$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
NIEUWE ZIJDS VOORBURGWAL 5, AMSTERDAM, 1012 RC
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Vacation

Wonderful! The location is just right and the breakfast is something I looked forward to daily! See full review

  • Mtalii
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel choice

This was a great choice. I got a good price online, and the hotel was great. Located only a few... See full review

  • Prof Joe
  • Dec 23, 2013
High-tech style and on-site dining in central Amsterdam

Business and leisure travelers delight in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel for its modern conveniences, excellent dining and on-site recreation options. Guest rooms are equipped with high-tech media amenities while the Crowne Plaza City Centre's fitness center and sauna offer ideal opportunities for relaxation. A full range of business services along with complimentary Wi-Fi, concierge and childcare options streamline business and leisure stays, while the hotel's vibrant locale puts Amsterdam's premier destinations within easy reach.

Highlights
  • Ideally located near central Amsterdam attractions and train station
  • In-house New Dorrius Restaurant offers all-day dining
  • Rooms are equipped with media hubs and flat-screen satellite TVs
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre's 270 modern guest rooms, including 2 suites, offer guests cosmopolitan style and comforts. Standard and superior guest rooms come with twin or double beds. Clubrooms offer double or king beds, while the hotel's business and honeymoon suites are each furnished with king beds. The business suite offers exquisite Amsterdam views from private balconies, while the townhouse-style honeymoon suite comes with a relaxing Jacuzzi. The clubrooms and suites also provide exclusive access to the club level lounge, which provides complimentary breakfast and all-day refreshments.

 

All rooms come with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand programming, media hubs and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Bathrooms provide signature Rituals bath essentials.

Features

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station, several public transit stops and many of the city's premium attractions, is the complete package of style, convenience and comfort. Guests enjoy all-day dining at the bright, elegant New Dorrius Restaurant whose menu includes international and regional favorites. The hotel's on-site fitness center and sauna are the perfect retreat for guests wishing to recharge or simply unwind. Childcare and concierge services add valuable conveniences for both leisure and business travelers.

Transportation

  • Tram and bus stops (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/3.5 km)
Business

  • Business center
  • 5 fully-equipped meeting rooms and 2 boardrooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3773 4.8955
Nearby airports
Schiphol International Airport, (AMS), 17.50, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.5 mi

Dining

New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar
Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Enjoy a healthy breakfast, a light lunch or a relaxing evening dinner with a good glass of wine.
New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar
Meet for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar or a cocktail in the evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LynnieCatCH
Switzerland
Mar 19, 2014

Nice Hotel Great Location

This hotel has an awesome location but yet was very quiet and a great place to come back to in the evening. Bed was comfortable but made you roll towards the middle. Bathroom was not THAT clean but was fine. Rooms are super small but thats normal for Europe. Breakfast was OK but overpriced (25 euro). If you do go, make sure to order a fresh omelette. Cappuccino was good too. In hindsight, the hotel was great and very modern - however we realized that you can also stay in a 3 star hotel right in the city center for less money, and enjoy the whole day sightseeing and touring and it really doesn't matter where you sleep as long as you have a clean, decent room. We were never in our hotel room so we could have stayed somewhere less expensive. Just our opinion! But the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

G-Star Outlet - Jeans for 40 Euro, awesome

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Amsterdammer
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2009

First trip to Amsterdam

This was our first time in Amsterdam and the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were small but nice. They are in the middle of rennovation so our elevator to our room was out of service and we had to use a longer more inconvenient route. The pool and fitness center were closed during our stay as well. When the hotel is finished being rennovated, I feel it will be much better. Overall our stay was great. The one complaint I had was that I used a pre-paid card from home and thought since it was an 800 number that I would not be charged. Upon our checking out I was given a $200 phone bill. I was extremely unhappy that I wasn't made aware that phone cards purchased in the US weren't the same as ones purchased in Holland. Other than that, our stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can walk anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. It isn't necessary to buy tickets for the trams. Just use a map and you can be your own tour guide. It is also convenient to split meals. We found it better to split meals and eat more snacks then to sit down and have a full meal at each meal time.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pony boy
Morgantown
Dec 4, 2009

Centrally located

Renovated rooms were nice. A little hard to breathe, kinda dusty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelpro 1008
Orlando, Fl
Aug 6, 2012

Amsterdam getaway

As with all Crowne plaza hotels, the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were exceptional at meeting all my needs as a traveller. The location was perfect. It was a 3 minute walk from Central station with dozens of great restaurants within a very close distance. The GVB is right out the front door, which opens many great options in touring the city. Yellow bike tours is 3 or 4 minutes up the street too. The location is hard to beat. The only two cons in my eyes would be the size of the bathroom and the air conditioning. The bathroom is very small. All the amenities of the bathroom are fantastic, but two adults cannot get ready at the same time. The air was at max the entire time I was there and it was never quite cool enough for me. Also, on a few sites, it shows that there is a pool. That is not correct. It was turned into a conference room. I would have chosen a different hotel had I known this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
have the Hat
Business
Greenville, SC
Feb 23, 2014

staff was very friendly

great location very friendly staffespecially liked 110 outlets in hotel room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Jan 3, 2009

Convenient Place for your first Visit

The Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam is a very convenient place to stay for your first visit to Amsterdam. Located at the heart of the central district, this hotel is within walking distance on a number of resturants, coffee houses. While the hotel is beginning to age some, I was told that they are planning a facelift to begin sometimes in 2009. The staff is very friendly and rooms are kept VERY clean! Common areas are kept neat and fresh and there is always helpful staff to recommend places to eat or how to get around the city. If you go in winter, drink plenty of water as the hotel is heating system and weather can dry you out quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeIII
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 13, 2013

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Great location within walking distance of Central Train Station. Center city location allowing easy distance to the neighborhoods. Good staff, good amenities and quality room. Bathroom small which is typical of European bathrooms. Everything was clean. AC, safe and TV all real good. Bar & restaurant looked good but did not try either. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff can provide you with a map and suggestions where to go based on your interests.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, pleasant place

close to the downtown,shopping centers, museums, coffee shops, restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexander Kurganov
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam

Very nice and clean hotel. The price is reasonable. The room size is quite good. The location is perfect. It is not a 5-star hotel, but a very good and stylish 4-star one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Jan 3, 2009

Convenient Place for your first Visit

The Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam is a very convenient place to stay for your first visit to Amsterdam. Located at the heart of the central district, this hotel is within walking distance on a number of resturants, coffee houses. While the hotel is beginning to age some, I was told that they are planning a facelift to begin sometimes in 2009. The staff is very friendly and rooms are kept VERY clean! Common areas are kept neat and fresh and there is always helpful staff to recommend places to eat or how to get around the city. If you go in winter, drink plenty of water as the hotel is heating system and weather can dry you out quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top