$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, Amsterdam, 1012 RD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
55 reviews
Location, location, location!

Great hotel for exploring all amsterdam has to offer. Close to everything (within 5 mins of dam... See full review

  • samnufc
  • Dec 9, 2014
Complimentary breakfast, Upgraded room, Good Staff

Stayed one night. Staff was great, room was average, breakfast was better than usual. Only issues... See full review

  • McDonaldMouth
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy cozy comforts and premier Amsterdam attractions at your doorstep

Comprised of nine historic buildings (the oldest dating from the 17th century), the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam offers guests an authentic taste of Dutch architectural heritage.  The hotel's central locale makes it an ideal home base for exploring the magnificent cultural, dining and shopping attractions in Amsterdam's historic heart. Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and major museums are minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Wi-Fi, chic guest rooms and an excellent in-house café make the Avenue Hotel a cozy, comfortable stay for all.

Highlights
  • Historic and ultra-convenient location
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms and public areas
  • Excellent on-site café
Rooms

The Avenue Hotel presents a line-up of 80 modern, comfortable rooms in sizes tailored to suit single travelers as well as groups and families. Because the hotel comprises multiple historic buildings, guests will find that no two rooms are identical. Each room has its own unique layout and design, with cozy bedding, private and fully-equipped bathrooms, satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi access.

Features

Situated near the bustling heart of Amsterdam, the cozy Avenue Hotel is a comfortable, low-key respite from the vibrant and exciting attractions of the city that sit just outside the hotel doors. The Anne Frank House and Dam Square are only minutes away while the nearby Magna Plaza and Kalverstraat offer abundant shopping opportunities.

 

Apart from the knowledgeable 24-hour front-desk staff and satisfying daily breakfast, guests can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi. For appetizing comfort food and delicious drinks, take a seat at the in-house St. Jacob Street Café.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions


  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  •   Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenue Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
Single, Double/Twin, Triple or Quad with cable/ satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, Internet access, pay TV and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.5 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Is included in the room rate.
St. Jacobsstreet Cafe
Tired of a long day in Amsterdam? Or ready for its festive nightlife? In both cases St. Jacobsstreet caf, named after the Jacobsstraat, would be the ideal stop. Avenue Hotel offers her guests the possibility to have a break at St. Jacobsstreet caf, which overlooks the elegant lobby of Avenue Hotel. The caf has a neat design but is an intimate place where you can have a drink or a snack. Here you can order a cocktail after a busy day. Be served by one of the twin sisters who take care of the service in St. Jacobsstreet caf. St. Jacobsstreet caf is the ideal place to meet if you are planning to visit Amsterdam during the night time. Here you can wait for other hotel guests you have an appointment with. Do you not plan to see Amsterdam at night, and do you not wish to stay in your room either? You can have a nice evening and meet other people at St. Jacobsstreet caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mentat
Business
Toronto Ontario
Feb 20, 2011

Excellent choice

No frills - kinda dirty, but amazing location a 5 minute walk from Central Station. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Overall worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont bother with the transit system. Everywhere in the city core is a 15 minute walk away. 20 tops. no kidding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kapdaddy
Business
wilton, ct
May 21, 2012

not fancy but it got the job done

The room was small but clean. The bathroom was new and well maintained. The staff was very helpful. There was an internet problem in the area when we were there and the staff allowed me to use the hotel phone to call home and let everyone know we arrived safely. It doesn't get any better for location . All said, it was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street were an argentinian steak house, a chinese restaurant and a mexican place. They were all extrordinary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 10, 2010

Excellent Hotel - All around great!

I enjoyed staying at the Avenue Hotel. I am very concerned about safety, cleanliness, location and, of course, value. This hotel is located only minutes from Central Station and on a Tram Line - which operates till midnight. It is five minute walk to Dam Square and 15 minute walk to the Anne Frank Museum. I bought a card for 19 Euros which gives 96 hours of free public transport all over the city. It can also be purchased for 24, 48 or 72 hours. If you plan to see a lot of museums, I suggest the I AMSTERDAM card which gives you free transport and free admission to almost all museums (not the Anne Frank House however). It is a great value and the best way to get around. Forget the bikes - it can be very dangerous. I took a canal ride first to get oriented and it was well worth the price (12 euros) and can be picked up across from central station. Remember that you need to take a number FIRST at the information services bldg. then wait for your number to appear on the board. I bought a SIM card but it only called the Netherlands and could not call the US so be sure to get an INTERNATIONAL one! Have a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel features FREE WiFi and a wonderful breakfast included every morning. We had a great trip and I would definitely stay at the Avenue Hotel again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddavis
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 14, 2010

Small but clean rooms

Check in was very easy. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with suggstions of things to do. Room was small but clean. Breakfast was filling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davatron
Business
Wolverhampton
Aug 25, 2010

Excellent for price, location comfort.

This hotel is ideal all round. It is within easy walking distance of Central Station and most of the sights of Amsterdam. Trams and buses stop nearby. Our room was spacious and clean, staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. There are plenty of places nearby to eat in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a first rate Indian restaurant, the Motimahal, opposite the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohdave
Business
Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK
Nov 27, 2011

Brilliant Location

The hotel was in the center of town. Very convenient to the shopping, sights and more. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down point to the hotel was there was no iron or ironing facilities in the room. And there was only small wall lighting in the bedroom which made it pretty dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a little bit out of the main shopping area to get good bargains. Especially food as it is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mm4080
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 30, 2011

Pleasant stay over a weekend

My friend and I had a pleasant stay at the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam over a weekend in November. It was our first visit and we had no knowledge of the Dutch language, unfortunately, but the staff was very friendly and English-speaking, and very helpful when we asked what we could do in the city or asked to book a cab for us on our way back to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable though we occasionally noticed from the smell that our neighbors were smoking. We were also grateful for the free Wifi internet access. The city is small and easy to move about to start with, but the hotel location definitely helped us explore with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OBoOgiE
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 16, 2011

Happy Stay

I booked my first trip to Amsterdam and decided to stay at the Avenue hotel. I got there at 6 am and I wasn't able to check into my room so I had to pay $50 euro for another room and check into my room at 2 pm. I wasn't that happy about that but the free continental breakfast made up for it. The hotel is conviniently located in the middle of the city. You are within walking distance of a lot of museums, red light district, barney's coffee shop. If not you have the tram right across the street that you can take anywhere in the city. The phone in my room didn't work and I told the receptionist in the lobby and she looked lost and didn't know what to do about that. Other than that everything else was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to visit Sama Sebo its an Indonisian Restaurant and everything is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZARGE
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Location,location ,location!

The location was just perfect for I came in via train from Paris. Breakfast was great and very filling lots of choices too. I had a great time wandering around the vicinity w/c was the center of Amsterdam. Rooms was just very small for my liking but otherwise clean and sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is soooo centrally located, it was just a block from the train station, that is so convenient to go to any place you would like. If ever you decide to take a hop on hop off bus or the boat or just get your self lost in the city it is a great place to get to and back from where ever....Enjoyed it a lot hope you would too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle George
Business
Tulsa Okla
Mar 14, 2012

My get away

Location was perfect for me a short walk from central station and in the middle of the centrum. Clean hotel with good staff and also a very good breakfast. Would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top