$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, Amsterdam, 1012 RD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
53 reviews
Complimentary breakfast, Upgraded room, Good Staff

Stayed one night. Staff was great, room was average, breakfast was better than usual. Only issues... See full review

  • McDonaldMouth
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel, great location

4 of us shared the split level maisonette room which was clean and tidy with comfortable beds which... See full review

  • brucey72
  • Oct 1, 2014
Enjoy cozy comforts and premier Amsterdam attractions at your doorstep

Comprised of nine historic buildings (the oldest dating from the 17th century), the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam offers guests an authentic taste of Dutch architectural heritage.  The hotel's central locale makes it an ideal home base for exploring the magnificent cultural, dining and shopping attractions in Amsterdam's historic heart. Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and major museums are minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Wi-Fi, chic guest rooms and an excellent in-house café make the Avenue Hotel a cozy, comfortable stay for all.

Highlights
  • Historic and ultra-convenient location
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms and public areas
  • Excellent on-site café
Rooms

The Avenue Hotel presents a line-up of 80 modern, comfortable rooms in sizes tailored to suit single travelers as well as groups and families. Because the hotel comprises multiple historic buildings, guests will find that no two rooms are identical. Each room has its own unique layout and design, with cozy bedding, private and fully-equipped bathrooms, satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi access.

Features

Situated near the bustling heart of Amsterdam, the cozy Avenue Hotel is a comfortable, low-key respite from the vibrant and exciting attractions of the city that sit just outside the hotel doors. The Anne Frank House and Dam Square are only minutes away while the nearby Magna Plaza and Kalverstraat offer abundant shopping opportunities.

 

Apart from the knowledgeable 24-hour front-desk staff and satisfying daily breakfast, guests can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi. For appetizing comfort food and delicious drinks, take a seat at the in-house St. Jacob Street Café.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions


  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  •   Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenue Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
Single, Double/Twin, Triple or Quad with cable/ satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, Internet access, pay TV and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.5 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Is included in the room rate.
St. Jacobsstreet Cafe
Tired of a long day in Amsterdam? Or ready for its festive nightlife? In both cases St. Jacobsstreet caf, named after the Jacobsstraat, would be the ideal stop. Avenue Hotel offers her guests the possibility to have a break at St. Jacobsstreet caf, which overlooks the elegant lobby of Avenue Hotel. The caf has a neat design but is an intimate place where you can have a drink or a snack. Here you can order a cocktail after a busy day. Be served by one of the twin sisters who take care of the service in St. Jacobsstreet caf. St. Jacobsstreet caf is the ideal place to meet if you are planning to visit Amsterdam during the night time. Here you can wait for other hotel guests you have an appointment with. Do you not plan to see Amsterdam at night, and do you not wish to stay in your room either? You can have a nice evening and meet other people at St. Jacobsstreet caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mentat
Business
Toronto Ontario
Feb 20, 2011

Excellent choice

No frills - kinda dirty, but amazing location a 5 minute walk from Central Station. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Overall worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont bother with the transit system. Everywhere in the city core is a 15 minute walk away. 20 tops. no kidding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Feb 17, 2011

Good hotel, great location, bad room

1. Good hotel...clean and well lite lobby, warm and welcoming environment, fantastic buffet breakfast. 2. Great location...3 minutes walk from the center of city...close to restaurants and sites. 3. Room...very small, beaten down, stained, old, dirty and nothing like the pictures on the website. I'm not sure if my room (Room# 104) was an aberration or the norm...but it was terrible. I would walk around the room in bare feet because the various stains on the floor carpet. I would put my shoes on - even in the middle of the night to use the bathroom - when I was moving around in the room. I will still give this hotel another chance...hoping that I just had some bad luck with their worst room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sharwma and Kebab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Jan 22, 2011

Overnight trip

Great location,close to train station we were able to walk with suitcases.Beds were very comfortable very quiet.Took a few mins to figure out the shower rain forest one.Breakfast was really good had eggs bacon sausage and beans cold cuts 3 kinds of juice tea coffee and much more loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single Older Female
Business
Los Altos, CA
Dec 22, 2010

Good Value and Centrally Located

This is a modest hotel but clean and comfortable. It is very centrally located to points of interest and transportation. There is a tram stop a few feet away and it is a 5-minute walk from the Central Train Station. There is free Wi-Fi and a very generous breakfast included in the price. There are restaurants and shopping nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend taking a canal cruise to acquaint yourself with the architecture and many points of interest and some history. It is a short walk to the Anne Frank Museum, the Dam Square, and the Old and the New Church. Don't miss the Van

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 2, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Our staying was enjoyable. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city. Therefore, we did not have any problem to go around. Mostly, we joined the sightseeing tours for three days. The convenience was excellent: walking, eating, public transportation.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Oct 24, 2010

Location, breakfast included.

The Avenue Hotel was perfect for our 5-day vacation needs in Amsterdam. We traveled with our adult daughter, the triple room was more than spacious and comfortable...3 twin beds, a table and chairs, large bathroom with double sinks (!)a tub and a shower. The included breakfasts were generous and good. We arrived at 7AM and the hotel allowed us to relax and enjoy breakfast and store our bags before we took off for our first day of sights. Easy walk from Central Station (train), on the tram line, and our room was on the tram side but we were not bothered by noise at all. Easy walk to all museums, shopping, and the city in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Yellow Bike Rental: took a 4-hour guided bike tour across the IJ river through the countryside. Learned and saw a different aspect of the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wakefield, RI
Oct 16, 2010

Great location, decent lodging

We were more than satisfied with our stay at this hotel: its location close to the train station and streetcar lines enabled us to visit many museums and sights during our 48 hours in Amsterdam. Our sixth-floor room was quieter than we had expected. Its décor, though not up-to-date, was comfortably furnished. The complementary breakfast buffet was excellent in terms of both choice and quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davatron
Business
Wolverhampton
Aug 25, 2010

Excellent for price, location comfort.

This hotel is ideal all round. It is within easy walking distance of Central Station and most of the sights of Amsterdam. Trams and buses stop nearby. Our room was spacious and clean, staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. There are plenty of places nearby to eat in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a first rate Indian restaurant, the Motimahal, opposite the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2010

hotel was centrally located and clean

Amsterdam is a wonderful walking city with many cultural things to do. The hotel's location was conducive to walking around the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 10, 2010

Excellent Hotel - All around great!

I enjoyed staying at the Avenue Hotel. I am very concerned about safety, cleanliness, location and, of course, value. This hotel is located only minutes from Central Station and on a Tram Line - which operates till midnight. It is five minute walk to Dam Square and 15 minute walk to the Anne Frank Museum. I bought a card for 19 Euros which gives 96 hours of free public transport all over the city. It can also be purchased for 24, 48 or 72 hours. If you plan to see a lot of museums, I suggest the I AMSTERDAM card which gives you free transport and free admission to almost all museums (not the Anne Frank House however). It is a great value and the best way to get around. Forget the bikes - it can be very dangerous. I took a canal ride first to get oriented and it was well worth the price (12 euros) and can be picked up across from central station. Remember that you need to take a number FIRST at the information services bldg. then wait for your number to appear on the board. I bought a SIM card but it only called the Netherlands and could not call the US so be sure to get an INTERNATIONAL one! Have a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel features FREE WiFi and a wonderful breakfast included every morning. We had a great trip and I would definitely stay at the Avenue Hotel again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top