Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, (located in a side street of the Apollolaan), Amsterdam, 1077 BJ

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
47 reviews
Great for the holidays!

We were in Amsterdam to tour museums and the city for the winter holidays! The location was quiet... See full review

  • Barbara B.
  • Mar 24, 2015
Lovely and affordable upscale hotel

Fancy for a student, but well worth it. Free upgrade to business wing, clean and comfortable with... See full review

  • Imfromeverywhere
  • Nov 3, 2014
Amsterdam-South: green, elegant and lively. The Bilderberg Garden Hotel in its peaceful setting lies at walking distance from the chic shopping streets, splendid museums and welcoming pavement cafes of Amsterdam. The intimate and personal ambience of the hotel does justice to its five star designation. As the guest will feel entirely at home in the tasteful and luxurious rooms, where you can thoroughly relax following your cultural outings in the city. With the Vondel park and Concert building on your doorstep you will most certainly be experiencing Amsterdam in all her glory! The Bilderberg Garden's chic, contemporary De Kersentuin Restaurant features dining with flavorful twists on French favorites. The hotel lounge offers the perfect spot for business and leisure guests to relax and unwind with cocktails and appetizers. On-site valet parking, multilingual staff, concierge services and free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel are part of the Bilderberg Garden's full slate of modern amenities. Access to the neighborhood fitness center is provided at a discounted rate. The Bilderberg Garden's chic, contemporary De Kersentuin Restaurant features dining with flavorful twists on French favorites. The hotel lounge offers the perfect spot for business and leisure guests to relax and unwind with cocktails and appetizers. On-site valet parking, multilingual staff, concierge services and Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel are part of the Bilderberg Garden's full slate of modern amenities. Access to the neighborhood fitness center is provided at a discounted rate. The Bilderberg Garden Hotel offers 124 sleek, modern guest rooms with marbled luxury bathrooms. Deluxe rooms come furnished with double beds, mini bars, flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Executive rooms each come with a double bed or two twin beds, flat-screen satellite TV, bathrooms with spa tubs and signature Pure Herbs bath and body products. In the Executive room is also a whirlpool, free Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee. Suites come with separate living and bedroom quarters, two flat-screen satellite TVs and Wi-Fi complimentary. Relax and mingle with other guests in the pleasant bar or lounge, and if you wish to lunch or dine in our non-smoking restaurant 'De Kersentuin', you'll experience culinary delights and attentive service in contemporary surroundings. Amsterdam is a shop-heaven with its profusion of up-market boutiques, where you'll shop till you drop. Saunter through the busy Vondel Park or discover the real Amsterdam on bike. If however you are looking for a truly unforgettable experience then behold the famous Amsterdam canal streets from the water. Also in the vicinity you could also place a bet in the casino, be active in the fitness centre or undergo an invigorating beauty treatment. De Kersentuin will be closed from June 28th 2015 until August 9th 2015 due to the fact that we will get a complete new restaurant. We will be open again on Monday August 10th 2015. We will serve a limited menu on our completely renewed outside terrace. The hotel will ask for a credit card or cash deposit at check in for extra's. A 5% city tax is added to final room charges at checkout the Bilderberg Garden hotel will offer a complimentary minibar to all guests who book an Executive room or Suite.

Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Rooms
The Bilderberg Garden Hotel offers 124 sleek, modern guest rooms with marbled luxury bathrooms. Deluxe rooms come furnished with double beds, mini bars, flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Executive rooms each come with a double bed or two twin beds, flat-screen satellite TV, bathrooms with spa tubs and signature Pure Herbs bath and body products. In the Executive room is also a whirlpool, free Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee. Suites come with separate living and bedroom quarters, two flat-screen satellite TVs and Wi-Fi complimentary.the Bilderberg Garden hotel will offer a complimentary minibar to all guests who book an Executive room or Suite.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

52.3515 4.874
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 8.9 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 52.8 km.
Area description
Hotel is located in small, intimate and atmospheric in the heart of Amsterdam.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oud-Zuid: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.6 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.6 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.6 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.6 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.7 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.7 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.7 mi
  • OT301: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.2 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.6 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.6 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.6 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.6 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.7 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.7 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.7 mi
  • OT301: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.8 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.8 mi
  • OCCII: 0.8 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.9 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.9 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 0.9 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.9 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 0.9 mi
  • World Trade Center: 0.9 mi
  • Pauw: 1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 1 mi
  • Melkweg: 1 mi
  • Public Library: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 1 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 1 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 1 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 1 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 1 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 1 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.1 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 1.1 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.1 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 1.1 mi
  • Metz & Co: 1.1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
For more than 20 years, "De Kersentuin" has been an established name in Amsterdam. A restaurant with a rich history where traditional dishes are served creatively. !! Due to the fact of a complete renovation, the Bilderberg Garden Hotel in Amsterdam will close their restaurant completely from June 28th until August 9th 2015. They will re-open the restaurant on Monday, August 10th 2015. A limited menu will be served during the time of the renovation on their completely renewed terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kakarvi
Business
Manchester
Apr 27, 2014

Old deco

Hotel overall decoration is old and in serious need of revam Our room air conditioner was not working and room was changed only reluctantly Safe box had to be fixed Overall poor experience in hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 23, 2009

Air Conditioning not real

The hotel is advertised as having air conditioning, however we discovered that's not entirely true. They have a system that cools down the air, but it only works to a certain degree and depends on the outside air temperature. We were never able to get our room cool enough for our taste, even after multiple calls to maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobChina
Business
London
Oct 7, 2010

Good and lovely location

The hotel is not exactly at the city centre but travelling by tram takes only about 10mins, and the location of the hotel is in an upmarket part of Amsterdam, quiet and peaceful. The staff are good and polite and eager to help with enquiries. The down side are 1)quiet small rooms 2)the bath tup is built high and you can trip and fall over when climbing out; this should be addressed before someone suffer an injury 3)there is no free flowing air in the bathroom and room 4)a 5* hotel?? 5)and last but not least the small kettle took about 10 mins to boil water! All in all a plesant stay and I would go back. Reccommended...... err yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the chips with tomato sauce at the city centre...where exactly, you will find it, a sign says "voted the best chips in Amsterdam". The food at McDonalds espc the apple pies and fillet of fish are more edible than the UK. If you like Chinese try the one called Wing Kee, where....you find that out yourself. Take a short tour to Volemdam and the Windmills, its worth it and by the way a young tour guide with curly hair by the name of [...] was brilliant. He spoke several European languages including Italian. Amsterdam, fantastic, laid back and cosmopoliton city, and by the way the Dutch are always polite when you ask them for directions.

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 21, 2013

Peaceful but a bit out of the way

Peaceful stay at a bargain price. Rooms are nice, comfy and clean. Area is nice and quiet, not too far from Vondelpark but far from central Amsterdam. I hated having to pay for wifi, especially since it didn't even work that well. And the air conditioning was awful. It made noises, but I don't think it actually cooled the room. I woke up sweating nearly every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jit96
Business
Dublin
Aug 29, 2013

Pleasant stay

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. We received a warm welcome from hotel staff and were able to check in even before 3pm. Our room was definitely clean and nice, facing to a street but it didn't make it noisy. It had promised bathrobes and slippers, toiletries etc.There were tea and coffee facilities but only 1 tea bag of cherry and black teas. I'd personally prefer green tea. We used tap water for making coffees but that had a very bad taste. Not sure whether it was the kettle or the water. Every evening we got some apples which was a pleasant surprise. We couldn't say the same about internet, their Wi-fi was not free. In a 5* hotel and especially nowadays you'd expect it to be included but there was quite a high charge for that. As for beds, these were really comfy. Receptionists were kind but were not able to provide sufficient information. For example when we asked how to get to a certain train station we were sent to take a train from Central Station, which was 20min away by tram even though Zuid one was just around the corner. We didn't order breakfast because it was really pricey for €22,-/pp or €17,- if bought in advance. In overall we were happy with our stay although there is quite a big room for improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 12, 2010

reasonable value, staff okay,

okay, nothing special rooms nice size for europe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tfrost
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Nov 29, 2009

OK hotel in horrible building

Not very good location and much more expensive than what is warranted

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Iberia
Dec 31, 2008

Great value for the money

The Bilderberg Garden Hotel was a great value for the money. However the price of breakfast is outrageous. If we would have eaten there we would have spent approximately $60.00 for the two of us to eat. The room was freezing. We think the heating system went out. However, we asked for a space heater and one was sent up promptly. That really helped with the cold. By the way, the outside temperature never got above freezing. The people at the front desk were not especially friendly; however they were businesslike. There are not phone books in the rooms. The location was great. It is in a quiet residental neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barone's is a wonderful restaurant that is withing walking distance. A really nice park is also within walking distance.

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 25, 2010

Bilderberg nice, definitely not 5 star

The Bilderberg Hotel is a nice hotel to stay in. It is located close the tram so that you can easily get to main attractions in Amsterdam. Now, my experience with hotels in Europe are that the quality is usually far less than other parts of the world (U.S. Asia) for the money, so I'm not quite sure how Bilderberg ranks with other hotels in Amsterdam. They advertise this place as a 5 star hotel and it is more like a 3 star. The bathrooms are nice, which is huge for me. The TV in the room was tiny and old (no flat screen as is common in most 5 star hotels). Room service was kind of a joke. The furnishings of the room are kind of drab. The room itself was rather small. That all said, this was the best deal I could find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martino and Triscia
Business
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Pomp and Circumstance

Quiet place in a posh residential neighborhood. When I arrived early, they still placed me in a room and provided lots of information about the city. Fresh apples waiting for you after the nightly turndown service was a great touch, as is the robe and comfy slippers they provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top