$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, Amsterdam, 1012 RD

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohdave
Business
Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK
Nov 27, 2011

Brilliant Location

The hotel was in the center of town. Very convenient to the shopping, sights and more. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down point to the hotel was there was no iron or ironing facilities in the room. And there was only small wall lighting in the bedroom which made it pretty dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a little bit out of the main shopping area to get good bargains. Especially food as it is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SU Z Q
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Average, but quiet and safe

The hotel is only a few minutes away from the train station and near the tram line. The breakfast was really good, the best bread, eggs, meat, cereals, etc. It was enough food to last until dinner. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful. One day I was given a towel and it was almost completely shredded in the middle, ha! I had one tiny bar of soap for the entire week.. It was an adventure, but if I am in Amsterdam I might stay there again. They covered the important things like being quiet, safe, and at a good location. Why not!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rijksmuseum is a must. You just can't go to Amsterdam and not see the works of the masters. If you don't feel amazed by them, you have no blood in your veins. They have done a wonderful job on refurbishing this museum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent AMS Traveller
Business
Winterthur, Switzerland
Aug 28, 2011

Good location, that's about it.

I picked this hotel because it had a good location and was fairly highly rated (in it's star class) by other Orbitz customers. I strongly disagree. I expected a lot more than just the location. Sadly, that's all it seemed to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In De Wildeman. Awesome beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el Beast
Business
Auburn, AL
Aug 22, 2011

Great location, great experience.

This hotel has a fantastic location and if you can get a good price on the room, it is definitely worth it. You don't stay here for amenities...get out and see the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 2, 2011

Great location, great stay

The Avenue is very close to Central Station and perfectly located for everything! I walked every where and felt very safe, even at 1 am. The breakfast bar is amazing--great food and plenty of it, so if you come late, you are still able to enjoy. The hotel and room itself were very neat and clean. The staff was super nice and answered any questions re the whereabouts of attractions. A great place to stay and I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 12, 2011

good hotel, good loco

good location, 5 min walk to central train station and evrything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi-Town
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 28, 2011

Nice location, but.......

The location was the best feature for sure. The staff is not very friendly or helpful -- almost like every question was met with a grimace. The beds and pillows were bad too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Central Station was a quick walk and the canal trip was there too. Both save a lot of money in getting to and from different areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bxl
Business
Brussels
Feb 27, 2011

Just fine

Great location, pleasant and helpful staff, good breakfast, surprisingly quiet, fine room although a persistent smell of smoke or perhaps some weird cleaning agent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mentat
Business
Toronto Ontario
Feb 20, 2011

Excellent choice

No frills - kinda dirty, but amazing location a 5 minute walk from Central Station. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Overall worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont bother with the transit system. Everywhere in the city core is a 15 minute walk away. 20 tops. no kidding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Feb 17, 2011

Good hotel, great location, bad room

1. Good hotel...clean and well lite lobby, warm and welcoming environment, fantastic buffet breakfast. 2. Great location...3 minutes walk from the center of city...close to restaurants and sites. 3. Room...very small, beaten down, stained, old, dirty and nothing like the pictures on the website. I'm not sure if my room (Room# 104) was an aberration or the norm...but it was terrible. I would walk around the room in bare feet because the various stains on the floor carpet. I would put my shoes on - even in the middle of the night to use the bathroom - when I was moving around in the room. I will still give this hotel another chance...hoping that I just had some bad luck with their worst room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sharwma and Kebab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top