$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Riad Ta'achchaqa

5 stars
19 Derb Ouayhah- Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Great place in the medina

If you want to get the real feel of the life and culture of Marrakesh....stay in the Medina. While... See full review

  • Buka 2
  • Jul 17, 2014
Truly great experience, walking distance to everything

I'll say first that the only reason I gave four stars for 'Location' is that this Riad is... See full review

  • ColinWright
  • Dec 5, 2013
Moroccan opulence, modern amenities in historic Marrakech guesthouse
The Riad Ta'achchaqa is located in the old Medina, just five minutes from the Marrakech Museum and the Djemaa El-fna town square and within walking distance of many downtown attractions. The guesthouse boasts just a handful of rooms at the heart of downtown Marrakech. Riad Ta'achchaqa occupies a historic house from the 18th century and has a traditional walled garden and a terrace with a Berber-style tent. The guesthouse also has a traditional Moroccan hammam and a continental breakfast each morning. The rooms feature Wi-Fi access (free).
Highlights
  • Located at the heart of the Medina
  • Traditional hammam bath
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Five guest rooms around a secluded walled courtyard
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in rooms
Rooms

Riad Ta'achchaqa has just five guest rooms, each boasting its own opulent design rich with traditional tadelakt, plush fabrics, painted cedar and wrought iron. Guest rooms have either queen- or king-size beds. All rooms boast en suite baths, most of which have large bathtubs. In-room amenities include hair-dryers, bathrobes and high-speed Internet access (free). All rooms are nonsmoking and surround the walled courtyard with interior balconies.

Features
Riad Ta'achchaqa has two floors that encircle a secluded patio with a bubbling fountain, dining tables and a lounge with a large fireplace. The guesthouse provides a continental breakfast each morning. The kitchen can prepare Moroccan specialties to order for other meals. Around the property, guests can find plush sitting areas, an open-air roof terrace, and a traditional hammam bath. There is also a small sun deck for guests who want to soak up some North African rays. Riad Ta'achchaqa can provide basic business services, such as a fax machine, and the hotel has Wi-Fi access in all the guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Marrakech Railway Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Marrakech-Menara Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • The Museum of Marrakech (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Djemaa El-fna town square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • El Badi Palace (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Koutoubia Mosque (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dar Si Said Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Saadian Tombs (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Riad Ta'achchaqa Rooms

SUPERIOR ROOM
A large room decorated with traditional Berber-style painted cedar furniture, located on the first floor of the riad. It is south-facing so is very sunny. The bathroom is made of tadelakt black.The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning , Bathrobe, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms and Room service.
STANDARD ROOM
A large room decorated with original zouaké cedar furniture, on the ground floor of the riad. It has a traditional Berber tent-style king-size bed to create an intimate ambience.The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning , Bathrobe, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms and Room service.
LUXURY JUNIOR SUITE
A very large room with a queen-size bed, wooden cedar furniture and original 18th century ceiling, on the ground floor of the riad. The enormous bathroom is made of tadelakt black. The bedding option for the room is one double bed and one extra-bed. Room offers, Bathrobe, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Non-smoking room and Room service.
PREMIUM JUNIOR SUITE
A very large room filled with wrought-iron furniture designed by the proprietors, located on the first floor. The room is east-facing so gets full sun in the morning. The corner living room has a bench inside an alcove; the end corner has a queen-size bed. At the other end is the huge bathroom, which is made of tadelakt black.The bedding option for the room is one double bed and one extra-bed. Room offers Air conditioning , Bathrobe, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms and Room service.
LUXURY ROOM
A very large room with polished, wrought-iron furniture, located on the first floor of the riad. The huge bathroom is made of tadelakt black and has a small window that opens out over the derb below. The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning , Bathrobe, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms and Room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riad Ta'achchaqa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

31.6322 -7.9903
Area served
Marrakech.
Nearby airports
Menara International Airport.
Area description
This luxury 5-star equivalent riad is located in a peaceful ancient district, 5 minutes away from Jemaa El Fna square and within walking distance of the attractions of the city.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rahba Lakdima: 0.2 mi
  • El Badii Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Koutoubia Mosque: 0.6 mi
  • Abd El Aziz Mosque: 0.6 mi
  • Lycee Mohamed V: 0.6 mi
  • Majorelle Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Bab El Khémis: 0.8 mi
  • Dar Si Said Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Bab El Robb: 0.8 mi
  • Mellah: 1 mi
  • Zaouia Sidi Youssef Ben Ali: 1.5 mi
  • Agdal Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Menara Gardens: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The fully breakfast is served on the terrace from 07:30 to 10:00 and composed both of cuisine with Moroccan and Continental specialities. The dinner is served from 19:00 to 21:00 and is prepared on inquiry (in the morning) by the cooker of the Riad. The Moroccan menu will be proposed according to the fresh products of the market and your preference. You can reserved your dinner by email if you wish to have dinner in the riad in the evening of your arrival.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0800
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Riad Ta'achchaqa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ahadi family
Reston VA
Jun 4, 2010

Exceptional service and design

This Riad (small guest house) has only five rooms. But it also has five star service. It is probably one of the best hotel experiances I have ever had. I traveled there with my husband and five year old son. [...] the hotel manager tends to your every need. It is located in an ideal location near the famous square. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and makes you feel as if you are sleeping in a story from a thousand and one nights. My family loved this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left to leave hotel to famous square and right to return.

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buka 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. USA
Jul 17, 2014

Great place in the medina

If you want to get the real feel of the life and culture of Marrakesh....stay in the Medina. While tough to find initially, it is a short walk to the big square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ColinWright
Reykjavik, Iceland
Dec 5, 2013

Truly great experience, walking distance to everything

I'll say first that the only reason I gave four stars for 'Location' is that this Riad is incredibly difficult to find. As a result, I highly recommend going to their website after you've booked and emailing them about an airport pickup. It's a little pricey (well, pricey compared to just taking a taxi, though you could get out-negotiated or tricked there, too, so it balances out), but well-worth it to have someone lead you through the maze of alleys and tunnels to the Riad the first time. You might even get lost the second time you try to find your way back — I did. Otherwise, the place is wonderful. It's beautiful on the inside, the people who run the place and work there are incredibly accommodating and pleasant. I saw in a review somewhere before booking that the doors don't have their own keys, and that's true, but I never once felt like my possessions were in any danger, as the Riad is closed off from the rest of the world and there are staffers around on at all times. The breakfast is fairly simple (juice, coffee, Moroccan pancakes, eggs, bread, bowls of pomogranate seeds and cups of yogurt on alternating days, flatbread) — nothing to write home about, but good. The other meals that are available are wonderful; we had a three-part dinner ordered for the night we arrived, and it was fabulous. All in all, I'm really glad we booked this Riad — it's not the fanciest of the available options (we stopped through to eat and have coffee at some of the super high-end offerings during our stay in Marrakech), but it is very, very nice, especially for the price, and the people there made it a very relaxing place to stay, especially compared to the hustle and bustle of merchants and conmen that otherwise pervade the Medina area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the signs painted on the walls and attached to the ceilings as landmarks — the shops all close earlier than you'd think, and when they do, it's nearly impossible to find your way home if that's what you were depending on.

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liane M.
Caslano, Switzerland
Jan 2, 2013

Riad in Center of Marrakesh

Our first experience in a Riad. Very dark room and bathroom, which seems to be normal for the Arab courtyard homes. The owners are extremely helpful and the breakfast was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel to organize airport pick-up. It is very cheap and convenient!

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 21, 2010

terrible; it's a travelers scam

the riad had no clearly marked entrance with the number and name of the riad. No one answered the knock on the front door for five minutes. the surrounding neighborhood had no clearly marked street names and locals kept asking for money to guide us there. the experience outside was quite frightening, and once inside the one staff member we met spoke noting but arabic and very little french. The owner of the riad was no were to be found, and the one staff member called him over the phone. to sum up the experience we left immediately and walked the medina and found a safer cleaner more modern riad called Riad Darhani just a couple streets away, a perfect place for american travelers and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go outside of the medina to the more tourist centered area, by the Sofitel there is plenty of 5 star dining,lounge areas full of bars clubs and even casinos. I do not like doing anything touristy and the experience felt very authentic.

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 21, 2010

terrible; it's a travelers scam

the riad had no clearly marked entrance with the number and name of the riad. No one answered the knock on the front door for five minutes. the surrounding neighborhood had no clearly marked street names and locals kept asking for money to guide us there. the experience outside was quite frightening, and once inside the one staff member we met spoke noting but arabic and very little french. The owner of the riad was no were to be found, and the one staff member called him over the phone. to sum up the experience we left immediately and walked the medina and found a safer cleaner more modern riad called Riad Darhani just a couple streets away, a perfect place for american travelers and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go outside of the medina to the more tourist centered area, by the Sofitel there is plenty of 5 star dining,lounge areas full of bars clubs and even casinos. I do not like doing anything touristy and the experience felt very authentic.

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ahadi family
Reston VA
Jun 4, 2010

Exceptional service and design

This Riad (small guest house) has only five rooms. But it also has five star service. It is probably one of the best hotel experiances I have ever had. I traveled there with my husband and five year old son. [...] the hotel manager tends to your every need. It is located in an ideal location near the famous square. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and makes you feel as if you are sleeping in a story from a thousand and one nights. My family loved this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left to leave hotel to famous square and right to return.

Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ahadi family
Reston VA
Jun 4, 2010

Exceptional service and design

This Riad (small guest house) has only five rooms. But it also has five star service. It is probably one of the best hotel experiances I have ever had. I traveled there with my husband and five year old son. [...] the hotel manager tends to your every need. It is located in an ideal location near the famous square. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and makes you feel as if you are sleeping in a story from a thousand and one nights. My family loved this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left to leave hotel to famous square and right to return.

Back to menu Return to top