$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, Amsterdam, 1012 RD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
55 reviews
Location, location, location!

Great hotel for exploring all amsterdam has to offer. Close to everything (within 5 mins of dam... See full review

  • samnufc
  • Dec 9, 2014
Complimentary breakfast, Upgraded room, Good Staff

Stayed one night. Staff was great, room was average, breakfast was better than usual. Only issues... See full review

  • McDonaldMouth
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy cozy comforts and premier Amsterdam attractions at your doorstep

Comprised of nine historic buildings (the oldest dating from the 17th century), the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam offers guests an authentic taste of Dutch architectural heritage.  The hotel's central locale makes it an ideal home base for exploring the magnificent cultural, dining and shopping attractions in Amsterdam's historic heart. Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and major museums are minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Wi-Fi, chic guest rooms and an excellent in-house café make the Avenue Hotel a cozy, comfortable stay for all.

Highlights
  • Historic and ultra-convenient location
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms and public areas
  • Excellent on-site café
Rooms

The Avenue Hotel presents a line-up of 80 modern, comfortable rooms in sizes tailored to suit single travelers as well as groups and families. Because the hotel comprises multiple historic buildings, guests will find that no two rooms are identical. Each room has its own unique layout and design, with cozy bedding, private and fully-equipped bathrooms, satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi access.

Features

Situated near the bustling heart of Amsterdam, the cozy Avenue Hotel is a comfortable, low-key respite from the vibrant and exciting attractions of the city that sit just outside the hotel doors. The Anne Frank House and Dam Square are only minutes away while the nearby Magna Plaza and Kalverstraat offer abundant shopping opportunities.

 

Apart from the knowledgeable 24-hour front-desk staff and satisfying daily breakfast, guests can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi. For appetizing comfort food and delicious drinks, take a seat at the in-house St. Jacob Street Café.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions


  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  •   Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenue Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
Single, Double/Twin, Triple or Quad with cable/ satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, Internet access, pay TV and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.5 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Is included in the room rate.
St. Jacobsstreet Cafe
Tired of a long day in Amsterdam? Or ready for its festive nightlife? In both cases St. Jacobsstreet caf, named after the Jacobsstraat, would be the ideal stop. Avenue Hotel offers her guests the possibility to have a break at St. Jacobsstreet caf, which overlooks the elegant lobby of Avenue Hotel. The caf has a neat design but is an intimate place where you can have a drink or a snack. Here you can order a cocktail after a busy day. Be served by one of the twin sisters who take care of the service in St. Jacobsstreet caf. St. Jacobsstreet caf is the ideal place to meet if you are planning to visit Amsterdam during the night time. Here you can wait for other hotel guests you have an appointment with. Do you not plan to see Amsterdam at night, and do you not wish to stay in your room either? You can have a nice evening and meet other people at St. Jacobsstreet caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brucey72
Business
Newcastle, Uk
Oct 1, 2014

Nice hotel, great location

4 of us shared the split level maisonette room which was clean and tidy with comfortable beds which was just what we needed after exploring all the sights of Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and friendly and check in/out was quick. Location is ideal as it's a 5 min walk from the station and although we walked to all the main sights the tram stop is straight across the road. Breakfast was really good value with a buffet choice of English and/or continental. I have stayed in Amsterdam 4 other times and for the price I paid it was by far the best value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a street just off the Leidesplein, about a 25 min walk from the hotel which is full of restaurants all competing for business between 5-7. We managed to get pizza and a pint for €10 which is great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Synergy
Business
Birmingham, uk
Dec 17, 2013

Work's party

Just stayed for the one night but it was perfect. Great location, spacious rooms even with 3 and 4 people in them. the hairdryer didn't work in the one room but that was the only thing really!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rule23
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 30, 2013

Small room, great location

Very smooth experience staying in this hotel. It's a short walk from the Amsterdam Central station, which was great to get settled in quickly after arduous travel. The room was small and the shower was not fully enclosed, which led to some splashing on the sink area. Nevertheless, the water pressure in the shower was good and the beds were extremely comfortable. Great for recovering from a full day of walking, and all the great sites of Amsterdam were easily reachable from this location. Breakfast was included during our stay which was simple meats, rolls, toast, fruits, coffee, tea, and juice, which was definitely great for starting the day right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We considered taking the canal bus tour as a hop on hop off way to get around Amsterdam, but the high cost for the ticket and timing between arrivals of the boat were not in our favor. We opted to walk instead and although longer it was good exercise and we had ample time to hit all the sites we wanted to visit on our list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seablue
Business
London
Dec 27, 2012

City break

Excellent location but very very uncomfortable bed! Matress had a dent and ended up with a backache!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kapdaddy
Business
wilton, ct
May 21, 2012

not fancy but it got the job done

The room was small but clean. The bathroom was new and well maintained. The staff was very helpful. There was an internet problem in the area when we were there and the staff allowed me to use the hotel phone to call home and let everyone know we arrived safely. It doesn't get any better for location . All said, it was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street were an argentinian steak house, a chinese restaurant and a mexican place. They were all extrordinary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WarrenNI
Business
Belfast, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Perfect location

Perfect location, very close to the train station. Be wary of the local shops if needing to pick up any essentials... 6 euro for a toothbrush! :|

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mm4080
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 30, 2011

Pleasant stay over a weekend

My friend and I had a pleasant stay at the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam over a weekend in November. It was our first visit and we had no knowledge of the Dutch language, unfortunately, but the staff was very friendly and English-speaking, and very helpful when we asked what we could do in the city or asked to book a cab for us on our way back to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable though we occasionally noticed from the smell that our neighbors were smoking. We were also grateful for the free Wifi internet access. The city is small and easy to move about to start with, but the hotel location definitely helped us explore with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Jan 22, 2011

Overnight trip

Great location,close to train station we were able to walk with suitcases.Beds were very comfortable very quiet.Took a few mins to figure out the shower rain forest one.Breakfast was really good had eggs bacon sausage and beans cold cuts 3 kinds of juice tea coffee and much more loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2010

hotel was centrally located and clean

Amsterdam is a wonderful walking city with many cultural things to do. The hotel's location was conducive to walking around the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 10, 2010

Excellent Hotel - All around great!

I enjoyed staying at the Avenue Hotel. I am very concerned about safety, cleanliness, location and, of course, value. This hotel is located only minutes from Central Station and on a Tram Line - which operates till midnight. It is five minute walk to Dam Square and 15 minute walk to the Anne Frank Museum. I bought a card for 19 Euros which gives 96 hours of free public transport all over the city. It can also be purchased for 24, 48 or 72 hours. If you plan to see a lot of museums, I suggest the I AMSTERDAM card which gives you free transport and free admission to almost all museums (not the Anne Frank House however). It is a great value and the best way to get around. Forget the bikes - it can be very dangerous. I took a canal ride first to get oriented and it was well worth the price (12 euros) and can be picked up across from central station. Remember that you need to take a number FIRST at the information services bldg. then wait for your number to appear on the board. I bought a SIM card but it only called the Netherlands and could not call the US so be sure to get an INTERNATIONAL one! Have a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel features FREE WiFi and a wonderful breakfast included every morning. We had a great trip and I would definitely stay at the Avenue Hotel again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top