$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Nieuwe Zijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam, 1012 RC
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
34 reviews
Vacation

Wonderful! The location is just right and the breakfast is something I looked forward to daily! See full review

  • Mtalii
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel choice

This was a great choice. I got a good price online, and the hotel was great. Located only a few... See full review

  • Prof Joe
  • Dec 23, 2013
High-tech style and on-site dining in central Amsterdam

Business and leisure travelers delight in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel for its modern conveniences, excellent dining and on-site recreation options. Guest rooms are equipped with high-tech media amenities while the Crowne Plaza City Centre's fitness center and sauna offer ideal opportunities for relaxation. A full range of business services along with complimentary Wi-Fi, concierge and childcare options streamline business and leisure stays, while the hotel's vibrant locale puts Amsterdam's premier destinations within easy reach.

Highlights
  • Ideally located near central Amsterdam attractions and train station
  • In-house New Dorrius Restaurant offers all-day dining
  • Rooms are equipped with media hubs and flat-screen satellite TVs
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre's 270 modern guest rooms, including 2 suites, offer guests cosmopolitan style and comforts. Standard and superior guest rooms come with twin or double beds. Clubrooms offer double or king beds, while the hotel's business and honeymoon suites are each furnished with king beds. The business suite offers exquisite Amsterdam views from private balconies, while the townhouse-style honeymoon suite comes with a relaxing Jacuzzi. The clubrooms and suites also provide exclusive access to the club level lounge, which provides complimentary breakfast and all-day refreshments.

 

All rooms come with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand programming, media hubs and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Bathrooms provide signature Rituals bath essentials.

Features

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station, several public transit stops and many of the city's premium attractions, is the complete package of style, convenience and comfort. Guests enjoy all-day dining at the bright, elegant New Dorrius Restaurant whose menu includes international and regional favorites. The hotel's on-site fitness center and sauna are the perfect retreat for guests wishing to recharge or simply unwind. Childcare and concierge services add valuable conveniences for both leisure and business travelers.

Transportation

  • Tram and bus stops (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/3.5 km)
Business

  • Business center
  • 5 fully-equipped meeting rooms and 2 boardrooms

Hotel Map

52.3773 4.8955
Nearby airports
Schiphol International Airport, (AMS), 17.50, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.5 mi

Dining

New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar
Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Enjoy a healthy breakfast, a light lunch or a relaxing evening dinner with a good glass of wine.
New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar
Meet for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar or a cocktail in the evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The getaways
Michigan, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Just one night

After 12 days jumping around Europe this was our last night before departure to the US. The hotel was in a perfect location and our room was the largest one we enjoyed. Great stay and fair price for the comfort.k

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 27, 2011

Great room and great people

The hotel is clean. The room was well designed and had an iron and ironing board. The staff was polite and accommodating. We arrived before check-in time, they held our bags for us and we were able to check in before the posted check in time. Hotel is close to the train station and many of the sites in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona newest fan
Fort Smith, AR
Nov 2, 2010

great location and great hotel

the staff was very helpful and the room was great with a soaker tub in the bathroom. Couldn't have been more pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tulips from amsterdam
Lancashire
Oct 5, 2010

Enjoyable stay

sadly there were no king size bedrooms available which would have been the icing on the cake with regards to the room. Short walk from central station, lots of bars restaurants landmarks from the hotel. So easy to get around with lots of good museums. Trams superb always on time and very frequent. WOnderful city. Lovely genuine people. Lots to do. Will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go to travel info at Schipol Airport and purchase a ticket to take the train to Central Station and back together with tram ticket for required number of hours...huge savings. If you are going to visit one or more museums then purchase the Iamsterdam ticket...this not only saves money but saves you getting in line at museums.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2010

Fantastic experience -- highly recommend

[...], the manager of this hotel, couldn't have been more helpful and forthcoming with suggestions. He recommended an authentic and popular Dutch dinner spot we never would have found without his help -- and the dinner turned out to be a highlight of our trip. Pieter also recommended a bar for New Year's Eve that we felt immediately at home in -- a warm, welcoming atmosphere with delicious olliebolen (Dutch NYE pastry), free-flowing champagne, and a friendly crowd. [...] suggestions took our trip from simply great to truly extraordinary.Also -- this hotel is ideally located just steps from Centraal Station, the entire place is spotless and appears to have been recently renovated, and the beds promote restful slumber (seriously, the beds will spoil you). Can't recommend it enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Kantil de Tiger on Spuistraat for delicious Indonesian food! Be sure to make a reservation -- this place is always busy, even on Sunday nights.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pony boy
Morgantown
Dec 4, 2009

Centrally located

Renovated rooms were nice. A little hard to breathe, kinda dusty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Crown City Center
Memphis
Nov 29, 2009

tryng something new

i found the hotel excellent in location, the rooms were what were needed besides the beds seeming like a teeter totter, and the staff friendly and helpful and the facilities were well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

it is essential to learn the metro systems. this hotel is in the crux of many train, bus and cab stop, once you get how the city trasportation works getting around the city and even the country side can be a breeze. otherwise you will spend you euros on cab fare!

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH USA
Jul 19, 2009

Amsterdam Crown Plaza Review

I was not aware that the hotel was under re-construction. Internet did not work, had to change rooms, and then the TV did not work, did not bother to change rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Amsterdammer
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2009

First trip to Amsterdam

This was our first time in Amsterdam and the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were small but nice. They are in the middle of rennovation so our elevator to our room was out of service and we had to use a longer more inconvenient route. The pool and fitness center were closed during our stay as well. When the hotel is finished being rennovated, I feel it will be much better. Overall our stay was great. The one complaint I had was that I used a pre-paid card from home and thought since it was an 800 number that I would not be charged. Upon our checking out I was given a $200 phone bill. I was extremely unhappy that I wasn't made aware that phone cards purchased in the US weren't the same as ones purchased in Holland. Other than that, our stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can walk anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. It isn't necessary to buy tickets for the trams. Just use a map and you can be your own tour guide. It is also convenient to split meals. We found it better to split meals and eat more snacks then to sit down and have a full meal at each meal time.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler to Frankfurt
Business
Switzerland
Jun 19, 2009

Great Spot

Great location. Great and attentive staff. Nicely remodeled rooms. Unfortunate that you cannot take advantage of all amenities until after remodeling in August 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything including Central train station!

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, pleasant place

close to the downtown,shopping centers, museums, coffee shops, restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search