$196 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
NIEUWE ZIJDS VOORBURGWAL 5, AMSTERDAM, 1012 RC
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Vacation

Wonderful! The location is just right and the breakfast is something I looked forward to daily! See full review

  • Mtalii
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel choice

This was a great choice. I got a good price online, and the hotel was great. Located only a few... See full review

  • Prof Joe
  • Dec 23, 2013
High-tech style and on-site dining in central Amsterdam

Business and leisure travelers delight in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel for its modern conveniences, excellent dining and on-site recreation options. Guest rooms are equipped with high-tech media amenities while the Crowne Plaza City Centre's fitness center and sauna offer ideal opportunities for relaxation. A full range of business services along with complimentary Wi-Fi, concierge and childcare options streamline business and leisure stays, while the hotel's vibrant locale puts Amsterdam's premier destinations within easy reach.

Highlights
  • Ideally located near central Amsterdam attractions and train station
  • In-house New Dorrius Restaurant offers all-day dining
  • Rooms are equipped with media hubs and flat-screen satellite TVs
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre's 270 modern guest rooms, including 2 suites, offer guests cosmopolitan style and comforts. Standard and superior guest rooms come with twin or double beds. Clubrooms offer double or king beds, while the hotel's business and honeymoon suites are each furnished with king beds. The business suite offers exquisite Amsterdam views from private balconies, while the townhouse-style honeymoon suite comes with a relaxing Jacuzzi. The clubrooms and suites also provide exclusive access to the club level lounge, which provides complimentary breakfast and all-day refreshments.

 

All rooms come with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand programming, media hubs and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Bathrooms provide signature Rituals bath essentials.

Features

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station, several public transit stops and many of the city's premium attractions, is the complete package of style, convenience and comfort. Guests enjoy all-day dining at the bright, elegant New Dorrius Restaurant whose menu includes international and regional favorites. The hotel's on-site fitness center and sauna are the perfect retreat for guests wishing to recharge or simply unwind. Childcare and concierge services add valuable conveniences for both leisure and business travelers.

Transportation

  • Tram and bus stops (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/3.5 km)
Business

  • Business center
  • 5 fully-equipped meeting rooms and 2 boardrooms

Hotel Map

52.3773 4.8955
Nearby airports
Schiphol International Airport, (AMS), 17.50, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.5 mi

Dining

New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar
Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Enjoy a healthy breakfast, a light lunch or a relaxing evening dinner with a good glass of wine.
New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar
Meet for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar or a cocktail in the evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LynnieCatCH
Switzerland
Mar 19, 2014

Nice Hotel Great Location

This hotel has an awesome location but yet was very quiet and a great place to come back to in the evening. Bed was comfortable but made you roll towards the middle. Bathroom was not THAT clean but was fine. Rooms are super small but thats normal for Europe. Breakfast was OK but overpriced (25 euro). If you do go, make sure to order a fresh omelette. Cappuccino was good too. In hindsight, the hotel was great and very modern - however we realized that you can also stay in a 3 star hotel right in the city center for less money, and enjoy the whole day sightseeing and touring and it really doesn't matter where you sleep as long as you have a clean, decent room. We were never in our hotel room so we could have stayed somewhere less expensive. Just our opinion! But the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

G-Star Outlet - Jeans for 40 Euro, awesome

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and jill
Ma
May 28, 2013

Couple retreat

The hotel was very nice. I am a platinum priority club member and appreciated the room upgrade. I was a little surprised that they did not allow admission to the priority club lounge figuring that is always included for platinum members. I was informed with the room upgrade that is all you get. Overall it was a very nice stay and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pungo NMA 66
Hove
Apr 3, 2013

We love this hotel

Great staff, very friendly and smiley and they cannot do enough to help. We booked a junior suite and wanted to change room. We were shown 2 other rooms before making our decision. They seem most concerned that you are happy. Club lounge- one of the benefits of the room was great. We thoroughly enjoyed a glass of wine and seeing what delicious nibbles would be delivered. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of meats, cheese, fruit and cooked items. We were given a pack of Easter eggs when we checked out on Easter Sunday. Nice touch. Whole place is spotless and in a fantastic location. We shall definitely be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

P King bar on Vijzelstraat, opposite Banks Mansion is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. Reasonably priced drinks and Chinese food if you want. Good music and a mixed crowd of young trendies- mostly Dutch, oldies (like us) and tourists

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexander Kurganov
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam

Very nice and clean hotel. The price is reasonable. The room size is quite good. The location is perfect. It is not a 5-star hotel, but a very good and stylish 4-star one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigMatt
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Great location, clean, safe hotel

Great location, clean, safe hotel. Very pleased. Would stay here again. Close walk to train station and everything in AMS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in quiet location, but close to walk to dinning and red light dist

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The getaways
Michigan, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Just one night

After 12 days jumping around Europe this was our last night before departure to the US. The hotel was in a perfect location and our room was the largest one we enjoyed. Great stay and fair price for the comfort.k

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel in Amsterdam!!!

The hotel was in a great location. We took the train from Paris. The hotel is within walking distance from the Central Train station (even with luggage). We visited the Van Gogh, Rembrandt and Anne Frank Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel in Amsterdam!!!

The hotel was in a great location. We took the train from Paris. The hotel is within walking distance from the Central Train station (even with luggage). We visited the Van Gogh, Rembrandt and Anne Frank Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tulips from amsterdam
Lancashire
Oct 5, 2010

Enjoyable stay

sadly there were no king size bedrooms available which would have been the icing on the cake with regards to the room. Short walk from central station, lots of bars restaurants landmarks from the hotel. So easy to get around with lots of good museums. Trams superb always on time and very frequent. WOnderful city. Lovely genuine people. Lots to do. Will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go to travel info at Schipol Airport and purchase a ticket to take the train to Central Station and back together with tram ticket for required number of hours...huge savings. If you are going to visit one or more museums then purchase the Iamsterdam ticket...this not only saves money but saves you getting in line at museums.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Amsterdammer
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2009

First trip to Amsterdam

This was our first time in Amsterdam and the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were small but nice. They are in the middle of rennovation so our elevator to our room was out of service and we had to use a longer more inconvenient route. The pool and fitness center were closed during our stay as well. When the hotel is finished being rennovated, I feel it will be much better. Overall our stay was great. The one complaint I had was that I used a pre-paid card from home and thought since it was an 800 number that I would not be charged. Upon our checking out I was given a $200 phone bill. I was extremely unhappy that I wasn't made aware that phone cards purchased in the US weren't the same as ones purchased in Holland. Other than that, our stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can walk anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. It isn't necessary to buy tickets for the trams. Just use a map and you can be your own tour guide. It is also convenient to split meals. We found it better to split meals and eat more snacks then to sit down and have a full meal at each meal time.

Back to menu Return to top