$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Jan Luykenstraat 58, Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam, 1071 CS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Great Hotel, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location

This hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing around Amsterdam. The staff was super helpful... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 14, 2014
perfect hotel

this hotel is fantastic, the location is just right, nice and quiet. the staff are very friendly... See full review

  • ald1234
  • Aug 5, 2014
Historic, boutique charmer offers dynamic locale, cozy comforts

Spanning three interconnected, 19th century townhouses, the charming Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam offers the intimacy and coziness of a historic boutique hotel with an array of modern amenities to please any Amsterdam visitor. Only steps from the Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and the premier shopping on P.C. Hooftstraat, guests of the Bilderberg Jan Luyken find the perfect balance of an ultra-convenient locale with accommodations that expertly blend historic charm with modern comforts, including a health spa and in-house wine bar.

Highlights

  • Ultra-convenient, central Amsterdam locale
  • Excellent in-house wine bar
  • Blends historic design with contemporary décor and comforts
Rooms

The Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 62 guest rooms incorporate contemporary décor and modern amenities into a backdrop of authentic architectural detail to create a classic, yet cozy vibe. Burgundy and espresso fabrics, glass-top tables and rich-wood furnishings counterbalance the Bilderberg Jan Luyken's 19th century townhouse features like the charming bay windows or stained glass windows. Satellite TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) add modern touches to the classy setting. For extra sitting area and oversized workstations, guests can stay in one of the 17 superior rooms.

Features

Housed within three 19th century townhouses, the Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel offers guests a charming taste of Amsterdam architectural heritage in a cozy boutique setting, without skimping on such modern comforts as Internet access, satellite TV, a health spa and an excellent wine bar. Guests find a wealth of Amsterdam's leading attractions, including the majestic Rijksmuseum, lush Vondelpark and world-class P.C. Hooftstraat shopping at their doorstep. The on-site health spa is an ideal spot to unwind while the hotel's trendy Wines & Bites bar serves appetizing refreshments and delicious cocktails. Guests can also take advantage of the 24-hour room service and multi-lingual staff.  

Transportation

  • Bus & tram stops nearby (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (2 blocks)
  • Van Gogh Museum (4 blocks)
  • Blue Boat Company (canal tours) (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/2 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (2 mi/3 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business


  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)              
Polices & Fees


  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3597 4.8812
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 9.8 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 53.8 km.
Area description
Boutique hotel situated in the heart of Amsterdam, just behind the PC Hooftstraat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Superior Room
Very spacious hotelroom equipped with a separate sitting area, a Twin-bed (single bed) or a Queen-size bed (large single bed), iron and ironing board, Wi-Fi included, TV, audio system, minibar, safe and coffee and tea facilities. The bathroom has a bath, shower in the bath, toilet, double washbasins and a hairdryer and bath products of Pure Herbs. In this hotelroom, we also provide bathrobes and slippers.
Standard Room
Our standard hotelrooms offer luxurious accommodation for two adults in Amsterdam's city centre, and guests of our hotel can choose between two Twin beds or a Queen-sized bed. This designer hotelroom is equipped with facilities such as TV, Wi-Fi (at an extra charge), radio, minibar, safe, coffee and tea facilities, and a bathroom with rain shower or bath, toilet and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • House of Bols: 0 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.1 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.1 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.1 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.2 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.5 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.5 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.5 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.6 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.6 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.6 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.6 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • OT301: 0.7 mi
  • University Library: 0.7 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.7 mi
  • Spui: 0.7 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.7 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
WB, Wines & Bites, is the name of our trendy bar in the 4 stars Boutique Hotel, Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken. WB is a meeting place where design is combined with the traditional details of our town house hotel. You can choose from a varied assortment of tea, coffee, wines and other spirits. The hotel serves small 'bites' and traditional Dutch snacks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emarald
Florida, USA
Sep 25, 2011

A lovely small hotel

The Blderberg Jan Luyken was great find, it is in very nice part of town, We were able to get into our room by 10 in the morning which was very kind of them. Very close to the Museums, and a very expensive shopping district. We could easily find the canal boats. We were only there for the day, and they did direct us to a very nice little Italian resturant, to the left and around the corner.We did not eat breakfast at the hotel thought $30 was too much.To the right and down the street, turning right there is a nice bakery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rev F
San Diego, CA
Sep 9, 2011

1st Amsterdam trip

We checked in early, they accomodated our luggage while we started going around the city. The person that checked as in was very helpful in giving us directions. The breakfast was somewhat expensive but convenient. The location was nice and quiet but close enough to attractions. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Learn the map well. The canal hop on/off ride is good but still need to know your general locations otherwise you'll end up walking a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Mar 13, 2011

Great Time!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had that "European" feel. Great location for a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leader-of-the-pack
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Comfortable and well located

Very comfortable room and bathroom. Staff was friendly and accommodating: when I asked where I could buy a guide book, I was given a tour book of the city to borrow. I enjoyed being near two major museums, shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast in the hotel was unreasonably expensive for me as an American, at 20 euros per person (close to thirty dollars at the current exchange rate). Instead, there were many fine cafes within a short walk for less than half that amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Annecy, France
Oct 24, 2010

Good hotel ideally placed in the centre

If you are looking for a hotel ideally placed in the centre of town close to the Van Gogh museum and you are trying to escape the usual business travel chain hotels, this is the one you should get. Personalised service, excellent breakfast in a calm sourrounding. The rooms might be a bit small, but functional with all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the I Amsterdam card. This will provide you easy access to most of the museeums and free trips on public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BaristaDeb
NJ
Sep 24, 2010

Nice, but aloof and far from the action

Bilderberg Jan Luyken is on a charming street, and the superior room was well-appointed, but it was far from the action and they charged extra for everything! An hour of internet service was 7 euros. Breakfast (which we declined) was 20 euros per person. They couldn't even make us a reservation at the Anne Frank House - we had to pay for internet and printer usage at a lobby portal. Next time, we would look for a hotel in the Spui or Westermarkt sections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're in good shape, take a tour of the church steeple at Westerkerk in Amsterdam. It's many stairs, but an adventure with great views of city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sselytina
Provo, UT
Aug 29, 2010

lovely location for museum goin

We began and ended our trip with a stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and caring. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious by European standards, especially the bathroom. The Van Gogh and other museums were just a block or so away. This felt like a very safe part of the city and the hotel is on a fairly quiet street with little traffic. Many parts of the city were also easily accessible. There was a lovely park around the corner where venders sell waffles and sandwiches. The breakfast at the hotel was 19 Euro per person which seemed very pricey, so we ate at the park. There was also a connection for the water taxis nearby and that was a great way to see the city. It could have cost as much as 60 Euro to get from the airport to the hotel and there was not a shuttle. We took the train and then a taxi from the south part of the city for about 15 Euro instead. There was no free internet, but the cost here was comparable to other places I have stayed abroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanclaners
Northeast Wisconsin
Jul 11, 2010

Lovely Location!

This hotel is terrific and in a lovely location. It's in the "Fashion and Museum" district. The neighborhood was residential in nature and quiet, quaint, and only about a block in either direction from several tram lines. Be warned: hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small in comparison to American counterparts, but our room was clean and the staff at Jan Luykan Bildenburg are professional, friendly and accommodating. We weren't willing to pay $20 per person per day extra to upgrade our standard room, so we didn't have any dresser drawers and had to get creative with our unpacking. The room was tight but comfortable, clean and quiet. We got used to its compactness. Amsterdam is an amazing city. It's designed for pedestrians, bicyclists and transit. There are few cars. Take care when you are walking around. Bikes are allowed almost anywhere, and sometimes you are sharing those narrow streets with hundreds of cyclists. It's pretty great. Most Amsterdamers speak excellent English, so you'll have no trouble communicating. Restaurants in the touristy areas usually have menus in both Dutch and English. If you travel outside of Amsterdam, people speak less English, but they seem to understand you well. We recommend a day trip to Haarlam--a short train ride northwest of Amsterdam. Absolutely gorgeous. There are free organ concerts in the 14th century church located in the main square on a magnificient 5,000-pipe organ that has been played by Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms! Enjoy your trip. You will LOVE it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville, TX
Feb 24, 2010

What a great location!

This hotel is close to both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, no more than a five minute walk to either. It is adjacent to a shopping area with some of the names that everyone would recognize, Tiffany, Armani, etc. Excellent public transportation is right down the street. As far as location, it doesn't get any better. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, whether providing dining suggestions (and reservations) or offering museum tickets, transportation tickets, or parking vouchers. The staff is absolutely top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bilderberg Jan Luyken Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Feb 22, 2010

Great location, helpful hotel staff

I wanted a nice hotel near the art museums and this hotel exceeded my expectations! The location is great, the staff was very helpful and the room was perfect for me as a single traveler! I would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top