" and Joan
Business
Wantagh, Long Island, New York
Aug 29, 2010

Location...

Terrific location right on Damrak Street in the center of city. Saved big by taking the train directly from Schipol Airport since the hotel is only short walk from Central Train Station. So much to see.... musts are a 'Canal Cruise', Anne Frank House, the many Museums, Vondelpark, the beautiful and picturesque Jordan district and the infamous and very interesting Red Light District. If you like to "people watch", there were many 'street performers' and interesting people to keep anyone fascinated! But watch out for the bicycles and bike paths.. the locals do get mad if you walk or block them and be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as most of the streets and walkways are cobblestone. If walking is not for you, there are numerous trams to virtually every destination worth seeing. On one day, we took a full-day bus tour that stopped at a small cheese making farm that showed how Gouda cheese was made, we visited windsmills, fishing villages, a small clog making store where you witnessed them making the wooden shoes, a Delft ceramic store where they described the process of how Deftware is made, a trip to The Hague and an stop at Mauradam. If you do leave the Amsterdam area be sure to visit the 'miniature city' of Mauradam, where every one of the exhibits in the 'city' is exactly 1/25th of it's actual size. It was quite impressive! Amsterdam is really a very picturesque city. Whether it's just going to the coffee shops, sitting at an outdoor cafe or just taking in the sights of the city, the 100 canals and 1,000 bridges that encompass the this old and historic city make it must destination for any traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Aug 17, 2010

Hotel Amsterdam

I loved the location of Hotel Amsterdam. It is right in the middle of EVERYTHING. The staff was friendly, helpful, quick, and very knowledgeable about the city. The rooms were small, however, most rooms in Europe are small. We did not stay in the hotel very much and there were only two of us. It worked well for us. We did not mind the small as we have been in smaller rooms in other European cities. Safety is a key for me and here it worked well. Lots of eating places (fast food and restaurant) within 5 minute walk. Excellent food on buffet for breakfast. It is a ten minute walk to Central Station and water transportation. Ground transportation has a trolley stop at the hotel front. Trolleys were easy to use and maps from the hotel worked well for us along with instructions from the helpful staff. I just can not say enough good things about the location, food, hospitality and safety. People in Amsterdam were more than willing to help us find were we needed to go on the trolley. I would not hesitate to book there again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your Ann Frank House tickets ahead of time and other museums because the lines are long (or were for us). The hotel sells them right there at the counter along with free discount coupons for several things in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Aug 6, 2010

Excellent location and great view!

Wonderful location for shopping and site seeing. Hotel staff was very helpful. Small rooms but comfortable with a busy city view and a streetcar stop in front of the building. The Restaurant had great food, but the service was poor: slow and they seemed uninterested in serving us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get your attraction tickets through the reception desk as soon as possible. With the tickets you do not wait in any lines. Van Gogh Museum had a line a few blocks long. Since we had tickets we went to the front and were let in immediately. We were too late for Anne Frank House tickets and waited an hour in line to get in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top