$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

4 stars
Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam, 1017 HE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
38 reviews
A mighty fine staff and a location that can't be beat!

The Albus is a quaint little hotel. Don't let the sexy advertising sway you one way or another, it... See full review

  • K Rae
  • Apr 30, 2014
Long weekend

Amazing time in Amsterdam, our booking was slightly disrupted on arrival as they could not find a... See full review

  • G ZUZ
  • Sep 1, 2013
Style, elegance and a central city locale mark this boutique gem

The chic, cosmopolitan Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is the ideal destination for travelers looking for style and elegance mixed with modern amenities and a convenient, central location. This boutique hotel offers plush, modern guest rooms with Nespresso coffee machines and Sensiq entertainment systems. The 24-hour front desk offers sightseeing suggestions while Senses Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes and drinks from breakfast to dinner--an ideal place to unwind.

Highlights
  • Senses Restaurant features trendy menu and tantalizing drinks
  • 24-hour front desk offers complete sightseeing services
  • Rain showers in sleek, modern bathrooms
Rooms

The Albus Hotel presents a variety of chic, elegant guest rooms that blend modern comforts with a cosmopolitan feel. All 73 rooms feature Heavenly Beds, state-of-the-art Sensiq entertainment system, 32-inch flat-screen TV, Nespresso coffee machine and signature bath essentials. Many bathrooms come equipped with high-performance rain showers.


Smart rooms are furnished with queen beds. Splendid rooms and superb city rooms come with either king or twin beds. Spacious sweet family city rooms have king beds and full-size sofa beds. The oversized stunning city suites have king beds and expanded lounge areas.


For extended stays, the Albus Hotel also offers three apartments with living rooms, bedrooms, full kitchens and washing machines.

Features

The Albus Hotel's chic, distinctive GetTogether Restaurant offers delicious lunch and dinner fare. The restaurant's bar and lounge provides guests with an ideal spot to unwind or browse the Internet, courtesy of the in-house Wi-Fi service (fees apply).


A 24-hour, multilingual front-desk staff can arrange for all manner of services, including bike rentals, concierge and childcare. Guests can purchase I Amsterdam Cards and entry tickets to the city's major museums. The Albus Hotel is also Green Key certified, reflecting its commitment to sustainable tourism practices.

Transportation

  • Shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Centraal Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (1 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • Business center

 

Polices and fees

A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre Rooms

Smart City Room
Sit back in this first class room, equipped with all comfort and a cozy queen size bed. Each detail is designed to fulfill your wishes. Spacious 18- 22 m2 room/surface, Queen size bed, Philips 32-inch flat screen with state of the art entertainment system 'Sensiq', Nespresso coffee machine, In room (laptop) safe, Design furniture, Closet with storage space for your suitcase, High quality bed linen, 100% Egyptian cotton, Fully equipped bathroom with a rain shower, Bathrobes and fluffy towels, Luxurious toiletries, Large desk, Mineral water on arrival, Free WIFI, Digital telephone with direct outside line.
Stunning City Suite
Whether you're in Amsterdam for business or leisure, these modern rooms offers you a comfortable retreat after a busy day. Heavenly beds with high quality bed linen, 100% Egyptian cotton Designer furniture 32-inch flat screen television with Sensiq in-room guest portal and wireless internet connection Highly secured and speedy wired and free Wi-Fi Nespresso coffee machine with complimentary cups In room safe with laptop charger Fully equipped bathroom with 30 cm rain shower, fluffy towels and bathrobes Private label toiletries Large working desk Complimentary mineral water Closet with storage space for your suitcase
Superb City Room
For those who wants to stay with three guests, a large room equipped with state of art entertainment system with a 32 inch TV set, modern designed and comfortable amenities. Spacious 24 - 32 m2/surface, King size and one single bed, Philips 32-inch flat screen with state of the art entertainment system 'Sensiq', Nespresso coffee machine, In room (laptop) safe, Design furniture, Closet with storage space for your suitcase, High quality bed linen, 100% Egyptian cotton, Fully equipped bathroom with a rain shower, Bathrobes and fluffy towels, Luxurious toiletries, Large desk, Mineral water on arrival, Free WIFI, Digital telephone with direct outside line.
Rooms
All rooms feature a heavenly bed with crisp Egyptian cotton bed linen. Sink into your comfortable designer chair where you can enjoy the latest state of the art "sensiq" entertainment system from your 32 inch flat screen television. Rooms are available with a bath and/or high pressure rain shower. You'll also enjoy our fluffy towels and soft bathrobes. Store and charge your laptop in the in-room safe, and don't forget to treat yourself to a tasty Nespresso coffee before you leave in the morning. To enhance your stay all rooms feature trendy amenities and glossy magazines. Our exclusive mattresses filled with a combination of rubber/foam and special big pillows is just that little extra you need for the best sleep you have ever had.
Splendid City Room
Even more space in this room, furnished with the latest designs and large desk to suit the needs of every guest. Your choice between a twin or even more romantic a king size bed. Spacious 22 - 24 m2/surface, Twin or King size bed, Philips 32-inch flat screen with state of the art entertainment system 'Sensiq', Nespresso coffee machine, In room (laptop) safe, Design furniture, Closet with storage space for your suitcase, High quality bed linen, 100% Egyptian cotton, Fully equipped bathroom with a rain shower, Bathrobes and fluffy towels, Luxurious toiletries, Large desk, Mineral water on arrival, Free WIFI, Digital telephone with direct outside line.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3658 4.8932
Area served
The Albus is located in the vibrant historical heart of Amsterdam and within walking distance from most of the top tourist attractions.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 11.0 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 54.9 km.
Area description
The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You'll be 2 minutes away from to the 3 main squares: Leidsesquare, Rembrandsquare and Muntsquare.

Nearby points of interest

  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.1 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.1 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.2 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.2 mi
  • University Library: 0.2 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.2 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.2 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.3 mi
  • Spui: 0.3 mi
  • Book Market: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.3 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Concerto : 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Stopera: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.4 mi

Dining

Senses Restaurant
Senses restaurant prepares unconventional and creative food art with the best of organic and sustainable ingredients where possible to tickle all your senses! Modern French cuisine.
Dinner
Make sure you never leave without the splendid taste of Senses restaurant. Watch Chef Erik Zonjee who cooks your irresistible dishes from the open kitchen in a stylish, urban atmosphere. Enjoy a selection of our innovative menu or one of his daily changing surprise menu's, inspired by the 5 senses using the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Bar
Stylish bar with stunning bites and drinks. Whether you're in the mood for a light meal, finger food or something more substantial, its a must to combine this with a good glass of wine. Our wine menu covers great wines selected from the best wine regions in the world. The stunning bar and lounge area are the place to meet for a drink. The intimate size offers you an exclusive place to sit back and relax.
Breakfast
Senses restaurant in The Albus prepares a "blissful breakfast" each morning full of healthy tidbits. With a range of organic and local biological products we try to deliver a delicious start of the day and be eco-friendly at the same time! And if you are superhungry, we serve eggs with yummie toppings too! Opening times: Midweeks: 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM Weekends: 7:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Lunch
You 've made the right choice; enjoy lunch in Senses Restaurant. Try a dish of our new chef de cuisine, Erik Zonjee. You'll find his fine-dining experience in all dishes: think of a warm roll with Black Angus short rib meat, a salad with short grilled scallops, a wagyu burger or a delicious gazpacho with beet and tomato.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The business center is equipped with 2 computers, and is located on the ground floor. Free, fast & secure wireless internet is available in the entire hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philp
UK
May 1, 2014

Albus on Kings Day

Great boutique hotel in central Amsterdam. Very close to shops and main hub of city. The hotel is very modern and funky. The rooms are good, reasonable size (that we had) and the beds are sooooo comfortable. However the rooms can be so hot and are crying out for air conditioning or a significant fan. The staff were absolutely brilliant; really friendly and up for a laugh. They really were helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was good but somewhat chaotic with the waitress having no idea who ordered what (coffee). We actually went for King's Day celebrations so we knew what noise to expect. Other guests didn't know and complained about the fact there were about a million people roaming the streets all day in celebration. Good advice....check before you book....Kings Day is VERY noisy in Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If gong to the Banana Bar in the Red Light District...don't take your wife to avoid a very uncomfortable experience!

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Rae
Great Neck, New York
Apr 30, 2014

A mighty fine staff and a location that can't be beat!

The Albus is a quaint little hotel. Don't let the sexy advertising sway you one way or another, it is an excellent place to stay with a family and my two daughters and I enjoyed our 8 nights there. Our room was large with a king sized bed on one side and another bed under the eaves for one of the girls. We had a large balcony overlooking the houses/gardens towards the back of the hotel (this might be the only room, however, with a balcony) and brilliant sunlight (I guess that does exist in Holland) flooded the room daily from a large bank of windows. The staff was amazingly helpful, friendly and funny. The location of the Albus can't be beat. There are tram stops a block away and the hotel is centrally located between two canals, within walking distance to museums but not in the middle of the hub-bub of such a bustling city. We were more than pleased with our stay at the Albus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the Holland Pass. Makes your stay very easy and is a great deal!

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Healy
Northern Ireland
Apr 27, 2014

Brilliant location versus traffic

Hotel location is perfect. Very central and easily reached from Schipol airport by public transport. Staff were fabulous and very attentive to guests and apologetic when things weren't quite right, like a noisy first floor room at front on first night ( which was rectified to some extent on 2nd night by move to 8th floor) but unfortunately the lift was out of order next day and the boiler room is located on that floor so whilst room was quieter it was very warm. No air conditioning is definite disadvantage. Don't stay here if you want a quiet stay. (Ear plugs are provided)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine in Senses restaurant - superb food.

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen85
Ireland
Mar 19, 2014

Great for Weekend Getaway

I booked this hotel when going away with my friend (also female) for a long weekend. Complimentary coffee was provided on arrival and our room was available before 2:00 pm. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a little more expensive than other hotels in Amsterdam, but completely worth it in terms of location and service received. I would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hope2TravelM0re
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2013

Great Hotel Feb 2013

This hotel is in the perfect spot, everything is close. Staff was great very helpful and polite as can be. Helped us with our cabs and directions for any place we needed. We stayed in room 408 ,it was in the back of the hotel overlooking a court yard. Very nice bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. The staff also welcomed us with champagne for 2 when we arrived. There was a slip up between this site and the hotel with the room we were given the first night, I smoke so we arranged to have a balcony and the room that was reserved didn't have 1 and all of them were booked that night. Next day they moved us to 408 and comp'd us drinks at the bar for the mess up and I had my balcony to smoke on with a nice bench overlooking the courtyard. Overall a great place to stay our room was very nice and clean, staff was friendly, staff was multilingual , and made us feel at home . We plan to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rembrandt square is 100 yards from the hotel there is everything there you could ever want to do, clubs, bars, restaurants, and one of the best sights in the city is right in the middle of the square.

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G ZUZ
Wales
Sep 1, 2013

Long weekend

Amazing time in Amsterdam, our booking was slightly disrupted on arrival as they could not find a record of it. Put us up in a double room for the night then moved us the next day. Staff could not do enough to help us our entire stay, Friendly and polite. Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradiso

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arlington Traveler
Arlington, VA, USA
Jul 13, 2013

Good location, Lacks AC and other amenities

The location is good, close to Rembrantplein, not a far walk from Central Station or Museumplein. It is hard with a 2pm or later check in coming from the US, flights land early morning. The room had no AC! and the room felt like it was in the 90s, really hard to sleep. The room was smaller than many New York City and other European hotel rooms I have stayed in. The water pressure was not great and the bathroom was very dark. I would not recommend the hotel, there are a ton of hotels in Amsterdam, there has to be something better out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tiggeriffic
houston, texas
May 30, 2013

quick city visit

The staff was welcoming and friendly from arrival to check out. There were maps ready and available. The room was huge by Amsterdam standards, and the staff was very helpful with suggestions and gave very good and appropriate advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bob barker
germany
May 28, 2013

first time A-dam

I booked this hotel for my wife and her friend, they loved the hotel and the staff were top notch, the breakfast buffet was a little pricey @19 euro but they went at the last minute (my wifes fault) so it was hard to rate the buffet on value. The staff however were very nice and understanding and still made my wife and her friend eggs after they had closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Give yourself more than a few days, the lines were long and they missed allot due to the short duration of their trip.

Review of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
velights
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 4, 2013

Fantastic Amsterdam Find

Perfect boutique hotel in middle of Amsterdam but didn't get too hectic on the inside. Extremely friendly and professional staff! Sweet bar n restaurant. Clean, sleek, and modern room. Will definitely recommend and go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

IceBar Experience, Red Light District, many many coffee shops!

Back to menu Return to top