$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pogue
Business
Amsterdam
Jun 18, 2013

Birthday Trip Weekend

Really good location on quiet street but with everything you would want to do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to go to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum,both literally 2 mins walk from Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bratsche
Business
UK
Aug 22, 2013

Ideal location

Ideal location. Easy to reach by bus 197 direct from the airport (approx 30 mins). Just off Museumplein (Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, Concergebouw etc) and close to the lovely Vondelpark. Easy walk into the centre of Amsterdam in a few minutes and easy access to buses and trams for travel further afield. Not close to railway station but as we arrived by air this was fine. Very polite and helpful staff. Free wi-fi which was very welcome. (Breakfast was an expensive extra so we didn't have that in the hotel.) Excellent room. We were three sharing (two adults and 16 year old child). Extra bed was provided in room and there was plenty of space. Nice extras such as toiletries and bath robes and slippers. Comfortable beds. Very good value and would recommend to others and would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating out all the time is expensive in Amsterdam. We were on a budget so used the AH supermarket on Museumplein for lunch sandwich provisions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nomad 2
Business
Virginia
Aug 26, 2013

Location,location......

For visits to museums this hotel is perfectly located. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is good but pricey at 15 euros. The front desk support is spotty: they missed a wake up call and only provided Internet access information after multiple attempts. But after I complained they made every effort to make up. But overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have good coffee and some buns in the kiosks in front of the Rijksmuseum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Real Analysis
Business
Northfield, Minnesota
Nov 28, 2013

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Amsterdam

On a quiet street and about as perfect a location as possible for the art-interested. Within a few blocks of the Rijksmuseeum, the Van Gogh museum, the Stedelijk, and the Concertbegouw. Room was tiny but adequate. Excellent but pricey (ask at check-in) breakfast buffet, with good cheese, smoked salmon, fruit, etc. Try the wonderful chewy raisin/currant bread. Friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the 2 or 5 tram from Central Station; it stops at Jan Luikenstraat about 1.5 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jolly Couple
Business
Lubbock TX
Dec 10, 2013

Wonderful stay! Great location

The hotel was in the perfect location if you are avoiding the extremely noisy areas and still wanna be close to the action. It was close to the tram stop, the museum quarter, and some nice cosy restaurants in the same region. The only disadvantage was they did not offer free wifi even in the lobby area! I had to buy wifi (pricy) just to use my computer for simple things. Overall, my stay was perfect, the staff were really nice as well and it was a clean hotel. I definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moulawd
Business
Lausanne
Dec 10, 2013

A good hotel in a great location

The hotel is well sistuated in a nice neighborhood near the coty center. The rooms are quite good and the staff is very feiendly and helping. It's too bad that the breakfast and wifi are not included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The luxury shopping area is at 1minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Mar 13, 2011

Great Time!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had that "European" feel. Great location for a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanclaners
Business
Northeast Wisconsin
Jul 11, 2010

Lovely Location!

This hotel is terrific and in a lovely location. It's in the "Fashion and Museum" district. The neighborhood was residential in nature and quiet, quaint, and only about a block in either direction from several tram lines. Be warned: hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small in comparison to American counterparts, but our room was clean and the staff at Jan Luykan Bildenburg are professional, friendly and accommodating. We weren't willing to pay $20 per person per day extra to upgrade our standard room, so we didn't have any dresser drawers and had to get creative with our unpacking. The room was tight but comfortable, clean and quiet. We got used to its compactness. Amsterdam is an amazing city. It's designed for pedestrians, bicyclists and transit. There are few cars. Take care when you are walking around. Bikes are allowed almost anywhere, and sometimes you are sharing those narrow streets with hundreds of cyclists. It's pretty great. Most Amsterdamers speak excellent English, so you'll have no trouble communicating. Restaurants in the touristy areas usually have menus in both Dutch and English. If you travel outside of Amsterdam, people speak less English, but they seem to understand you well. We recommend a day trip to Haarlam--a short train ride northwest of Amsterdam. Absolutely gorgeous. There are free organ concerts in the 14th century church located in the main square on a magnificient 5,000-pipe organ that has been played by Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms! Enjoy your trip. You will LOVE it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annecy, France
Oct 24, 2010

Good hotel ideally placed in the centre

If you are looking for a hotel ideally placed in the centre of town close to the Van Gogh museum and you are trying to escape the usual business travel chain hotels, this is the one you should get. Personalised service, excellent breakfast in a calm sourrounding. The rooms might be a bit small, but functional with all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the I Amsterdam card. This will provide you easy access to most of the museeums and free trips on public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emarald
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 25, 2011

A lovely small hotel

The Blderberg Jan Luyken was great find, it is in very nice part of town, We were able to get into our room by 10 in the morning which was very kind of them. Very close to the Museums, and a very expensive shopping district. We could easily find the canal boats. We were only there for the day, and they did direct us to a very nice little Italian resturant, to the left and around the corner.We did not eat breakfast at the hotel thought $30 was too much.To the right and down the street, turning right there is a nice bakery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top