$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
83 reviews
5 days trip in Amsterdam

The hotel is situated in perfect location next to Dam and close to the Central Station! Nice and... See full review

  • Charalampos
  • Apr 25, 2014
De Roode Leeuw

The staff are fantastic. The room was small (what does one expect in an old building), but... See full review

  • xjrs
  • Aug 17, 2013
Historic elegance, classic comforts in the heart of old-world Amsterdam
Built in 1911, the De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam Hotel offers contemporary style, plush comforts and high-tech amenities in a historic, exquisitely preserved setting, only steps from the majestic Dam Square. Guests enjoy fine international cuisine at the elegant in-house restaurant, dining either amidst the immaculate wood-paneled interior or the scenic outdoor terrace. An in-lobby flight departure monitor, limited free Wi-Fi, a multi-lingual staff and concierge services round out a host of amenities that make each stay pleasurable.
Highlights
  • A block from premium sights, dining and shopping on Dam Square
  • The landmark De Roode Leeuw Restaurant serves regional, vegetarian and French specialties
  • Cozy, historic guest rooms
Rooms

The De Roode Leeuw's 79 sleek, comfortable rooms range from budget single rooms for the cost-conscious solo traveler, standard-size comfort rooms (smoking and non-smoking available) and the more spacious superior rooms and junior suites. All rooms are furnished with LCD TVs, CD players and offer limited free Wi-Fi service (higher-bandwidths are available for a fee).


While each budget single room comes with a twin bed, all other De Roode Leeuw Hotel room varieties come with either king beds or two twin beds. Superior rooms offer extra sitting areas to relax and the oversized junior suites afford spacious living and bathrooms.

Features

The De Roode Leeuw Restaurant is a time-honored fixture of classic Dutch cuisine along with excellent vegetarian and French dishes. Guests can enjoy their meals either amidst the restaurant's rich wood interiors and displays of Dutch antiques or on the outdoor terrace overlooking Amsterdam's scenic commercial district.


Guests can keep track of their itineraries courtesy of the lobby's flight departure monitor and stay connected via Wi-Fi access (fees apply) available throughout the hotel. The De Roode Leeuw Hotel is also Green Key Certified due to its dedication to sustainable practices.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport shuttle bus (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5/23.5 km)
Attractions
    • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 block)
    • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/2 km)
    • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (1 mi/2 km)
    • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/5 km)
    • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
    Business
    • 24-hour business center
    • 2 state-of-the-art boardrooms
    Polices & Fees
    • A 5% city tax is added to each stay at checkout

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

    Budget Single Room
    This non smoking room type offers one single bed, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone. No children permitted.
    Standard Room Double/Twin
    This non smoking room type offers a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
    Superior Room Double/Twin
    These non smoking rooms are more spacious and offer a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

    Amenities

    • Free internet
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Internet
    Free internet
    Accessibility
    Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
    Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    52.3737 4.8937
    Area served
    Amsterdam.
    Nearby airports
    Schiphol (AMS) 11.5 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 55.6 km.
    Area description
    Located in the heart of Amsterdam, this hotel is uniquely positioned in the middle of the financial, business, shopping and entertainment districts.

    Nearby points of interest

    • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
    • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • National Monument: 0.1 mi
    • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • New Church: 0.1 mi
    • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
    • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
    • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
    • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
    • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
    • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
    • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
    • Old Church: 0.2 mi
    • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
    • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
    • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • National Monument: 0.1 mi
    • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • New Church: 0.1 mi
    • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
    • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
    • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
    • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
    • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
    • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
    • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
    • Old Church: 0.2 mi
    • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Single: 0.2 mi
    • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
    • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
    • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
    • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
    • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
    • East India House: 0.3 mi
    • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
    • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Waag: 0.3 mi
    • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
    • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
    • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
    • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
    • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
    • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
    • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
    • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
    • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
    • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
    • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
    • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
    • The Whale: 0.4 mi
    • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
    • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
    • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
    • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.4 mi
    • Book Market: 0.4 mi

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that you can focus on the bigger picture. Our 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon.

    Dining

    Restaurant
    The restaurant, De Roode Leeuw serves regional Dutch specialties as well as international dishes. Once one -have become acquainted with the delightful creations of The Netherlands however, will most certainly be convinced. Superb wines and magnificent old-fashioned local liquors (recipes which are over 300 years old) are available. Guests can watch the world go by on the terrace of the brassiere, De Roode Leeuw, overlooking the colourful Dam Square. One can choose from a large range of drinks, typical Dutch snacks, lunch dishes, coffee varieties, pastries and ice creams. Brassiere De Roode Leeuw is one of the oldest (dating back to 1930) heated and air-conditioned terraces in Amsterdam, making it a perfect place to use as a meeting point or a haven in busy Amsterdam. Buffet breakfast is not included and costs EUR 15.00 per person.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1100

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (83)

    Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    83 out of 83
    Amenities:
    3.4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    3.8

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Bhyug
    Colorado
    May 10, 2013

    Nice getaway

    Hotel was centrally located and had a quick friendly staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Southdown
    Surrey
    Apr 15, 2013

    Smallest bathroom ever!

    Great location, friendly staff and clean enough but our room had what can only be described as a broom cupboard for a bathroom. You may have to upgrade to get a decent size room and bathroom. Also it is quite noisy if you have a room overlooking the front of the hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Hoonah
    New York
    Mar 26, 2013

    Great stay in a wonderful city

    Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone, particularly a first-time visitor to Amsterdam. I was able to check-in earlier than usual, after arriving on a red-eye flight. The hotel location was central to everything. The room was a bit cozy, but relatively large for European standards. Hotel staff was more than accommodating. Only marginal problem was the one and only elevator at the site - a bit slow and usually busy, and I found myself using the stairs now and then.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cain1978
    Austin, Tx
    Mar 13, 2013

    Great location!

    Rooms are clean and very modern. The bathtub is big which is unique for Europe. Even with the location your room is quiet. They are doing construction on the stairs but I'm not staying there for the stairs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Wine and Bubbles Wine Bar

    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    In need of a 4 star
    New york
    Jan 31, 2013

    Not a four star hotel

    When we arrived there, it was freezing cold, and becuase we had stopped on the way tothe hotel and grabbed some food, we were told we could not bring it in the "hotel". So we stood outside finishing our food before we checked in. The hotel staff was not very helpful in finding out anything in the city, and was not even aware of where the nearest laundry was. I guess they expected me to spend $200.00 on their service. I found a local cleaner and had all my laundry done for $10.00. There was also construction in the hotel, which was not mentioned to us at all when we checked in, we found out the next morning when we heard the banging from above, and noticed all the workers in the lobby using the only elevator in the building, extremely unprofessional, and all this from a 4 star hotel! Never gain! Otherwise the location was good, a bit touristy but in walking distance to everything, but then again, Amsterdam is small and everything is close to everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Dont get your laundry done there, about 3 blocks away you can find a laundry that will wash, dry and fold for a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mexican Joe
    Bolton, England
    Sep 6, 2012

    Good Hotel, Great Location!

    We have stayed at this hotel twice now and have very much enjoyed our stays there. The location itself is ideal for the convenience of the train station, Dam Square, and within walking distance of any of the sights a visitor might wish to see/visit. Our room was somewhat small on both occasions , but comfortable enough, if like us, it is used as a base. Tea and coffee provisions are minimal, and whilst the bathroom was very clean and modern, this too was quite small. The overall standard of cleanliness was very good and we would have given this hotel five stars for that, had we not found a piece of rubbish under the bed from a previous occupants stay. The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, and we would not hessitate to recommend this hotel to others. I was however disappointed to read a response by the hotel manager to a review by someone else on a different website, where the manager stated that as from January 2013, the hotel would no longer be offering smoking rooms, although obviously for the non-smoker this will no doubt be a bonus.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    taistk
    philadelphia, pennsylvania
    Aug 17, 2012

    Fantastic getaway for two

    English speaking staff. Good food at good prices. Near perfect location, close to everything, night life, shops, train station. Great experience. Would stay there again. Safe, clean, responsive to my needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Visit Dam Square after dark. Meet a lot of friendly people looks to do the same types of things. Safe place to socialize.

    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    BobbyG
    UK
    Jul 10, 2012

    No wifi, 1 person room but two beds

    No wifi but it was promised. 1 person sized room but two beds. The courtesy of the hotel staff improved but we found them 'stand-off-ish' and hostile at check-in. I didn't want to say anything to my friend about it in-case he thought I was nuts, but he actually commented on the hostile welcome after we reached our room. All in all amazing location, room comfort low, staff could have been better, value - pretty OK, but really annoying that they had no working wifi connection as I brought laptop and ipad with plans to keep incommunicado with the world, only to find out that that wasn't possible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    sonnylax
    Atlanta, GA
    Jul 10, 2012

    Great location

    The location of this hotel couldn't be better. (Just steps from Dam Square, two long blocks from Central Station). Nice hotel with Western Amenities. Just wish more hotels in Europe would use a shower curtain..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Across the street is one of the main Shopping Department Stores. They have extended hours on Thursdays (till 9pm).

    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Zilma
    Ponce, Puerto Rico
    Jun 26, 2012

    Clean and Comfortable, Great Location

    Small, simple hotel. Walking distance from the train station, hence no need to take a taxi to/from the airport. Although Damrak is an ugly tourist trap, the location couldn't be more convenient. Everything in the city is a short to medium walk away. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean. It seems to have been recently remodeled. The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and very diligent. We did not try the restaurant downstairs since breakfast ends at 10AM and the waiter was in a bad mood. The WIFI was slow (256kbps), but free. The room had a view to a commercial street, so there was a little bit of noise during the day (the brand new windows sealed off most of the noise). At night it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Although I agree with the other reviewers in that it is more of a high 3-star than a 4-star experience, I thought it was a great value. I would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Try Cafe Luxembourg, in The Spui. Lovely breakfast.

    Back to menu Return to top