$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Riad Ajmal

4 stars
75 Arset Aouzal, Bab Doukkala, Marrakech,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
8 reviews
An oasis of tranquility in a hectic city

Absolutely loved the Riad and the owners made us feel very welcome and at home! You have everything... See full review

  • Octavian
  • Sep 2, 2014
Holiday

Very nice riad in the city centre. Very good staff See full review

  • Moggy
  • Aug 10, 2013
"CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2013" awarded by tripadvisor. Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad (traditional Moroccan home) is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square. Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. Starting at the ground floor, you are led into a large area, which serves as drawing room, dining room and a TV-DVD corner. It opens up to the large patio and its ornamental pool. Books, internet (ADSL, WiFi) and other office needs are at your disposition.The rooms are situated upstairs where it is quieter. Two different stair cases lead to the patio.You can enjoy both sun and shade on the riads terrace. With its solarium and hammam, it is the perfect place for leisure activities. You can relax while enjoying a lovely drink or your breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riad Ajmal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Riad Ajmal Rooms

ROOM AMIR
In this cheerful yellow room, with its own entrance area, the window opens up to a "derb" which is a quiet little street. It is spacious with a double bed and a large bathroom. This room is slightly removed from the rest of the riad.
ROOM MANAR
The Manar room is situated directly in front of the Joumana room, on the other side of the patio. This room also has a high ceiling from which stunning copper chandeliers extend. You will also find a small lounge area and a desk. Its beautiful bathroom is covered with peaceful beige tadelakt.
ROOM JOUMANA
This large room with a king size bed has a view leading directly to the patio. It has a high and impressive ceiling made of cedar wood. You will find a desk as well as a small lounge area. Its bathroom is covered with a red-rose tadelakt.
ROOM AMJAD
Spacious and covered with traditional grey tadelakt, with a double bed and a couch bed for a possible third person, this beautiful room also disposes of a desk and a small lounge area. Decorated glass windows provide great luminosity in winter and a softer lighting in the summer. In the bathroom you will find a shower stall covered by a skydome letting in the light, which reflects and shines against its walls covered with grey charcoal tadelakt.
SUITE LABIBA
Converted into a lovely suite, this "douiria" has its own little living room with two windows which open directly on to the patio, a peaceful little haven for resting or enjoying a good book on a sofa (which also turns into a bed if needed). A small dressing area precedes the room where you will find a double bed with a gorgeous headboard in cedar wood. A sky window provides great light over the room's bureau.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free full breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Rahba Lakdima: 0.3 mi
  • El Badii Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Abd El Aziz Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Koutoubia Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Majorelle Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Bab El Robb: 0.8 mi
  • Lycee Mohamed V: 0.9 mi
  • Dar Si Said Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Bab El Khémis: 1 mi
  • Mellah: 1.2 mi
  • Zaouia Sidi Youssef Ben Ali: 1.6 mi
  • Menara Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Agdal Gardens: 2.3 mi

Dining

services
Continental breakfast / Moroccan style breakfast - mint tea Air conditioning (Hot-Cold) Bathrobes, bedroom slippers, towels, hair dryer Personal safe Baby bed (for children under four) ADSL internet access, WiFi, office facilities Satellite TV / DVD / music Library reading corner Spoken languages: english, french, german, russian, arabic Qualified hotel personnel - presence 24h/24
spa
Hammam beldi (traditional Hammam) 15 /p. Massage,peeling
airport transfert
20 per taxi (for up to 3 people)
extra bed
For children under 12 years: 18 For children over 12 years / adult: 30
others services
Visit Souk,City of Marrakech excursions Ourika Valley, Toubkal Park, Ouzoud Waterfalls,.. VIP-Service(Info on demand) Car rental Golf reservations and transfers
diner
Dinner (must be ordered before 11 AM) starting at 21 /pers (drinks not included)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Riad Ajmal

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
None2
Business
England
Nov 25, 2013

Disappointed

Very basic room and amenities. Not what we expected. Food good but dull. Staff at riad first rate - could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Email communication very poor. Having booked a driver to meet us at the airport he was not there when we arrived. He appeared just as we were about to find a taxi. We were ill-informed about the car dropping point. It was not possible for a car to drive right up to the riad. A 300 yard walk was needed. We enquired whether the riad had a swimming pool. We were told it had. It was ten foot square, 2 foot deep - in the foyer! We had a superb trip with you to Venice in January. This trip measured up very poorly. We will be very careful about any future such offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat out! Dar Moha; Le Jardin;Villa Flore. Le Dejeuner à Marrakech excellent but no alcohol. Grand Hotel Tazi. Visit Jardin Majorelle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three Mates
Business
manchester
Feb 4, 2013

Lovely Riad

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Excellent location close proximity to many sites although you need good navigation skills. Lovely day visiting the waterfalls in the atlas mountains arranged for us by the hotel. Will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlas mountains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWE212
Business
Crowborough, England
Apr 4, 2013

Wonderful escape from the English winter

We had a wonderful Easter weekend at Riad Ajmal. Mustapha and his team could not have been more helpful. The calm, tranquil atmosphere of the riad is delightful. The only downside is that we got blisters on our feet from all of the walking, but I guess that was our decision and nothing to do with the Riad. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is going to Marrakech

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modeso
Business
london
Jan 23, 2014

Traditional Riad

Riad Ajmal was a pleasant surprise. It only has 6 rooms so it is very small They are spacious and traditionally decorated. As we went in January it was a bit cold and rainy but the owner put the portable heaters on in the breakfast room and the air con unit was used as heater. It is basic but clean and staff are helpful. Just watch for the touristic tax you need to pay before you leave and there was a bit of confusion on the final bill as exchange was done mainly in Euros. Location is great as far enough from the center and close enough to get walk to museums and 15min from the square via the main street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rowney Green
Aug 10, 2010

peace and tranquility

This is a lovely riad, staffed by friendly people. The atmosphere is relaxed and you feel you can make yourself at home. The owner, [...] and her staff, [...] and [...] were always helpful, smiling and nothing was too much trouble.Air-conditioning in the rooms was a must for us, travelling in August, and the small pool was great to cool down. The riad is quiet and as there are only 5 or 6 rooms, never too crowded. Great roof terrace, comfortable sunbeds and a delicious breakfast. A lovely place to stay and I would do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 15 mins walk from Jmaa al Fna where all the action is, especially at night. An amazing place. South of the square also within walking distance - some lovely narrow streets, cafes and market stalls.Great restaurants everywhere but in the main square beware the extras added on before you order.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becky and Fran
Business
London
Apr 26, 2013

A short retreat paradise

Great location, just inside of the old town walls. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating, nothing was too much. The manager even came himself to meet us at the bus stop on our arrival (we caught a bus form the airport- no.19- don't bother with taxis!) and walked us back to the Raid, we would not have found it on our own! We arrived late at night when many of the streets around the Souks (markets) are closed and only large streets are named. It is just far enough from the bustling Souks that when you are inside the Riad, (Riad meaning large house) you are in your own relaxing haven. It is definitely better to stay at a Riad for the traditional experience as opposed to a hotel. Beautifully decorated and very clean, Riad Ajmal has all you need for pure relaxation and luxury after long walks around town in the hot sun. It is also very secure, the rooms have a safe. The terrace is nicely shaded in places, with lots of comfy sofas and great views. There are only 5 rooms, so plenty of space if all guests were there at the same time (however this was never the case for us, we had the whole floor to our-selves for most of the trip). In the evenings, after we had been out for dinner and enjoyed the festivities in the square, we sat up on the terrace with a bottle of wine that we bought from Riad Ajmal- they have a good selection of white, rose and red. The red was a very nice full bodied and fruity Moroccan wine. It is worth noting that the pool is more of an ornamental pool...we used it to cool our feet when we had been out walking. Up on the terrace, there is a shower room. The food is delicious and generous portions. Breakfast was a very nice selection of traditional breads, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, and homemade pancake. There were also jams and a marmalade made from the oranges growing in the trees in the courtyard! On arrival we were also welcomed with a traditional Moroccan tea (made with real green tea and mint leaves, with some sugar). Would definitely recommend eating lunch or dinner at the Raid Ajmal. We asked for this a day in advance for lunch and had a choice of anything we wanted! In the end, one of the ladies prepared a delicious Moroccan meal- beef with vegetables and couscous followed by fruit salad. on our last day for lunch. It was the best meal of our whole trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The manager is very friendly and helpful, do ask questions when you first arrive- he gave us lots of useful tips (such as telling us that the prices in the Souks are inflated up to 300% so barter and never pay full price!) and marked out on a map the best attractions to see and places to eat. La Terrasse d'espices is a funky restaurant/bar with good food- but quite pricy. For a traditional meal of good value, try Riad Omar on one of the main roads off the main square. Definitely take the time to walk to le Jardin Majorelle- the most beautiful garden you will see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moggy
Business
Marrakech
Aug 10, 2013

Holiday

Very nice riad in the city centre. Very good staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riad Ajmal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Octavian
Business
St. Albans, U.K.
Sep 2, 2014

An oasis of tranquility in a hectic city

Absolutely loved the Riad and the owners made us feel very welcome and at home! You have everything you need for a good holiday.... Including a nice terasse to glaze at stars at night. The Riad is very cozy and nicely decorated, with lots of traditional / old features. The room A/C was a great relief after a long day in the streets at 43 degrees :)! Absolutely recomended and we will definetely visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top