$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, Amsterdam, 1012 RD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
54 reviews
Location, location, location!

Great hotel for exploring all amsterdam has to offer. Close to everything (within 5 mins of dam... See full review

  • samnufc
  • Dec 9, 2014
Complimentary breakfast, Upgraded room, Good Staff

Stayed one night. Staff was great, room was average, breakfast was better than usual. Only issues... See full review

  • McDonaldMouth
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy cozy comforts and premier Amsterdam attractions at your doorstep

Comprised of nine historic buildings (the oldest dating from the 17th century), the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam offers guests an authentic taste of Dutch architectural heritage.  The hotel's central locale makes it an ideal home base for exploring the magnificent cultural, dining and shopping attractions in Amsterdam's historic heart. Dam Square, the Anne Frank House and major museums are minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Wi-Fi, chic guest rooms and an excellent in-house café make the Avenue Hotel a cozy, comfortable stay for all.

Highlights
  • Historic and ultra-convenient location
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms and public areas
  • Excellent on-site café
Rooms

The Avenue Hotel presents a line-up of 80 modern, comfortable rooms in sizes tailored to suit single travelers as well as groups and families. Because the hotel comprises multiple historic buildings, guests will find that no two rooms are identical. Each room has its own unique layout and design, with cozy bedding, private and fully-equipped bathrooms, satellite TV and complimentary Wi-Fi access.

Features

Situated near the bustling heart of Amsterdam, the cozy Avenue Hotel is a comfortable, low-key respite from the vibrant and exciting attractions of the city that sit just outside the hotel doors. The Anne Frank House and Dam Square are only minutes away while the nearby Magna Plaza and Kalverstraat offer abundant shopping opportunities.

 

Apart from the knowledgeable 24-hour front-desk staff and satisfying daily breakfast, guests can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi. For appetizing comfort food and delicious drinks, take a seat at the in-house St. Jacob Street Café.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions


  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt)  (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  •   Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenue Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Avenue Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
Single, Double/Twin, Triple or Quad with cable/ satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, Internet access, pay TV and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.5 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Is included in the room rate.
St. Jacobsstreet Cafe
Tired of a long day in Amsterdam? Or ready for its festive nightlife? In both cases St. Jacobsstreet caf, named after the Jacobsstraat, would be the ideal stop. Avenue Hotel offers her guests the possibility to have a break at St. Jacobsstreet caf, which overlooks the elegant lobby of Avenue Hotel. The caf has a neat design but is an intimate place where you can have a drink or a snack. Here you can order a cocktail after a busy day. Be served by one of the twin sisters who take care of the service in St. Jacobsstreet caf. St. Jacobsstreet caf is the ideal place to meet if you are planning to visit Amsterdam during the night time. Here you can wait for other hotel guests you have an appointment with. Do you not plan to see Amsterdam at night, and do you not wish to stay in your room either? You can have a nice evening and meet other people at St. Jacobsstreet caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronnie and Terry
Business
Pawcatuck, CT, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Nice, but nothing too special

We had asked for a Queen or double bed. When we arrived we were told that we had been "upgraded" to a bigger room. We had 2 twin beds shoved together, which was not comfortable at all. We did not complain, maybe we should have. The room was small, with wood beams in the ceilings. Nice atmosphere, not too noisy with the trams outside, but Trams are convenient to get about town. Bathroom was nice. and clean. The breakfast buffet was good. Nice variety, plenty of food. Made the hotel a good value, considering food prices there. Central Station very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are grocery stores nearby. Buy snacks rather than eat out all the time. Walk the "pedestrian malls" streets. nice stores. Buy an all day pass on the trams and travel around to see the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OBoOgiE
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 16, 2011

Happy Stay

I booked my first trip to Amsterdam and decided to stay at the Avenue hotel. I got there at 6 am and I wasn't able to check into my room so I had to pay $50 euro for another room and check into my room at 2 pm. I wasn't that happy about that but the free continental breakfast made up for it. The hotel is conviniently located in the middle of the city. You are within walking distance of a lot of museums, red light district, barney's coffee shop. If not you have the tram right across the street that you can take anywhere in the city. The phone in my room didn't work and I told the receptionist in the lobby and she looked lost and didn't know what to do about that. Other than that everything else was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to visit Sama Sebo its an Indonisian Restaurant and everything is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mm4080
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 30, 2011

Pleasant stay over a weekend

My friend and I had a pleasant stay at the Avenue Hotel Amsterdam over a weekend in November. It was our first visit and we had no knowledge of the Dutch language, unfortunately, but the staff was very friendly and English-speaking, and very helpful when we asked what we could do in the city or asked to book a cab for us on our way back to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable though we occasionally noticed from the smell that our neighbors were smoking. We were also grateful for the free Wifi internet access. The city is small and easy to move about to start with, but the hotel location definitely helped us explore with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerFromHEL
Business
Helsinki
Nov 29, 2011

Okay hotel with excellent location

The single room was very small but the bathroom was modern and clean. The bed was too soft. Location is excellent, breakfast (included) was basic and crowded. I would stay at this hotel in future as well, since the price/comfort ratio was quite all right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The tram, with a stop just outside the hotel, will take you anywhere and don't worry about tickets - just board the tram and buy a suitable ticket from the multilingual conductor on board. They're there to help you and they will!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohdave
Business
Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK
Nov 27, 2011

Brilliant Location

The hotel was in the center of town. Very convenient to the shopping, sights and more. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down point to the hotel was there was no iron or ironing facilities in the room. And there was only small wall lighting in the bedroom which made it pretty dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a little bit out of the main shopping area to get good bargains. Especially food as it is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SU Z Q
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Average, but quiet and safe

The hotel is only a few minutes away from the train station and near the tram line. The breakfast was really good, the best bread, eggs, meat, cereals, etc. It was enough food to last until dinner. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful. One day I was given a towel and it was almost completely shredded in the middle, ha! I had one tiny bar of soap for the entire week.. It was an adventure, but if I am in Amsterdam I might stay there again. They covered the important things like being quiet, safe, and at a good location. Why not!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rijksmuseum is a must. You just can't go to Amsterdam and not see the works of the masters. If you don't feel amazed by them, you have no blood in your veins. They have done a wonderful job on refurbishing this museum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent AMS Traveller
Business
Winterthur, Switzerland
Aug 28, 2011

Good location, that's about it.

I picked this hotel because it had a good location and was fairly highly rated (in it's star class) by other Orbitz customers. I strongly disagree. I expected a lot more than just the location. Sadly, that's all it seemed to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In De Wildeman. Awesome beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el Beast
Business
Auburn, AL
Aug 22, 2011

Great location, great experience.

This hotel has a fantastic location and if you can get a good price on the room, it is definitely worth it. You don't stay here for amenities...get out and see the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 2, 2011

Great location, great stay

The Avenue is very close to Central Station and perfectly located for everything! I walked every where and felt very safe, even at 1 am. The breakfast bar is amazing--great food and plenty of it, so if you come late, you are still able to enjoy. The hotel and room itself were very neat and clean. The staff was super nice and answered any questions re the whereabouts of attractions. A great place to stay and I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 12, 2011

good hotel, good loco

good location, 5 min walk to central train station and evrything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top