$191 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Nieuwe Zijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam, 1012 RC
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
34 reviews
Vacation

Wonderful! The location is just right and the breakfast is something I looked forward to daily! See full review

  • Mtalii
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel choice

This was a great choice. I got a good price online, and the hotel was great. Located only a few... See full review

  • Prof Joe
  • Dec 23, 2013
High-tech style and on-site dining in central Amsterdam

Business and leisure travelers delight in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel for its modern conveniences, excellent dining and on-site recreation options. Guest rooms are equipped with high-tech media amenities while the Crowne Plaza City Centre's fitness center and sauna offer ideal opportunities for relaxation. A full range of business services along with complimentary Wi-Fi, concierge and childcare options streamline business and leisure stays, while the hotel's vibrant locale puts Amsterdam's premier destinations within easy reach.

Highlights
  • Ideally located near central Amsterdam attractions and train station
  • In-house New Dorrius Restaurant offers all-day dining
  • Rooms are equipped with media hubs and flat-screen satellite TVs
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre's 270 modern guest rooms, including 2 suites, offer guests cosmopolitan style and comforts. Standard and superior guest rooms come with twin or double beds. Clubrooms offer double or king beds, while the hotel's business and honeymoon suites are each furnished with king beds. The business suite offers exquisite Amsterdam views from private balconies, while the townhouse-style honeymoon suite comes with a relaxing Jacuzzi. The clubrooms and suites also provide exclusive access to the club level lounge, which provides complimentary breakfast and all-day refreshments.

 

All rooms come with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand programming, media hubs and complimentary Wi-Fi.  Bathrooms provide signature Rituals bath essentials.

Features

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station, several public transit stops and many of the city's premium attractions, is the complete package of style, convenience and comfort. Guests enjoy all-day dining at the bright, elegant New Dorrius Restaurant whose menu includes international and regional favorites. The hotel's on-site fitness center and sauna are the perfect retreat for guests wishing to recharge or simply unwind. Childcare and concierge services add valuable conveniences for both leisure and business travelers.

Transportation

  • Tram and bus stops (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (across the street)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/3.5 km)
Business

  • Business center
  • 5 fully-equipped meeting rooms and 2 boardrooms

Hotel Map

52.3773 4.8955
Nearby airports
Schiphol International Airport, (AMS), 17.50, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • National Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.5 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.5 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.5 mi

Dining

New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar
Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Enjoy a healthy breakfast, a light lunch or a relaxing evening dinner with a good glass of wine.
New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar
Meet for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar or a cocktail in the evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pungo NMA 66
Business
Hove
Jul 9, 2012

Amsterdam with parents

Had an early flight and as both my parents are in their seventies we were hoping for but not expecting an early check in. We were checked in by Sylvie who was absolutely fantastic. She was so helpful and sympathetic to our situation, empathising with our early start. she offered us both rooms immediately which exceeded our expectations. The staff were always friendly and it was difficult to get in or out of the place without being greeted by at least a couple of them. Really refreshing to be looked after by people who looked like they were enjoying themselves. The rooms were very comfortable and faced the back, so there was no view but they were very quiet. the location of the hotel was spot on, walking distance from pretty much everything we wanted to visit. Great staff, great location and good value for money. We will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greenwoods on Singel for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexander Kurganov
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam

Very nice and clean hotel. The price is reasonable. The room size is quite good. The location is perfect. It is not a 5-star hotel, but a very good and stylish 4-star one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigMatt
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Great location, clean, safe hotel

Great location, clean, safe hotel. Very pleased. Would stay here again. Close walk to train station and everything in AMS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in quiet location, but close to walk to dinning and red light dist

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob1958
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Jan 4, 2012

NOT IMPRESSED!!!!

This hotel was over priced and under PERFORMED Additional charges when checking out ( city tax)??? Lobby doubles as a restaurant and you cannot meet friends and host there!! without spending money. Rooms were very small for the price. Overall I would not stay there again. No Pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaurenCB
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Nice, clean hotel in great location

Overall, I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The hotel itself was quite nice and my room was very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. On top of all of these great things, the location is very centrally located which made it easy to see many parts of the city by foot. I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The getaways
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Just one night

After 12 days jumping around Europe this was our last night before departure to the US. The hotel was in a perfect location and our room was the largest one we enjoyed. Great stay and fair price for the comfort.k

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TurtleBoy
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Class Act. Highly Recommend!

We had 5 rooms here for a week and we can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Amsterdam is usually known to be "Dutch Friendly" (nice, but a little cold). However, the hotel staff here exceeded all our expectations and beyond and could not have been more pleasant, professional and friendly. We all noticed and commented on it many times. For the past several years we have stayed across the street at the Rennaisance which is also nice, however, we plan to return to the Crowne Plaza from now on without any hesitation. PSST... If you are a priority club member with Holiday Inn status, you may get access to a club room that they do not tell you about unless you ask. (red key card) It has coffee, beer, wine, cheese, snacks etc. and is a perfect getaway spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant was surprisingly excellent! New Dorrius. We liked so much we ate their twice. I also HIGHLY recommend the Italian restaurant across the street, but be sure to make reservations, DO NOT expect to walk in. AVOID Dragon Corner Chinese across the street. They serve shark fin soup and the place smells of vomit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toddistraveling
Business
Mountain View, CA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Good, but at a price

This hotel is right in the middle of the tourist area and in very close walking distance from the train station. I've stayed here and the Renaissance and was overall happier at the Renaissance (though it's in a little bit quieter part of the neighborhood). Overall though, I'd just go with whichever option was cheaper at time of booking as they are very close to each other and offer almost identical experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dr. patel
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 17, 2011

awesome location

second time staying at this hotel in less than a month. great staff, great location, rooms are clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel in Amsterdam!!!

The hotel was in a great location. We took the train from Paris. The hotel is within walking distance from the Central Train station (even with luggage). We visited the Van Gogh, Rembrandt and Anne Frank Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top