$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

2 stars
View map of Koninginneweg 93, Amsterdam, 1075CJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Capricorn Eleven
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 4, 2010

It's OK

The Location was great. Very close to the #2 tram line and beautiful Vondel Park. The hotel was fair, but I highly recommend that the lodger reads and understands the House Rules thoroughly and ask questions in order to avoid nasty surprises. The hotel room also has mold issues that should be addressed. Overall the hotel and the staff were not bad, but not anything to write home about. For a budget hotel, I wouldn't discourage people from staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If one intends to ride Amsterdam's public transport, a GVB chip card is required. That can be purchased at the GVB office near the train station. The more days you put on the GVB card, the better the deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cronemom
Business
La Crosse
Aug 10, 2009

Spectacular

This was an excellent spot in Amsterdam - in a quiet neighborhood, yet right on the #2 tram line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Van Gogh museum is in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2009

A Rude Stay

When we arrived to check in we were greeted very rudely by the woman working the front desk. In my years of traveling, I have never met a more unfriendly person in the service industry. However besides the the rude woman at the front desk, the hotel is very quite and small. The location is far from the center of town but close to the museum district. I have stayed in Amsterdam three different times, and this was the worst accommodation of them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 8, 2009

A great, affordable option

Hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, nice area for walking in the evenings and right on the tram line. Our room was a "typical" European style, in a converted home with three twin beds, compact bathroom, small TV with a variety of channels. Free internet access was a real plus. We were surprised that our room did not include breakfast, as we thought we had booked a room with breakfast - but we were able to add breakfast when we needed it. Mostly quiet room, backing up to a garden/courtyard. Not a fancy place, but more than servicable for our family's needs. We would recommend it and would stay there again ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on how long you're staying, purchase a day pass (can be bought in 24, 48, 72, or 96 hour increments) for the tram and bus service in the city. We got around everywhere with ease, and tram 2 stops at Valeriusplein, just about a block away from the hotel. The day passes are much easier to manage than the strippenkaarts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Cute

Very cute hotel overall. Our room wasn't very big, nor the bathroom, but it was cozy with great high ceilings and a big window. We were in the back, so it was nice and quiet, though I wish some late-night folk had not been smoking right below our window. The continental breakfast was included and was quite nice - breads, sliced meat and cheese, oj, tea, coffee, cereal and yogurt. I loved the location - very pretty neighborhood and easy to reach via the tram (as there was no shuttle from the airport; we had to take a train and tram - but cheaper than a taxi!) I liked the look of the hotel, but the stairs were *very* steep (the hotel is in a couple old converted houses), and there was no hotel. I wish I had known about that. It was quite a pain trying to haul three suitcases up very steep steps. Be forewarned, the walls were rather thin too, and we had some noisy neighbors coming in late and making quite a racket. The bed was very comfortable, the coverlet very soft, and I did sleep well, so I'm glad for that. Overall, I liked it and would go back though I'd ask for a ground-level floor this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a 2 or 3 day pass for the public transportation (we got this at the airport) It allowed us to hop on and off the tram all day and saved us a bunch of money. The public transportation in Amsterdam was pretty nice - smooth, not too crowded, efficient, and timely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 19, 2009

Don't stay there unless no other choice

I was writing a final paper for a law course before starting my travels so wanted to find something somewhat quiet with Internet access. First off, Orbitz didn't send or the hotel did not have my reservation so they kept hassling me about it for 2 days instead of sorting it out with Orbitz even after I gave them the file number. The guy was somewhat friendly just for the fact that he gave me a room even though he couldn't find my reservation but did make me give him my credit card (still have been monitoring that as I wouldn't be suprised if they charged, even after I paif Orbitz. The main manager lady is totally rude and shouldn't even be in the service Industry...ESPECIALLY in the Netherlands who pride themselves with the friendliest people in Europe. The hotel is very old and has very narrow, steep and winding stairways...to which I had to carry my luggage up 3 flights...no lift. The Internet connection is horrendous...barely worked the whole time I was there. which was unfortunate b/c I needed it for research for my paper. I checked as soon as I could and am now cozy in a great place finishing my paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SFO
Jun 4, 2009

great staff!

I asked them to surprise me and they did! After talking with the friendly front desk staff, I found out that the wireless internet went down and would be down for my entire stay. I asked them to surprise me with a replacement solution. The staff found a creative workaround to the an IT issue that gave me 24 hours access to the internet. nicely done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

save yourself 25 euros... Tram 2 gets you from the central stn in amsterdam to the hotel door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top