$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Viceroy Zihuatanejo

4 stars
View map of Playa La Ropa S/N, Col. La Ropa, Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
25 reviews
Excellent, the best experience

The staff and service are amazing, is the best hotel en Mexico, the beach is perfect for relaxing.... See full review

  • Amelia B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Incredible getaway

The best hotel The service great Zihuatanejo its a very nice beach and have the best wheather The... See full review

  • lilliam
  • Sep 16, 2014
Situated along Zihuatanejo Bay among palm trees, lush gardens and waterfalls, the acclaimed Viceroy Zihuatanejo is known as one of Mexico's most romantic getaways. Each room and suite is tastefully decorated with sleek furnishings and traditional Mexican handcrafts, providing the perfect blend of rustic charm and contemporary style. A 600-foot stretch of private beach in front of the Viceroy Zihuatanejo features teak lounge chairs and individual palapas. Attentive service and casual elegance make this award-winning resort one to remember.
Rooms
The Viceroy Zihuatanejo features 46 adobe-inspired villas with accommodation units equipped with private terrace or balcony and overlook Zihuatanejo Bay or the resort's gardens. Also included are up-to-date amenities -- air conditioning, flat-panel TVs, DVD players, iPod docking stations -- for guests' comfort and convenience.

Property features
Guests spend much of their time soaking in the sunshine on the hotel's private beach. The Viceroy Zihuatanejo features four swimming pools, including an infinity pool that provides crystal clear reflections of the palm trees surrounding it. Active guests enjoy using the resort's open-air, palapa-topped fitness center and taking part in scuba diving, surfing or sailing in the waters along Playa la Ropa. For those who wish to explore even further afield, the neighboring resort town of Ixtapa is a short drive from the Viceroy Zihuatanejo.
 
After a day of lounging, swimming or sightseeing, indulge in veal ossobuco risotto, penne porcini or a grilled seafood sampler at La Marea at the Viceroy Zihuatanejo.
Highlights
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Suites include private outdoor infinity pools
  • Five restaurants and bars, cooking classes and exclusive wine dinner
  • Lavish on-site spa and restorative yoga classes
Nearby attractions
  • Playa las Gatas (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Magic World water park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (5.3 mi/8.6 km) 
  • Isla Ixtapa (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting and event space available
Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (7.9 mi/12.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viceroy Zihuatanejo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Viceroy Zihuatanejo Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room - Split level with sittting area and garden views.
Lagoon Suite
Lagoon Suite - king canopy bed - plunge pool and view of lagoon.
Two Bedroom Garden Suite
Garden Suite-2 bdroom with 1 king and 1 queen with plunge pool-hammock-garden view
Beach Suite
Beach Suite-one bedroom with plunge pool and view of Playa La Ropa.
Two Bedroom Lagoon Suite
Two Bedroom Lagoon Suite - spacious living area and private plunge pool.
Two Bedroom Beach Suite
Two Bedroom Beach Suite-terrace and plunge pool with a prime view of Playa La Ropa.
Penthouse Suite
Penthouse Suite one bedroom with king bed-plunge pool-ocean views
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite - 2 Bedroom with plunge pool

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Trouser press

Dining

LA Marea
Mediterranean and Mexican style- Open for lunch and dinner only. Casual and fun setting at the bar- outside on the large wooden deck- or inside in close proximity to the action in the open kitchen. If given a days notice- anything can be prepared for the
Coral Bar
A friendly sanctuary superior margaritas- mean martinis and some of the most adddictive concoctions- 400pm to 1100 pm. Most recently- an extensive and fine controlled wine cellar has been built accomodating wines from France- Chile- the US as well as the
LA VILLA
La Villa Restaurant is open from 800 am to 1100 pm daily and features excellent Pacific-Mexican cuisine- Mexican/French/Intl- with an emphasis on local ingredients and only the freshest seafood. A special Mexican Fiesta with a large buffet and live entert

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chayobiscoito
Business
New York
Mar 8, 2012

Me time: great for traveling solo too

This was my second time traveling solo at the The Tides, now Viceroy and it was more wonderful than the last. This is not a "singles" resort -- lots of marrieds and couples, but a great place for some "me time" as well. The property is well kept and beautiful. The staff is truly exceptional who not only have a strong work ethic, but truly make you feel at home in the most sincere of ways from the point of arrival to departure...to an inevitable return to the property. All making a stay feel like a visit to a perfect home with good old friends. Definitely worth the decadent splurge on myself for a few days away. For Playa La Ropa, this is the best most comfortable location on the beach--beach chairs, service, view. If you're up for kayaking, paddle boarding or sailing or really anything you might want to try as far a water sports-- Miguel is your guy! Friendly, safe, fun and more than happy to teach--beyond fantastic for all ages. Definitely take time to let him show you the bay. The property has a ton of other things to do--but if your thing is to do absolutely nothing but tune out and maybe read or just watch the day pass in perfect Zihua weather. This is the place. While Mexico is having a major PR problem with safety concerns for tourists--there was NOT a moment I felt unsafe at this property. Security is ever present but totally inconspicuous 24/7. It's what you would expect from anywhere that had your best interest as their first priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you're up for kayaking, paddle boarding or sailing or really anything you might want to try as far a water sports-- Miguel is your man! SO friendly, fun and more than happy to teach--beyond fantastic for all ages. Definitely take time to let him show you the bay or let you play in the water like the old days at camp! The property has a ton of other things to do--but if your thing is to do absolutely nothing but tune out and maybe read or just watch the day pass in perfect Zihua weather. This is the place.

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manson
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Apr 1, 2012

Winter getaway

The Viceroy was a class act from check in all the way through to checkout. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and discrete. Loved the beach front location and the close proximity to town. We enjoyed having our meals delivered to our private balcony or to our palapa when we were enjoying the sun. The food was good but we did have better meals at some of the other resorts. We also enjoyed the adult pool being separate from the kids pool as it gave us a very quiet and relaxing vacation. Also a very safe feeling location whether in town or the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the beach restaurants next door have pretty close to the same breakfasts and lunches for half the price. Stuff like tacos, fajitas, seafood... Good clean food that won't make you sick. About 200m from resort

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BarnabyBop
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2012

Amazing Holiday

Upon arriving we received a tour of the hotel and the gorgeous grounds. There are three swimming pools, two restaurants, a large beach with comfortable lounge areas, gift shop, spa and fitness room. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and clean. Twice daily maid service included floral surprises. The staff was attentive and helpful. We took a nap in the early evening on our first night and missed dinner hours. We phoned room service but they were closed too. However, they immediately sent someone to take our order. Food was delivered quickly. At one point in the trip I realized I didn't have my allergy medicine. The hotel was nice enough to run to a pharmacy and pick up some up for me. The hotel staff really went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. This truly was a week in paradise. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the special buffet dinners on offer certain nights of the week. Many delicious local foods are on offer. For extra romance, enjoy dinner on the beach.

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIKYTESS
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 31, 2013

The people of zihuatanejo

I like to travel as much as possible to places where the people food and weather are pleasant. and thats why i keep going back to Mexico. people are kind giving helpful courteous humble and always ready to serve with a smile. My wife and I enjoyed this trip so much. Viceroy people and all the surroundings,, will go back sooner than later. Thank you. Nick Mendoza..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food in the restaurant is just as good,, if you prefer to stay, but there is other restaurants that are amazing.

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simple doc
Business
chicago
Apr 3, 2011

Fantastic community

Wonderful service and a really unique community which is charming, pampering, with great culture. Small but sprawling and Absolutely safe! Great views at some the local Restaurants yet plenty to enjoy on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach venders for fishing and all other activities are safe and worth the experience.

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2009

Tides Zihuatanejo

Calling the Tides a hotel is not doing it justice. This is a luxurious, refined vacation property. The architect Enrique Zozaya has created a breathtaking vacation village, where the casitas are perfectly arranged to give the visitor a sense of place, and a feeling of being accessible to all the beautiful spots throughout the property, yet feeling very much secluded and private. We chose August, so there were just the right amount of guests, but even during high season, I am sure that the Tides would have a similar feeling of elegance and seclusion. The staff were laid back, friendly, and extremely service oriented and helpful, without being solicitous. The Tides is located right in the center of the series of beaches that cover the rounded part of the Zihuatanejo Bay with a beautiful view out to the Pacific, and of the mountains above. There is a gorgeous heated pool right on the beach. The beach has palapas and bed sized hammocks that provide shade for those like myself that appreciate this option. The restaurant is SUPERB. Paco is a wonder. We tried many dishes for breakfasts, lunches and dinners, and each one was superb. Haute cuisine without pretension. Mexican preparations at their finest. Our room was extremely well thought out, and very beautiful. An excellent king bed. Great lighting, a fantastic shower design. Excellent housekeeping. There was a lovely patio on the side of the room which was actually a split level bedroom and living room). I can't praise the Tides enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Although the prices at the Villa restaurant on the property are rather high, it is absolutely worth the prices, and one should have several meals at this restaurant. It is great to order room service of one Amercain breakfast for two people. It is delicious (the Mexicans really know how to make egg dishes) and copious, and offers a variety of the best foods to eat in Mexico. Dinner on the beach is lovely. I suggest beginning early around 7:30 when there is a beautiful light over the bay and the beach, and watching the sun set behind the mountains later on. The seafood sampling is divine. As is the crunchy shrimp with mango. For refreshment during the day, the fruit smoothies are great, but the frappucino was the best drink of that sort I've ever had. Indescribable.

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

A Very Good Hotel

The Tides in Zihuatanejo is located in the center of a nice bay in a good size area. The rooms are on units of two o three levels with a new and rustic appearance, surrounded by very lush plants, lagoons, and decorations which are well kept and clean. It is a paradise well suited for couples. My wife and I liked so much that there is really no need to venture outside except if you are here for several days and want to sample the food of the local restaurants. The hotel operates two restaurants here with different menus and they are very good. It's pricy though but the service is very good and well worth it. You'll want to overtip every time because the staff deserve it. The hotel is on the beach with two wooden chaises under thatch umbrellas where you can lay down and relax. There is a small table behind the chaises and two chairs. You can order lunch or something to eat and drink from the waiter assigned to you. He will promptly set up your little table with a white tablecloth and cloth napkins and silverware and take your order from the menu. Also, you can modified the dishes to your taste as I did with the cebiche ( I do not like tomatoes or carrots in it)and the shrimp wrap which I wanted it in corn tortillas. They are well trained and very willing to accommodate you in every way. There are two bars near the sand. The rooms are very clean and the maid comes every day and does your room and decorates the center pillow on the bed with flower petals and leaves (a work of art). All rooms have a small porch with a table and two chairs in it. Every morning they bring you a large carafe with coffee and an extra one if one of you drinks decaf and two very small croisants. When you need something in room all you need is to call the receptionist and five minutes later someone is knocking on your door with what you want. The hotel offers wire and wireless internet in your room, a gym, spa, tennis courts, games in the bars. The massages are expensive but well worth the hourly rate. I do not recommend going to the town. It's worse than Tijuana and the food was very bad in the restaurant where we were recommended to have lunch by one of the staff in the hotel. We were sorry to give him a bad account of it and asked him not to recommend it anymore. All in all if you go there to have a good time the town is not a place to have it. There are some outside restaurants, around the bay, overlooking the ocean that are good like Calas which has a spectacular view of the waters crashing into the large rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2008

Great for couples

We had a great time and enjoyed being right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the dinner at La Marea was just mediocre. We both had fish (different variety) and it was both very fishy. We did not have dinner at La Villa, but it was better. I thought the food and drinks were overpriced. We ventured offsite for dinner a few times and really enjoyed Jungle Pizza, which is owned by Americans and just down the street from the Tides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HQ
Business
Chicago, Illinois USA
Aug 30, 2010

Outstanding Food and Service

I got an outstanding room with ocean view, the room was ready, very clean and inviting, the staff was very corteous and waiting for my our arrival, staff went out of their way to help and service by the beach front was stellar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UKTrojan69
Business
Blue Bell, PA
Jul 13, 2014

What an Incredible Experience

We just returned from a one week stay at the Viceroy Zihuatanejo. WOW! Since our visit last year at the same time, WOW!. The staff was attentive and beyond professional before we even arrived. Email exchanges with the various department of the hotel were stress-free. The room (23) was AWESOME. It was a second story unit with a private pool right off the deck surround by lush foliage. As we walked into the room, we were amazed at the layout and attention to detail. It was the perfect size for a vacation room, there was a great piece of art left on the top of a pillow on the bed. The art was a bird made of individual pieces of flowers and leafs. The first night, we ate dinner at the beachfront restaurant. Talk about a gourmet experience. The scallop carpaccio and octopus sopes were absolutely awesome. The main course and wine selection was perfect. ALL the meals had at the hotel were the best. We don't know if a new chef calls the Viceroy home now, but the meals were fantastic. The hotel staff engaging, courteous, and anticipatory. The were a warm group that was eager to engage in all manner of conversation; from World Cup to national and international politics. The Viceroy staff really did make the vacation special. The Viceroy has the absolutely best location on Playa La Ropa. You will be glad if, on your next visit to Zihuatanejo, you experience the Viceroy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The dining at the Viceroy Zihuatanejo is outstanding. But if you are looking for a breathtaking dining experience, check out La Escollera across the road from Los Condominios Punta Marina. You will be glad you did.

Back to menu Return to top