$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle M.
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

De Roode Leeuw Hotel in Amsterdam is in the very heart of Amsterdam. If you want to feel the pulse of the city this is the place to stay. A few blocks from Centraal Station you can walk and explore while you make your way to the hotel. My husband and I thought the hotel staff was very knowledgable, courteous.and friendly. We loved our vacation, museums were in walking distance and many restaurants to choose from. If you want to feel safe and invited in Amsterdam stay at this hotel and just like choosing a home remember these three words location, location,vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear very good walking shoes and write down the name of shops you may want to return to during your stay. Because in Amstedam there is a surprise around every corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerGeek power traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

Perfect location, not the best rooms

Great location, right by Dam Square in the middle of town! And it wasn't too loud at night. Easy walk from Centraal station as well. The AC was extremely comforting on a warm day! The room was on the small side, and the shower doesn't really have a door, so after you wash up, there's water all over the bath room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In the late afternoon / early eve, there's a distillery tasting room right on the side of the Grand Krasnapolsky (right off Dam Square) called Wynand Focknick, enter the sliding doors on the side of the hotel and walk straight back, you'll see it. Definitely worth stopping in for a drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Business
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerrorfmoiland
Business
Devon, UK
Dec 14, 2011

Boys weekend/ Exhibition

Probably what you would expect, although I don't think it quite rates 4 stars., Perhaps a top 3 star. Thats comparing it to UK hotels of similar gradings. Staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Room cleanliness excellent,but fairly standard furnishing wise. In fairness to the hotel they are carrying out rennovations to rooms so this might change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam isn't cheap. Its worth having a good look around. Cafes do excellent breakfasts for less than half the price of the Hotel. Hard Rock Cafe highly recommended. Hans Brinker Hostel interesting,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jettie
Business
scotland
Dec 8, 2011

great location

Hotel location is central for getting around. Generally warm and clean room with a great bathroom. Down side is the 'hotel rules', we were told off when we walked into the hotel eating an ice cream! The male receptionist was quite brusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harrysson
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Centrally Located

The De Roode Leeuw was a good hotel for a first time visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is near Dam Square, centrally located, walking distance to all including the Central Station, and easy find at the end of the day. The staff could not be nicer, were well informed and all spoke English. Drawbacks - This is the main tourist area and was very noisy until 11:00 PM due to a festival. Lighting in the room was very poor. For a romantic vacation, stick to the canals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the Rijks and the Van Gogh. Clothes shopping is great. Amsterdam is the most beautiful city (and we've been to Paris and Prague.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMCK
Business
UK
Sep 5, 2011

Excellent Central Location

A wonderful location, very friendly staff and at a good price. Also a fantastic resturant well worth trying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, IL
Aug 17, 2011

De Roode Leeuw

Friendly staff and an absolutely superb view of Dam Square were the highlights of this hotel. This hotel is also in a very good location with access to many of the smaller neighborhoods such as Rembrandtplein. Smaller sized rooms but that is true nearly everywhere in Europe. Overall, I was very satisfied with this hotel and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A fun thing to do is to get out of the Red Light and walk to some of the smaller neighborhoods to get a better feel of Amsterdam and what it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minna
Business
Finland
Aug 7, 2011

great location

location is great, just a five minutes walk to railway station, a few steps to shopping etc. The only minus was breakfast didn´t included the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jul 23, 2011

De Roode Leeue Amsterdam

(+) Very good location---10 minutes walk to Central Station. Just in the corner of Dam square. (-) I booked a non-smoking room, however, they made me spent the first night in a smoking-room---The smell inside the room was really-really bad, I couldn't sleep. I went to the front desk and asked to move me into a different room. He said that it was the only room available that night. They moved me to another room for night 2 & 3. I had breakfast on my first day. I found it expensive and not worthy (there were flies in the room!). Had I to be back in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay there again. I came to Ammsterdam to participate in a large conference. A friend of mine booked a room in a large hotel with a Polish name, which was just in front of mine. Excellent place. I had breakfast there on day 2 and 3 and enjoy their tea time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains in the Shopping Mall next to the Central Station and excellent cafes in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 3, 2011

Amazing Location, Comfortable Hotel

[...].The hotel is centrally located, right next to Amsterdam's most famous square (Dam Square). Also, just two blocks from the Red Light District, the shopping strip, and many restaurants. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. 10-minute walk to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room had two large windows that opened. Safe in the room. Clean and safe surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top