$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Mom
Seattle, WA
Nov 5, 2012

First time in Amsterdam

My husband and I were in Amsterdam prior to taking a river cruise. I chose this hotel online and it was perfect. Located in the museum district and within walking distance of the old city center and many attractions. The canals are charming and a city map helped us get around. This building is old but has been updated and maintained well. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris L
Business
Scotland
Oct 15, 2012

Lovely Hotel, Great Location!

This is a lovely hotel that my wife and I spent 3 nights at. It is ideally situated close to a nice area for wining & dining as well as designer shopping if that's your thing. As with most areas in Amsterdam the hotel is close to tram stops and a short walk to the nearest canal boat stop. Plenty of museums close by and lovely parks to walk through. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 16, 2012

Formal Atmosphere

The hotel conveys a more formal atmosphere. Location is excellent. Small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ghhmedusa
Business
Colorado, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Location excellent, staff helpful, room small

My experience was pleasant. The staff was extremely helpful and the location was perfect for visiting the Van Gogh and Riks Museum. Also, the tram and bus connections were very convenient for destinations other than the museum district. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ric3188
Business
Portsmouth, UK
Feb 13, 2012

A great place to stay

The hotel is situated very close to the Museumplein and a tram line to the centre of Amsterdam passes nearby. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. If breakfast is not included and you want to eat in the hotel, order it the night before and you'll save €4.50pp - it's not cheap but the quality is high. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Koffiehuis van den Volksbond is an excellent restaurant, welcoming and friendly with a great menu.

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomCon
Business
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

THE best for access to museams

Absolutely the most helpful staff who are exceedingly helpful in setting up museum and city (canal) tours. Be nice to yourself, and stay here on your next, or first, visit to Amsterdam!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emarald
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 25, 2011

A lovely small hotel

The Blderberg Jan Luyken was great find, it is in very nice part of town, We were able to get into our room by 10 in the morning which was very kind of them. Very close to the Museums, and a very expensive shopping district. We could easily find the canal boats. We were only there for the day, and they did direct us to a very nice little Italian resturant, to the left and around the corner.We did not eat breakfast at the hotel thought $30 was too much.To the right and down the street, turning right there is a nice bakery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rev F
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 9, 2011

1st Amsterdam trip

We checked in early, they accomodated our luggage while we started going around the city. The person that checked as in was very helpful in giving us directions. The breakfast was somewhat expensive but convenient. The location was nice and quiet but close enough to attractions. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Learn the map well. The canal hop on/off ride is good but still need to know your general locations otherwise you'll end up walking a lot.

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Mar 13, 2011

Great Time!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had that "European" feel. Great location for a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annecy, France
Oct 24, 2010

Good hotel ideally placed in the centre

If you are looking for a hotel ideally placed in the centre of town close to the Van Gogh museum and you are trying to escape the usual business travel chain hotels, this is the one you should get. Personalised service, excellent breakfast in a calm sourrounding. The rooms might be a bit small, but functional with all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the I Amsterdam card. This will provide you easy access to most of the museeums and free trips on public transportation.

Back to menu Return to top