$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

BALIMA

3 stars
AVENUE MOHAMED V, --, RABAT,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
20 reviews
Over night stay in Rabat

I think the location of this hotel is one of its greatest assets, the hotel is old but still clean... See full review

  • Pole Dide
  • Feb 9, 2014
Great location for the price

The Balima Hotel is perfect for travelers looking to arrive to Rabat by train and spend a night or... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 17, 2008
This is a perfect option due to its price, quality and location. We recommend it. (SB 03/08) The exterior looks like an art deco building from the beginning of the 1920s. The building is divided in two wings. This property is right in the centre of the city. It is walking distance from the train station and the old part of the city. All the shopping and entertainment area are close to the hotel too. It’s a perfect location.

BALIMA Rooms

Guest Rooms
Rooms are medium-sized, nicely decorated, well maintained, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are small but clean and in perfect condition.

Amenities

General
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Porters

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BALIMA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0183 -6.8353
Area served
Rabat, Morocco.
Nearby airports
Sale Airport.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers a menu offering international and traditional dishes at a fair price. The hotel has a terrace where one can have green tea or coffee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for BALIMA

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pole Dide
Business
Safi
Feb 9, 2014

Over night stay in Rabat

I think the location of this hotel is one of its greatest assets, the hotel is old but still clean and price competitive, stayed here for one night the staff were friendly, if you are in rabat for business and not intending on staying within the hotel for your stay then this hotel will serve you just fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basic traveler
Mn
Nov 21, 2011

Good location

Near train - great people watching Faded glory but still good Breakfast not worth much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Mammas right behind hotel is great pizza

Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momo uk
Westminster, London, UK
Nov 7, 2011

good for a short stay

the is a 3 star hotel, which has old style charm to it from the 20/30's. the hotel is clean, the reception is multi lingual and friendly. I breakfast had on the upper terrace with a superberb view of the parliment building! Ask for the 3rd floor room facing the parliment, when its sunset it glows slight red!Theres a small tv in the room, channels are french and arabic, but theres lounge on the 1st floor which has a big LCD screen, and traditional maroccan decor, its always empty. one gripe the staff kept taking the towels! overall i had a great experience and i would return to Htl Balima,thumbs up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

come out of the hotel like your facing the main parliment building..take a right and walk all the down the high street to the end and you will see the medina market area where youll find a bargain. next to la gare de rabat ville there is a tram, which will take you to the marina where you can sit down relax and have a cool juice or tea at the cafe's.

Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doris busy bee
Atlanta, ga.
Oct 8, 2010

good location, dirty room

I spent just one night at Balima hotel. I did like the location,but the room was dirty. No a/c. noisy at night. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doris busy bee
Atlanta, ga.
Oct 8, 2010

good location, dirty room

I spent just one night at Balima hotel. I did like the location,but the room was dirty. No a/c. noisy at night. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
glass lovers
Waverly (Scranton), PA
Mar 30, 2010

Fine location, staff, and value

Our first five and last three nights in Morocco were at the Balima. Both sunny rooms had floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the hotel plaza and Parliament, providing a lovely view and good people-watching, yet quiet at night. The train station is less than a block in one direction and the medina is an easy walk in the other direction, with money-changing places and shops along the way. The hotel staff were most helpful during a three-day ordeal trying to get our luggage from Paris and they called a good driver each time we went to the airport. The Balima is charming and clean. Rooms are smaller and amenities fewer than we are used to in American hotels, but equivalent to what we found in modestly-priced hotels in other Moroccan cities. Upon asking we received a password for free Internet access from our room. Staff members speak at least English and French. While we traveled to other parts of the country, they stored our big suitcases, and when we returned they welcomed us back with enthusiasm. Hotel Balima's personal touch is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dar Naji is a delightful and very economical Moroccain-cuisine restaurant on Rue el Arab, across from Bab el Had, near the bus station on the west side of the medina.

Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
glass lovers
Waverly (Scranton), PA
Mar 30, 2010

Fine location, staff, and value

Our first five and last three nights in Morocco were at the Balima. Both sunny rooms had floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the hotel plaza and Parliament, providing a lovely view and good people-watching, yet quiet at night. The train station is less than a block in one direction and the medina is an easy walk in the other direction, with money-changing places and shops along the way. The hotel staff were most helpful during a three-day ordeal trying to get our luggage from Paris and they called a good driver each time we went to the airport. The Balima is charming and clean. Rooms are smaller and amenities fewer than we are used to in American hotels, but equivalent to what we found in modestly-priced hotels in other Moroccan cities. Upon asking we received a password for free Internet access from our room. Staff members speak at least English and French. While we traveled to other parts of the country, they stored our big suitcases, and when we returned they welcomed us back with enthusiasm. Hotel Balima's personal touch is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dar Naji is a delightful and very economical Moroccain-cuisine restaurant on Rue el Arab, across from Bab el Had, near the bus station on the west side of the medina.

Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
US Expat
Zaragoza, Spain
Mar 10, 2010

Basic Rabat Hotel

Very convenient to Rabat Ville train station and to most of the sites of interest. I would recommend this as a basic hotel for travelers passing through Rabat for just a night or two. The room was basic and a good size; however the room was not super clean. Not gross, but just a bit dingy. For the price however, it was a good value. Also, there is a bar in the lobby for those that like to have a drink (not many other options in Rabat).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
US Expat
Zaragoza, Spain
Mar 10, 2010

Basic Rabat Hotel

Very convenient to Rabat Ville train station and to most of the sites of interest. I would recommend this as a basic hotel for travelers passing through Rabat for just a night or two. The room was basic and a good size; however the room was not super clean. Not gross, but just a bit dingy. For the price however, it was a good value. Also, there is a bar in the lobby for those that like to have a drink (not many other options in Rabat).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BALIMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, KS
Jan 6, 2010

Quick overnight stay

This hotel is located very close to the Rabat Ville train station. We arrived to Rabat around 10 pm but had no problems finding the hotel when we asked for the location at the train ticket window. It was very nice not to have to take a taxi since that can be a pain to bargain for late at night. The rooms were as we expected; a bit dingy and outdated, but comfortable and met their purpose, which was just a place to clean up a bit and sleep for the night. The shower was very small though and water leaked out all over the floor of the bathroom when it was used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top