$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Leeuwendalersweg 21, Amsterdam, 1055 JE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweetgirl
Couples
UK
Sep 23, 2012

Awesome Euro-trip Finish.

After travelling through Europe for two months staying in various hostels, me and my partner decided that our last week would be one of comfort and luxury. This hotel is fabulous for its value, We had a room on the ninth floor with great views over Amsterdam. Pro's: The room was very clean, with all the complimentary items you would expect. The bed was clean, with fresh laundered linen. The en-suite was also spotless, with a plentiful supply of toilet roll and more than enough towels for two people. The hotel is situated away from the main town centre, but this is a great thing as it meant we could see the 'real' Amsterdam as we walked in each day or go the 21 bus which stopped just outside. Underneath the hotel is a upermarket and in the mornings there was a market on occcasion, whihc is nice to walk though. The hotel seemed very cheap for what was on offer, made even better by the deal with e-bookers. Cons: When we arrived breakfast was at an additional cost instead of being included, but was only for 14 or so euros per person. However we didn't make use of this. Overall, we had a great stay and a great time in Amsterdam, I would definately recommend staying in this hotel. Shame we couldn't have spent longer there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to Amsterdam for the space cake, you should check out the Hill Street Blues cafe, they had the best and most authentic selection.

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sefy
Single
Israel
Nov 26, 2012

Excellent Location and Cost!

Hotel is located approximately 45 to 50 min walk from Amsterdam Center, i used this to walk around instead of using the public transport. The Staff was very friendly and caring and tried to help in anything they could and accommodate special needs of a guest. Only downside i found, was the lack of breakfast which was also rather expensive, considering that just a walk outside could get you very satisfying breakfast for a third of the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's about a 50 min walk to the city, if you do power walk then you can probably do it around 40 min or less. There are a lot of food places around, so avoid eating in the hotel. Not that hotel food is bad, it's just typical and rather expensive in my opinion.

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sofoda
Friends
Sofoda
Dec 10, 2012

Great choice!!

Everything was excellent, not to mention the price! ~£50 a night for a triple room, so we all only paid out ~£70 for the entire 4 night stay! Room, bathroom and bed were all brilliantly clean - the only negative we did note however was that the maids were a bit sparse in their cleaning (it only seems that the beds were made daily, and the tea/coffee's were replenished once during the stay, but not much else was seen!). The reception staff were friendly and helpful, as was the in-house bar man. Also, whilst not located directly in the centre of the city, a 1minute walk and a 10/15 minute tram/bus ride took you to the very heart of the city, so it wasn't a problem whatsoever! Would definitely return here, especially for the same price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to the main city train station and buy a 1/2/3 day travel pass for unlimited tram/bus travel around the city - we saved about €20 a day just by purchasing a one off payment €16 3 day travel pass!

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew is a bum
Friends
scotland
Dec 18, 2012

excellent hotel!! downside is location

Hotel was great for price. Hotel staff were very helpful with giving directions and even telling us about takeaway places. Room was spacious and bed was very soft. only downside was the distance. the distance is ok if you know which transport to take. its around 35 euro in taxi to central Amsterdam station. and is you get the 21 bus this take you directly outside central amsterdam station aswell and this is only 2.70 euro for a single adult. overall if you can handle getting public transport over there then this hotel is soo worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young fun traveler
Friends
London
Dec 25, 2012

Great Value - Wont find more for your money

Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff, very happy with my stay. 30 second walk to tram and bus stop that takes you into the centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
antonoi
Couples
co cork ireland
Jan 28, 2013

great holiday

brilliant very cold had to get another blanket but then again it was --7 DEGREES the only disapointment we had was we were sure the breakfast was included in our booking but on leaving it was 14 50 per person for breakfast overall it was grand except no bar there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the fle markets were very good and cheap and you could bargain with them

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zena
Friends
Hampton, Greater London
Mar 10, 2013

Blue Tower Hotel, Amsterdam

The hotel was really excellent, with great breakfasts & very helpful staff. The only problem, as others have found, is that it is quite a way out of the centre of Amsterdam. There was a tram very near which took you to Dam Square, took about 20 mins., but this was not so good to have to come all the way back if eating out in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G. R.
Couples
Fort Myers Florida
May 25, 2013

Great value

We were very happy with our choice of hotel.Without exception the staff was A-1,very friendly and always helpful.Very clean.Location is a away from center of city,but there is great public transportation.Around the corner next to KFC take Tram #14 to DAM SQUARE (central tourist location)=10+min.or # 21 bus =15min to central station.Tickets available on the tram up to 48 hrs unlimited use on the bus only up to 24 hrs. We can highly recommend this hotel G.R. Fort Myers Florida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Good for the price

The Blue Tower Hotel in Amsterdam is a good deal for the price paid. The area is a bit sketchy and a little outside of the city but overall decent. The beds were super comfy and the rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an Asian Market right beside of the hotel.

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy
Friends
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Solo trip

I had to book a hotel last minute while getting into Amsterdam. This hotel was my only option. I had stayed here in the past. The room I had could use some new paint as the walls were starting to chip. The carpet is old. Staff were helpful with information. I took bus 21 to get to/from Amsterdam Central. Overall it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
UK
Jan 4, 2010

Brilliant Hotel

Great,clean,well equipped hotel just a short tram or bus journey from the centre of Amsterdam. Ideal for those who don't mind retiring from the party scene at a reasonable hour ( last tram is half 12 though there are later buses). Good value for money, would definately book again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top