$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
38 reviews
My Favorite Hotel!

It was a wonderful choice. The staff was very helpful and willing to assist with all of my needs.... See full review

  • Analytical
  • Nov 25, 2014
Great Hotel, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location

This hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing around Amsterdam. The staff was super helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 14, 2014
Historic, boutique charmer offers dynamic locale, cozy comforts

Spanning three interconnected, 19th century townhouses, the charming Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam offers the intimacy and coziness of a historic boutique hotel with an array of modern amenities to please any Amsterdam visitor. Only steps from the Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and the premier shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat, guests of the Bilderberg Jan Luyken find the perfect balance of an ultra-convenient locale with accommodations that expertly blend historic charm with modern comforts, including a health spa and in-house wine bar.

Highlights

  • Ultra-convenient, central Amsterdam locale
  • Excellent in-house wine bar
  • Blends historic design with contemporary décor and comforts
Rooms

The Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 62 guest rooms incorporate contemporary décor and modern amenities into a backdrop of authentic architectural detail to create a classic, yet cozy vibe. Burgundy and espresso fabrics, glass-top tables and rich-wood furnishings counterbalance the Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 19th century townhouse features like the charming bay windows or stained glass windows. Satellite TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) add modern touches to the classy setting. For extra sitting area and oversized workstations, guests can stay in one of the 17 superior rooms.

Features

Housed within three 19th century townhouses, the Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel offers guests a charming taste of Amsterdam architectural heritage in a cozy boutique setting, without skimping on such modern comforts as Internet access, satellite TV, a health spa and an excellent wine bar. Guests find a wealth of Amsterdam's leading attractions, including the majestic Rijksmuseum, lush Vondelpark and world-class P.C. Hooftstraat shopping at their doorstep. The on-site health spa is an ideal spot to unwind while the hotel's trendy Wines & Bites bar serves appetizing refreshments and delicious cocktails. Guests can also take advantage of the 24-hour room service and multi-lingual staff.  

Transportation

  • Bus & tram stops nearby (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (2 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (4 blocks)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business


  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)              
Polices & Fees


  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Superior Room
Very spacious hotelroom equipped with a separate sitting area, a Twin-bed (single bed) or a Queen-size bed (large single bed), iron and ironing board, Wi-Fi included, TV, audio system, minibar, safe and coffee and tea facilities. The bathroom has a bath, shower in the bath, toilet, double washbasins and a hairdryer and bath products of Pure Herbs. In this hotelroom, we also provide bathrobes and slippers.
Standard Room
Our standard hotelrooms offer luxurious accommodation for two adults in Amsterdam's city centre, and guests of our hotel can choose between two Twin beds or a Queen-sized bed. This designer hotelroom is equipped with facilities such as TV, Wi-Fi (at an extra charge), radio, minibar, safe, coffee and tea facilities, and a bathroom with rain shower or bath, toilet and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.5 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.5 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.5 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.6 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.6 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.6 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • OT301: 0.7 mi
  • University Library: 0.7 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.7 mi
  • Spui: 0.7 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.7 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
WB, Wines & Bites, is the name of our trendy bar in the 4 stars Boutique Hotel, Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken. WB is a meeting place where design is combined with the traditional details of our town house hotel. You can choose from a varied assortment of tea, coffee, wines and other spirits. The hotel serves small 'bites' and traditional Dutch snacks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Sep 26, 2009

great location, small rooms

All staff were very nice and helped us when necessary. When we arrived we were shown to a very small room with only 1 small window hign up on a wall that you would have to stand on a chair to open. This room was unsatisfactory for anyone and should not be rented out. We were changed to another room that was larger but had a light shining in at nite from the hotel sign, we closed the curtains and it was OK. Room was also above the compressor from the central air conditioning. The air conditioning was not on at nite, so it was tolerable. We were only in the room from about 10PM to about 10 AM. Hotel did not have any superior rooms available when we arrived, at more $ of course. 2nd room was satisfactory so we did not change rooms later in the week when there may have been superior rooms available. I never did find out the price difference. Mattresses are very comfortable and rooms was well laid out. CD player was nice. We had all the food removed from the mini fridge when we arrived so we could put or own food in there and were not temped to eat the expensive mini fridge food. We never ate breakfast there because of the cost and did not visit the spa which appeared to be a bathtub,a tanning bed, and a table for massage. Never found out cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is very well located to 2 tram lines, #2 or #5 will take you in and out of Central Station and downtown, Stop is Hobbemastraat. #7 or #10 will take you crosstown to Joordan an zoo/botanical park area. You can buy a strippenkart for the tram when you arrive at the train station. You can take the train from the airport to Central Staion easily. When you use the ticket machines for the train press credit card, last choice, even though you are actually using a debit card

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polybatics man
Business
Palmerston North, NZ
Jun 24, 2009

Jan Van Luyken

The hotel is a classic Dutch hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. If you are used to large American style rooms you will be disappointed, but then you shouldn't be spending any time in your room in the first place while staying in one of the most picturesque cities in Europe. We found the breakfast at 19.50 Euros a bit pricey and chose to eat at one of the many cafes in the area. But that was a small price to be within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and the van Gough Museum. The room was very quiet and peaceful making the time we spent there relaxing after very full days of sightseeing. Definitely a 'go to' place next time in A'dam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2009

Excellent service!

The friendly staff was extremely helpful in providing directions to several out of the way restaurants and flower gardens. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Also, rent bikes when you are in Amsterdam. It is the best and easiest way to travel around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddo
Business
UK
Aug 5, 2014

Perfect for the 3 main art galleries - Rijksmuseum, modern art and Van Gogh..

My only complaint is that breakfast is expensive, as a result we did not have it at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a art lover, and are in Amsterdam for more than a day or two buy a museum card. It costs 60 euros but gives multiple entry to the museums. At 9am one morning, I had the Night Watch all to myself for a few glorious minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judes26
Business
Kensington, MD
Sep 6, 2014

Charming stay!

The location was perfect for us; steps to the Museumplein where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedeljik are. Also minutes to the Concertgebouw concert hall, canal cruise boats, Leidesplein with many restaurants, the Albert Cuyp Market which is fun, and the Spiegelgracht area with many lovely galleries, shops and cafes.The rooms were very comfortable with nice amenities, and updated bathrooms. Very pleasant reception personnel who gave us a fantastic map with every little street clearly mapped. A very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling couple FW
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 19, 2014

convenient location in Asmterdam

Most convenient location: close to museum, nearby tram station to inner city, and bus to the Airport. Building is old so the room is typically European small. In our room the WiFi signal is week, so that's a disappointment. Overall is a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomCon
Business
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

THE best for access to museams

Absolutely the most helpful staff who are exceedingly helpful in setting up museum and city (canal) tours. Be nice to yourself, and stay here on your next, or first, visit to Amsterdam!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Mom
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 5, 2012

First time in Amsterdam

My husband and I were in Amsterdam prior to taking a river cruise. I chose this hotel online and it was perfect. Located in the museum district and within walking distance of the old city center and many attractions. The canals are charming and a city map helped us get around. This building is old but has been updated and maintained well. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony M
Business
Ireland
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect location

Brilliant location for the museum district and the bars and restaurants of the Leidseplein area are only a five minute stroll from the hotel. The superior rooms are wonderful and well worth the extra cost. My partner said the room really made the holiday for her

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heineken Experience is a great few hours. Pay extra to get the rooftop BBQ burger and beer, but beware it closes at 6pm. Take the free boat trip back to the centre of town, it's as good as any of the boat tours we were on and it's not too long

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bacary
Business
Cambridge UK
May 26, 2014

A Week in Amsterdam

Superb location right next to the 'Big 3' museums. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and recommended an excellent Indonesian restaurant for our first night. When we wanted to eat Chinese reception was honest enough to admit that they did not know of anything local and were happy when we returned later that night with a card from an excellent restaurant we had located in the area. The only complaint I would raise would be the price of €5 for the bottle of water in the room. Yes it was not compulsory but on your first night you are not looking for local supermarkets so I felt they were taking advantage.. Otherwise I could find nothing else to fault and must give the staff top marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Leontje for excellent beef, great Dutch beer and a fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top