$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwe Zijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam, 1012 RC

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel Vel
Business
Switzerland
Dec 25, 2012

Perfect

Everything perfect. Quiet. Clean. Location perfect. Will book it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel in Amsterdam!!!

The hotel was in a great location. We took the train from Paris. The hotel is within walking distance from the Central Train station (even with luggage). We visited the Van Gogh, Rembrandt and Anne Frank Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 27, 2011

Great room and great people

The hotel is clean. The room was well designed and had an iron and ironing board. The staff was polite and accommodating. We arrived before check-in time, they held our bags for us and we were able to check in before the posted check in time. Hotel is close to the train station and many of the sites in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona newest fan
Business
Fort Smith, AR
Nov 2, 2010

great location and great hotel

the staff was very helpful and the room was great with a soaker tub in the bathroom. Couldn't have been more pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tulips from amsterdam
Business
Lancashire
Oct 5, 2010

Enjoyable stay

sadly there were no king size bedrooms available which would have been the icing on the cake with regards to the room. Short walk from central station, lots of bars restaurants landmarks from the hotel. So easy to get around with lots of good museums. Trams superb always on time and very frequent. WOnderful city. Lovely genuine people. Lots to do. Will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go to travel info at Schipol Airport and purchase a ticket to take the train to Central Station and back together with tram ticket for required number of hours...huge savings. If you are going to visit one or more museums then purchase the Iamsterdam ticket...this not only saves money but saves you getting in line at museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2010

Fantastic experience -- highly recommend

[...], the manager of this hotel, couldn't have been more helpful and forthcoming with suggestions. He recommended an authentic and popular Dutch dinner spot we never would have found without his help -- and the dinner turned out to be a highlight of our trip. Pieter also recommended a bar for New Year's Eve that we felt immediately at home in -- a warm, welcoming atmosphere with delicious olliebolen (Dutch NYE pastry), free-flowing champagne, and a friendly crowd. [...] suggestions took our trip from simply great to truly extraordinary.Also -- this hotel is ideally located just steps from Centraal Station, the entire place is spotless and appears to have been recently renovated, and the beds promote restful slumber (seriously, the beds will spoil you). Can't recommend it enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Kantil de Tiger on Spuistraat for delicious Indonesian food! Be sure to make a reservation -- this place is always busy, even on Sunday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pony boy
Business
Morgantown
Dec 4, 2009

Centrally located

Renovated rooms were nice. A little hard to breathe, kinda dusty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Crown City Center
Business
Memphis
Nov 29, 2009

tryng something new

i found the hotel excellent in location, the rooms were what were needed besides the beds seeming like a teeter totter, and the staff friendly and helpful and the facilities were well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

it is essential to learn the metro systems. this hotel is in the crux of many train, bus and cab stop, once you get how the city trasportation works getting around the city and even the country side can be a breeze. otherwise you will spend you euros on cab fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH USA
Jul 19, 2009

Amsterdam Crown Plaza Review

I was not aware that the hotel was under re-construction. Internet did not work, had to change rooms, and then the TV did not work, did not bother to change rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Amsterdammer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2009

First trip to Amsterdam

This was our first time in Amsterdam and the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were small but nice. They are in the middle of rennovation so our elevator to our room was out of service and we had to use a longer more inconvenient route. The pool and fitness center were closed during our stay as well. When the hotel is finished being rennovated, I feel it will be much better. Overall our stay was great. The one complaint I had was that I used a pre-paid card from home and thought since it was an 800 number that I would not be charged. Upon our checking out I was given a $200 phone bill. I was extremely unhappy that I wasn't made aware that phone cards purchased in the US weren't the same as ones purchased in Holland. Other than that, our stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can walk anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. It isn't necessary to buy tickets for the trams. Just use a map and you can be your own tour guide. It is also convenient to split meals. We found it better to split meals and eat more snacks then to sit down and have a full meal at each meal time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler to Frankfurt
Business
Switzerland
Jun 19, 2009

Great Spot

Great location. Great and attentive staff. Nicely remodeled rooms. Unfortunate that you cannot take advantage of all amenities until after remodeling in August 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything including Central train station!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top