$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

4 stars
View map of Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam, 1017 HE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jsmith
Business
england
Jun 7, 2012

Good hotel, noisy location

Hotel, facilities , staff very good but if you have a room at the front of the hotel you might struggle to sleep. Very busy road at front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveltheworld1
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 26, 2011

ABS. WORST experience of my life.

*Overall* Customer service, civility, professionalism, room service (advertised but non-existant), and air conditioning are just a few things missing from this hotel. They literally have no central AC and put us in a room with no fan and a tiny window that barely opened. We went in July 2011 and we're sweating within seconds. When I spoke with the manager her exact words were: "Our hotel never advertised that we have air conditioning. We can give you a fan for 15 euro or you can just switch hotels- it can be very simple". They next day, SWITCH hotels is exactly what we did and it took up a day of planned sight seeing. But for that one night we had to stay. We tried ordering room service- it rings off the hook. When I walked to the restaurant, it was empty with all the employees shooting the breeze in the back. This place was such a JOKE. I'm an avid traveler and have been to Europe over 5 times and this was a FIRST. Honestly, my best advice is to just not even stay here and it's THAT simple. *Location* Be careful in this area at night as there are little "gangs" that hang out in the adjacent alley of this hotel. You literally walk out of the hotel and step 3 steps, and you're in the alley- so please be careful. This is a genuine concern and not a way of making this hotel seem worse than it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Texas
Jun 18, 2011

Good stay At the Albus

Hotel was great for the price. Room was clean, bed was nice, hotel restaurant was overpriced for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Amsterdam was more for younger crowd. Anne Frank House was good, We did not go to Museums, or the coffeshops. Nite life was kids.

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dilkhush
Business
London and South Africa
Oct 8, 2010

Worst Exprience Ever

Very Rude Staff, Waited two hours to get checked in, was finally sent to the basement, which had cob webs. No one was updating with reason for further delays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adesh
Business
London and South Africa
Oct 8, 2010

Worst Exprience Ever

Very Rude Staff, Waited two hours to get checked in, was finally sent to the basement, which had cob webs. No one was updating with reason for further delays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MacG fae Fife
Business
Scotland
Jul 23, 2010

Ideally located for relaxing stay

This hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and has recently been refurbished. However, the lack of air conditioning in the small bedroom was recognised as unsatisfactory. This would be an excellent "one or two day" business trip hotel for a single person but inadequate storage space is provided for longer stays by a couple. The breakfast room was very busy and the choice of the hot food selection was below expectations. The hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms are spotless, with clean towels and linen provided daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Heineken Brewery Tour

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MacG fae Fife
Business
Scotland
Jul 23, 2010

Ideally located for relaxing stay

This hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and has recently been refurbished. However, the lack of air conditioning in the small bedroom was recognised as unsatisfactory. This would be an excellent "one or two day" business trip hotel for a single person but inadequate storage space is provided for longer stays by a couple. The breakfast room was very busy and the choice of the hot food selection was below expectations. The hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms are spotless, with clean towels and linen provided daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Heineken Brewery Tour

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Jul 12, 2010

Awesome 4 star hotel - super value!

Amazing central location to get to everything in Central Amsterdam. Just finished renovating this spring and it looks great. They're still working out a couple kinks, but its great for the 25-40 yr old hip crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 3, 2010

Friendly and Central

I was only staying overnight. The room was spotless and comfortable although small and a bit hot, had to take the fan out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was very close!

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pelee Island, Ontario
Aug 30, 2009

Good accommodation, well located

The hotel had lost our Orbitz reservation and as a result we were given a deluxe room instead of the standard room that we had reserved. The room was clean and very good accommodation for the price. There was no air conditioning which meant that we had to open the window over a busy street, but that did not bother us. The room lamp was plugged into a non-functioning outlet that housekeeping was unable to correct. Notwithstanding these deficiencies we would stay in this hotel again. We particularly liked the central location of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat just around the corner and down the block.

Back to menu Return to top