$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMGB
Business
Surrey UK
Aug 30, 2013

Basic but very comfortable

Small rooms but very comfortable and clean. Good central location a short walk from Central Station and within easy walk of places of interest. No traffic noise. Good restaurant. Excelled breakfast. Friendly, helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xjrs
Business
Ireland
Aug 17, 2013

De Roode Leeuw

The staff are fantastic. The room was small (what does one expect in an old building), but everything you would need was there and functioning. My only gripe was the twin beds. It was my fault I would think, because I left it until the the last minute to book. Dam Square is right around the corner. You won't get a better location in Amsterdam. I'd stay there again without hesitation. If you want to see all of the sites, you'll save money by purchasing all of the the tickets in a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the canal tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
POA arthur
Business
BOSTON
Aug 16, 2013

Nothing but a room.

Staff was extremely unhelpful. No internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pandit
Business
Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Aug 11, 2013

Bathroom very bad

The bathroom in the room is very small and very inconvenient. The commode is so close to the wall that one cannot sit on the toilet. You have to sit at an angle. The shower stall is very small. Even worse, there is no door or curtain on the shower stall. So you cannot take shower without getting the whole bathroom floor wet. If bathroom problems are fixed, hotel can get up to 3 stars or may be even 4. At present, it deserves no higher than a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sddogg
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 7, 2013

Perfect hotel if you don't plan on being in your room much

This was a very different hotel from my last stay in Amsterdam, when I was a few miles out in the museum district. Instead, you are right in the thick of things, next to the red light district, Madame Toussands, the Palais, which is great if you immediately want to walk or jump on the tram anywhere, but not so great if you are going to be in your room at all. It is extremely busy, and the rooms were tiny. It seemed overpriced to me, but maybe that's due to the location. The staff were extremely nice to us, but there wasn't much in terms of amenities, just a very tiny room which was 90% bed, a 'view' of a 3 ft. alley and then another brick wall, and loud pulsating music throughout the day and evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close walking to just about anywhere, only 20 minute walk to the train station (5 minute if there were less pedestrian traffic).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mezz
Business
Crawley, West Sussex
May 22, 2013

Lovely facilities but breakfast would have been good

The facilitis within the room were wonderful (they even had an alarm which doubled as an ipod/iphone charger). The beds were comfortable although the matress was prone to moving and sliding off the bed during the night. The bathroom facilities were good and the shower was lovely, warm and powerful. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The location was very central with all amentities close by. We could have done with some more tea,coffee and creamer in the room and for the price, I would have expected breakfast to have been included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rightkmd
Business
Arlington, VA, USA
May 14, 2013

Perfect location

This is one of my favorite places to stay when I am in Amsterdam because it is perfectly located on the Dam, within very easy walking distance from the Central Station, and quite convenient to everything. Attentive staff; free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is consistently good and should be visited at least once during a trip to the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhyug
Business
Colorado
May 10, 2013

Nice getaway

Hotel was centrally located and had a quick friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southdown
Business
Surrey
Apr 15, 2013

Smallest bathroom ever!

Great location, friendly staff and clean enough but our room had what can only be described as a broom cupboard for a bathroom. You may have to upgrade to get a decent size room and bathroom. Also it is quite noisy if you have a room overlooking the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoonah
Business
New York
Mar 26, 2013

Great stay in a wonderful city

Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone, particularly a first-time visitor to Amsterdam. I was able to check-in earlier than usual, after arriving on a red-eye flight. The hotel location was central to everything. The room was a bit cozy, but relatively large for European standards. Hotel staff was more than accommodating. Only marginal problem was the one and only elevator at the site - a bit slow and usually busy, and I found myself using the stairs now and then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top