$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Great Hotel, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location

This hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing around Amsterdam. The staff was super helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 14, 2014
perfect hotel

this hotel is fantastic, the location is just right, nice and quiet. the staff are very friendly... See full review

  • ald1234
  • Aug 5, 2014
Historic, boutique charmer offers dynamic locale, cozy comforts

Spanning three interconnected, 19th century townhouses, the charming Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam offers the intimacy and coziness of a historic boutique hotel with an array of modern amenities to please any Amsterdam visitor. Only steps from the Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and the premier shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat, guests of the Bilderberg Jan Luyken find the perfect balance of an ultra-convenient locale with accommodations that expertly blend historic charm with modern comforts, including a health spa and in-house wine bar.

Highlights

  • Ultra-convenient, central Amsterdam locale
  • Excellent in-house wine bar
  • Blends historic design with contemporary décor and comforts
Rooms

The Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 62 guest rooms incorporate contemporary décor and modern amenities into a backdrop of authentic architectural detail to create a classic, yet cozy vibe. Burgundy and espresso fabrics, glass-top tables and rich-wood furnishings counterbalance the Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 19th century townhouse features like the charming bay windows or stained glass windows. Satellite TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) add modern touches to the classy setting. For extra sitting area and oversized workstations, guests can stay in one of the 17 superior rooms.

Features

Housed within three 19th century townhouses, the Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel offers guests a charming taste of Amsterdam architectural heritage in a cozy boutique setting, without skimping on such modern comforts as Internet access, satellite TV, a health spa and an excellent wine bar. Guests find a wealth of Amsterdam's leading attractions, including the majestic Rijksmuseum, lush Vondelpark and world-class P.C. Hooftstraat shopping at their doorstep. The on-site health spa is an ideal spot to unwind while the hotel's trendy Wines & Bites bar serves appetizing refreshments and delicious cocktails. Guests can also take advantage of the 24-hour room service and multi-lingual staff.  

Transportation

  • Bus & tram stops nearby (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (2 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (4 blocks)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business


  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)              
Polices & Fees


  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3597 4.8812
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 9.8 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 53.8 km.
Area description
Boutique hotel situated in the heart of Amsterdam, just behind the PC Hooftstraat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Superior Room
Very spacious hotelroom equipped with a separate sitting area, a Twin-bed (single bed) or a Queen-size bed (large single bed), iron and ironing board, Wi-Fi included, TV, audio system, minibar, safe and coffee and tea facilities. The bathroom has a bath, shower in the bath, toilet, double washbasins and a hairdryer and bath products of Pure Herbs. In this hotelroom, we also provide bathrobes and slippers.
Standard Room
Our standard hotelrooms offer luxurious accommodation for two adults in Amsterdam's city centre, and guests of our hotel can choose between two Twin beds or a Queen-sized bed. This designer hotelroom is equipped with facilities such as TV, Wi-Fi (at an extra charge), radio, minibar, safe, coffee and tea facilities, and a bathroom with rain shower or bath, toilet and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.5 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.5 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.5 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.6 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.6 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.6 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • OT301: 0.7 mi
  • University Library: 0.7 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.7 mi
  • Spui: 0.7 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.7 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
WB, Wines & Bites, is the name of our trendy bar in the 4 stars Boutique Hotel, Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken. WB is a meeting place where design is combined with the traditional details of our town house hotel. You can choose from a varied assortment of tea, coffee, wines and other spirits. The hotel serves small 'bites' and traditional Dutch snacks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomCon
Business
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

THE best for access to museams

Absolutely the most helpful staff who are exceedingly helpful in setting up museum and city (canal) tours. Be nice to yourself, and stay here on your next, or first, visit to Amsterdam!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Mom
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 5, 2012

First time in Amsterdam

My husband and I were in Amsterdam prior to taking a river cruise. I chose this hotel online and it was perfect. Located in the museum district and within walking distance of the old city center and many attractions. The canals are charming and a city map helped us get around. This building is old but has been updated and maintained well. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony M
Business
Ireland
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect location

Brilliant location for the museum district and the bars and restaurants of the Leidseplein area are only a five minute stroll from the hotel. The superior rooms are wonderful and well worth the extra cost. My partner said the room really made the holiday for her

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heineken Experience is a great few hours. Pay extra to get the rooftop BBQ burger and beer, but beware it closes at 6pm. Take the free boat trip back to the centre of town, it's as good as any of the boat tours we were on and it's not too long

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bacary
Business
Cambridge UK
May 26, 2014

A Week in Amsterdam

Superb location right next to the 'Big 3' museums. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and recommended an excellent Indonesian restaurant for our first night. When we wanted to eat Chinese reception was honest enough to admit that they did not know of anything local and were happy when we returned later that night with a card from an excellent restaurant we had located in the area. The only complaint I would raise would be the price of €5 for the bottle of water in the room. Yes it was not compulsory but on your first night you are not looking for local supermarkets so I felt they were taking advantage.. Otherwise I could find nothing else to fault and must give the staff top marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Leontje for excellent beef, great Dutch beer and a fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sselytina
Business
Provo, UT
Aug 29, 2010

lovely location for museum goin

We began and ended our trip with a stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and caring. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious by European standards, especially the bathroom. The Van Gogh and other museums were just a block or so away. This felt like a very safe part of the city and the hotel is on a fairly quiet street with little traffic. Many parts of the city were also easily accessible. There was a lovely park around the corner where venders sell waffles and sandwiches. The breakfast at the hotel was 19 Euro per person which seemed very pricey, so we ate at the park. There was also a connection for the water taxis nearby and that was a great way to see the city. It could have cost as much as 60 Euro to get from the airport to the hotel and there was not a shuttle. We took the train and then a taxi from the south part of the city for about 15 Euro instead. There was no free internet, but the cost here was comparable to other places I have stayed abroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 9, 2009

Will be returning!

We had a wonderful time! The hour and a half in the personal spa room was a very special added treat. The staff were all very kind and helpful even with all the questions I was asking (as a first time visitor to Amsterdam). The breakfasts were exceptional with a very kind and helpful staff as well. The hotel is very well located...just a short walk to upscale shopping and groceries, the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, and the Leidseplein for the nightlife. WHEN we return to Amsterdam this will be where we stay...we need more time to enjoy all that is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 22, 2010

Great location, helpful hotel staff

I wanted a nice hotel near the art museums and this hotel exceeded my expectations! The location is great, the staff was very helpful and the room was perfect for me as a single traveler! I would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CoraBob
Business
Yonkers, New York
Nov 18, 2009

Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

The hotel is located in a picturesque and quiet location, near all the cultural venues we care about. Our room was lovely and spacious. The staff was helpful and caring. We felt very much at home and at ease with the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colleyville, TX
Feb 24, 2010

What a great location!

This hotel is close to both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, no more than a five minute walk to either. It is adjacent to a shopping area with some of the names that everyone would recognize, Tiffany, Armani, etc. Excellent public transportation is right down the street. As far as location, it doesn't get any better. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, whether providing dining suggestions (and reservations) or offering museum tickets, transportation tickets, or parking vouchers. The staff is absolutely top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ald1234
Business
liverpool
Aug 5, 2014

perfect hotel

this hotel is fantastic, the location is just right, nice and quiet. the staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

walk, its so much quicker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top