$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2009

Excellent service!

The friendly staff was extremely helpful in providing directions to several out of the way restaurants and flower gardens. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Also, rent bikes when you are in Amsterdam. It is the best and easiest way to travel around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddo
Business
UK
Aug 5, 2014

Perfect for the 3 main art galleries - Rijksmuseum, modern art and Van Gogh..

My only complaint is that breakfast is expensive, as a result we did not have it at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a art lover, and are in Amsterdam for more than a day or two buy a museum card. It costs 60 euros but gives multiple entry to the museums. At 9am one morning, I had the Night Watch all to myself for a few glorious minutes.

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judes26
Business
Kensington, MD
Sep 6, 2014

Charming stay!

The location was perfect for us; steps to the Museumplein where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedeljik are. Also minutes to the Concertgebouw concert hall, canal cruise boats, Leidesplein with many restaurants, the Albert Cuyp Market which is fun, and the Spiegelgracht area with many lovely galleries, shops and cafes.The rooms were very comfortable with nice amenities, and updated bathrooms. Very pleasant reception personnel who gave us a fantastic map with every little street clearly mapped. A very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling couple FW
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 19, 2014

convenient location in Asmterdam

Most convenient location: close to museum, nearby tram station to inner city, and bus to the Airport. Building is old so the room is typically European small. In our room the WiFi signal is week, so that's a disappointment. Overall is a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomCon
Business
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

THE best for access to museams

Absolutely the most helpful staff who are exceedingly helpful in setting up museum and city (canal) tours. Be nice to yourself, and stay here on your next, or first, visit to Amsterdam!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Mom
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 5, 2012

First time in Amsterdam

My husband and I were in Amsterdam prior to taking a river cruise. I chose this hotel online and it was perfect. Located in the museum district and within walking distance of the old city center and many attractions. The canals are charming and a city map helped us get around. This building is old but has been updated and maintained well. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony M
Business
Ireland
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect location

Brilliant location for the museum district and the bars and restaurants of the Leidseplein area are only a five minute stroll from the hotel. The superior rooms are wonderful and well worth the extra cost. My partner said the room really made the holiday for her

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heineken Experience is a great few hours. Pay extra to get the rooftop BBQ burger and beer, but beware it closes at 6pm. Take the free boat trip back to the centre of town, it's as good as any of the boat tours we were on and it's not too long

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bacary
Business
Cambridge UK
May 26, 2014

A Week in Amsterdam

Superb location right next to the 'Big 3' museums. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and recommended an excellent Indonesian restaurant for our first night. When we wanted to eat Chinese reception was honest enough to admit that they did not know of anything local and were happy when we returned later that night with a card from an excellent restaurant we had located in the area. The only complaint I would raise would be the price of €5 for the bottle of water in the room. Yes it was not compulsory but on your first night you are not looking for local supermarkets so I felt they were taking advantage.. Otherwise I could find nothing else to fault and must give the staff top marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Leontje for excellent beef, great Dutch beer and a fun atmosphere.

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sselytina
Business
Provo, UT
Aug 29, 2010

lovely location for museum goin

We began and ended our trip with a stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and caring. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious by European standards, especially the bathroom. The Van Gogh and other museums were just a block or so away. This felt like a very safe part of the city and the hotel is on a fairly quiet street with little traffic. Many parts of the city were also easily accessible. There was a lovely park around the corner where venders sell waffles and sandwiches. The breakfast at the hotel was 19 Euro per person which seemed very pricey, so we ate at the park. There was also a connection for the water taxis nearby and that was a great way to see the city. It could have cost as much as 60 Euro to get from the airport to the hotel and there was not a shuttle. We took the train and then a taxi from the south part of the city for about 15 Euro instead. There was no free internet, but the cost here was comparable to other places I have stayed abroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 9, 2009

Will be returning!

We had a wonderful time! The hour and a half in the personal spa room was a very special added treat. The staff were all very kind and helpful even with all the questions I was asking (as a first time visitor to Amsterdam). The breakfasts were exceptional with a very kind and helpful staff as well. The hotel is very well located...just a short walk to upscale shopping and groceries, the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, and the Leidseplein for the nightlife. WHEN we return to Amsterdam this will be where we stay...we need more time to enjoy all that is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top