$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

4 stars
Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam, 1017 PN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
I will return ,,

Everyone was so nice and helpful . I wanted a balcony room and mitilda was so helpful . The staff... See full review

  • Italian Texan 1111
  • Jul 11, 2013
Luxury and warmth in Amsterdam

This gets all the stars. Wonderful position for a stay in Amsterdam - bus from the airport (197)... See full review

  • Nannamania
  • May 8, 2013
Enjoy history, elegance and style at this exciting Amsterdam favorite
Built in 1902, this vibrant Art Nouveau monument treats guests to historic elegance alongside chic furnishings and modern amenities. The Eden American Hotel includes the charming Café Americain, popular with artists and celebrities and the blues-themed Bar Americain offering stunning Leidseplein views. Guests enjoy four-star in-room amenities as well as business and concierge services. The Eden American's conveniences, from the fitness center to tour assistance and concierge services, ensure smooth, enjoyable Amsterdam stays.
Highlights
  • Gorgeous Art Deco-style centerpiece café and popular blues-themed bar
  • Dynamic Leidseplein location
  • On-site fitness center and sauna
Rooms

The Eden American Hotel's 175 rooms blend authentic heritage architecture with modern amenities. All rooms come with flat-screen, satellite channel HDTVs with On Demand entertainment, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and Rituals bath essentials provided in Art Deco style bathrooms.

 

Classic and deluxe rooms come furnished with king, queen or two twin beds. The American junior suites come with king beds and expanded sitting areas and many provide private balconies and spectacular Amsterdam views.

 

The Eden American Hotel also offers exclusive theme suites. Among the hotel's largest rooms, the Mata Hari suite offers breathtaking city and canal views. Named after a prominent Amsterdam artist, the Ruud de Wild suite features a split-level living room and bedroom layout, two flat-screen ambilight HDTVs and chic furnishings. The Goovert de Roos suite, named after the famed Glamour photographer, displays his striking artworks.   

Features

Guests are treated to the Eden American Hotel's authentic early 20th-century architecture and the charming centerpiece Café Americain, which offers delicious lunches and dinners in a cozy, Art Deco interior. Guests can unwind in style at the blues-themed Bar Americain, overlooking the dynamic Leidseplein. The state-of-the-art fitness center and sauna is ideal for guests wishing to relax or recharge between meetings or leisure trips. The hotel's 24-hour front desk, concierge and tour assistance services ensure hassle-free Amsterdam visits.  Additional amenities include childcare, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and an in-house art gallery.

Transportation
  • Tram & bus stops nearby (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 mi)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)  (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Oude Kerk (2 mi/3 km)
  • Begijnhof (2 mi/3 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 4 flexible meeting and event spaces
Polices & Fees
  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout. 
  • The hotel is non-smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden Rooms

Classic Room
The Classic rooms are approximately 20 to 30 square meters. Some rooms have a spectacular view over the Amsterdam canals, others on the vibrant Leidseplein. All our Classic American rooms are non smoking rooms and have the luxury of air conditioning.
Deluxe Room
The DeLuxe American rooms are 30 to 35 square meters. The majority of these rooms have a beautiful view over the Amsterdam canals or the vibrant Leidseplein. Most of the DeLuxe American rooms have a balcony with a nice cosy seat. All rooms are non smoking and have the luxury of air conditioning.
Standard Junior Suite
The Amsterdam American Hotel has 15 American Junior suites. The largest Junior Suite is 55 square meters and most of the suites have a beautiful view over the Amsterdam canals or the vibrant Leidseplein. All suites have a separate sitting area and some even have a balcony with a great view over Amsterdam.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3637 4.8808
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 10.1 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 54.2 km.
Area description
Amsterdam.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.1 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.1 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.2 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.3 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.3 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.3 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.3 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.4 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.5 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.5 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.5 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.5 mi
  • Book Market: 0.5 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.5 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Arena: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant & Bar
Two of the most special places to "wine & dine" in Amsterdam are located in the Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Our Caf Americain is a sparkling "hot spot" for local Amsterdam people, writers and artists: who come along for a bite, a drink, or just for reading the newspaper at the reading table. Do you fancy meeting someone famous? Both national and international movie stars have been spotted in our renown Bar Americain from time to time. Bar Americain has recently been restyled and therefore is even more popular than before amongst locals. It is also still the "hot spot" for national and international movie stars. An ideal place for VIP-spotting while drinking an award winning cocktail. During summertime the terrace offers a great opportunity to watch people.
Cafe Americain
Wine and dine among the local Amsterdam people, artists and actors. The ambiance in the dazzling Cafe Americain is dynamic and most of all cosy. It has been called Amsterdam's living room by many and that is exactly how it feels. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, just a coffee or a pleasant drink. At the Cafe Americain or on the amazing terrace during the summer time, you will always feel comfortable.
Terrace
During the summertime and when the sun is shining, in front of the hotel the terrace is openend. Were you can enjoy a drink, lunch or dinner while watching the fountain and the sun.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our renovated meeting rooms are situated on the ground floor of the Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. The three main meeting rooms can be combined into one large room for larger events. All rooms have a capacity of 110 persons for a meeting, 125 persons for a dinner and 225 persons for celebrating a big party. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport and Byzantium parking is located within 5 min. walk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
2.9

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin423
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 10, 2012

Great location and excellent staff!

First time staying in the city. Perfect location for walking, canals or the trams to see the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dan5382
Business
San Francisco, California
May 30, 2012

First time in Amsterdam

Staying here was perfect! It was my first stay in Amsterdam and I loved it. After a long flight they made getting settled into my room easy, as well as recommending places for me to go explore. I would easily do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
evm
Business
zurich
May 11, 2011

Terrible

"Bad service, ugly room, expensive/bad internet, dirty" A long wait at reception (room was booked ahead of course - 'we're looking for an extra noce room for you, when I asked', otherwise the lady just tapped at her screen for minutes without any comment) yielded an ugly, stuffy room with a small, stuck window. It was dirty, there was a plastic sheet over the mattress, the minibar (no expense spared there, it's electronically monitored!) excruciatingly expensive... the location is great and that's all there's to be said about this place. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amster-Annie
Business
New Jersey
May 11, 2011

In the heart of Amsterdam

This is my first of many trips to Amsterdam and I'm glad I selected Eden Amsterdam American Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city. It is within walking distance to museums, shopping, entertainment and a bevy of restaurants and transportation (trams, buses, bikes, canal boats, etc). When staying at Eden hotels make sure you tell your driver specifically which Eden hotel, as there are many throughout the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel, it's 15.50 Euro one-way. Tickets are available inside Shiphol airport at the ticket booth behind Starbucks or can be purchased on board, best to buy in advance, otherwise you're waiting until everyone else gets on board the 8 passenger vehicle. Trams and taxis are also available from the low to high end 4 to 50 Euro one-way for about a 20 minute ride.

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
evm
Business
zurich
May 11, 2011

Terrible

"Bad service, ugly room, expensive/bad internet, dirty" A long wait at reception (room was booked ahead of course - 'we're looking for an extra noce room for you, when I asked', otherwise the lady just tapped at her screen for minutes without any comment) yielded an ugly, stuffy room with a small, stuck window. It was dirty, there was a plastic sheet over the mattress, the minibar (no expense spared there, it's electronically monitored!) excruciatingly expensive... the location is great and that's all there's to be said about this place. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amster-Annie
Business
New Jersey
May 11, 2011

In the heart of Amsterdam

This is my first of many trips to Amsterdam and I'm glad I selected Eden Amsterdam American Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city. It is within walking distance to museums, shopping, entertainment and a bevy of restaurants and transportation (trams, buses, bikes, canal boats, etc). When staying at Eden hotels make sure you tell your driver specifically which Eden hotel, as there are many throughout the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel, it's 15.50 Euro one-way. Tickets are available inside Shiphol airport at the ticket booth behind Starbucks or can be purchased on board, best to buy in advance, otherwise you're waiting until everyone else gets on board the 8 passenger vehicle. Trams and taxis are also available from the low to high end 4 to 50 Euro one-way for about a 20 minute ride.

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy biz traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 22, 2009

I don't recommend

The rooms were shabby, dirty walls and tiny rooms. I had to move twice - once b/c my room looked like it belonged in a basement and the 2nd time b/c I came back at midnight and they had a full blown party going on at their restaurant and my room (non smoking) smelled like an ashtray! If you can believe it, they thought it was acceptable to inconvenience a guest like this simply by sending out a "letter" to your room! The front desk gave me a hell of a time switching rooms, lying that they were fully booked, just b/c they didn't want to move me to a higher price range! If I wasn't pregnant I don't even know if they would have done so at all... I go to Amsterdam regularly on business, love the city, but will NEVER stay in this or any Eden hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Japanese take out place down the street - Wok- something...

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy biz traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 22, 2009

I don't recommend

The rooms were shabby, dirty walls and tiny rooms. I had to move twice - once b/c my room looked like it belonged in a basement and the 2nd time b/c I came back at midnight and they had a full blown party going on at their restaurant and my room (non smoking) smelled like an ashtray! If you can believe it, they thought it was acceptable to inconvenience a guest like this simply by sending out a "letter" to your room! The front desk gave me a hell of a time switching rooms, lying that they were fully booked, just b/c they didn't want to move me to a higher price range! If I wasn't pregnant I don't even know if they would have done so at all... I go to Amsterdam regularly on business, love the city, but will NEVER stay in this or any Eden hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Japanese take out place down the street - Wok- something...

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Dave
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2009

Love the customer service

2nd stay in the same area on a business trip, the location was great, the service was very good. The rooms were a little small, as was the workout area. Breakfast was a single 20 Euro option for a continental buffet. I would have been happy with a less expensive option for just oatmeal and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in search of some inexpensive cuisine, try the Wok to Walk, a short walk from the hotel up the street on Leidsestraat (to the left).

Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Dave
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2009

Love the customer service

2nd stay in the same area on a business trip, the location was great, the service was very good. The rooms were a little small, as was the workout area. Breakfast was a single 20 Euro option for a continental buffet. I would have been happy with a less expensive option for just oatmeal and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in search of some inexpensive cuisine, try the Wok to Walk, a short walk from the hotel up the street on Leidsestraat (to the left).

Back to menu Return to top