$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Viceroy Zihuatanejo

4 stars
Playa La Ropa S/N, Col. La Ropa, Zihuatanejo, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Incredible getaway

The best hotel The service great Zihuatanejo its a very nice beach and have the best wheather The... See full review

  • lilliam
  • Sep 16, 2014
The best hotel in zihuatanejo.

We love the food and the hospitality The beach is great See full review

  • lilliam
  • Jul 23, 2014
A superlative experience on Mexico’s Gold Coast
Situated along Zihuatanejo Bay among palm trees, lush gardens and waterfalls, the acclaimed Viceroy Zihuatanejo is known as one of Mexico's most romantic getaways. Each room and suite is tastefully decorated with sleek furnishings and traditional Mexican handcrafts, providing the perfect blend of rustic charm and contemporary style. A 600-foot stretch of private beach in front of the Viceroy Zihuatanejo features teak lounge chairs and individual palapas. Attentive service and casual elegance make this award-winning resort one to remember.
Highlights
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Suites include private outdoor infinity pools
  • Five restaurants and bars, cooking classes and exclusive wine dinner
  • Lavish on-site spa and restorative yoga classes
Rooms
The Viceroy Zihuatanejo features 46 adobe-inspired villas with accommodation units equipped with private terrace or balcony and overlook Zihuatanejo Bay or the resort's gardens. Also included are up-to-date amenities -- air conditioning, flat-panel TVs, DVD players, iPod docking stations -- for guests' comfort and convenience.

Features
Guests spend much of their time soaking in the sunshine on the hotel's private beach. The Viceroy Zihuatanejo features four swimming pools, including an infinity pool that provides crystal clear reflections of the palm trees surrounding it. Active guests enjoy using the resort's open-air, palapa-topped fitness center and taking part in scuba diving, surfing or sailing in the waters along Playa la Ropa. For those who wish to explore even further afield, the neighboring resort town of Ixtapa is a short drive from the Viceroy Zihuatanejo.
 
After a day of lounging, swimming or sightseeing, indulge in veal ossobuco risotto, penne porcini or a grilled seafood sampler at La Marea at the Viceroy Zihuatanejo.
Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (7.9 mi/12.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa las Gatas (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Magic World water park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (5.3 mi/8.6 km) 
  • Isla Ixtapa (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting and event space available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viceroy Zihuatanejo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viceroy Zihuatanejo Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room - Split level with sittting area and garden views.
Lagoon Suite
Lagoon Suite - king canopy bed - plunge pool and view of lagoon.
Two Bedroom Garden Suite
Garden Suite-2 bdroom with 1 king and 1 queen with plunge pool-hammock-garden view
Beach Suite
Beach Suite-one bedroom with plunge pool and view of Playa La Ropa.
Two Bedroom Lagoon Suite
Two Bedroom Lagoon Suite - spacious living area and private plunge pool.
Two Bedroom Beach Suite
Two Bedroom Beach Suite-terrace and plunge pool with a prime view of Playa La Ropa.
Penthouse Suite
Penthouse Suite one bedroom with king bed-plunge pool-ocean views
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite - 2 Bedroom with plunge pool

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Trouser press

Dining

LA Marea
Mediterranean and Mexican style- Open for lunch and dinner only. Casual and fun setting at the bar- outside on the large wooden deck- or inside in close proximity to the action in the open kitchen. If given a days notice- anything can be prepared for the
Coral Bar
A friendly sanctuary superior margaritas- mean martinis and some of the most adddictive concoctions- 400pm to 1100 pm. Most recently- an extensive and fine controlled wine cellar has been built accomodating wines from France- Chile- the US as well as the
LA VILLA
La Villa Restaurant is open from 800 am to 1100 pm daily and features excellent Pacific-Mexican cuisine- Mexican/French/Intl- with an emphasis on local ingredients and only the freshest seafood. A special Mexican Fiesta with a large buffet and live entert

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elcaptain
Business
Beverly Hills
Jan 14, 2013

viceroy

The hotel is perfectly located on the beach. The rooms are somewhat older and in need of update. Service is great and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bonitamuchachita
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2012

AMAZING! A+

We choose Zihua for our anniversary trip, absolutely loved it!!! The beach front that this hotel is located in, is perfect for children. Very calm! weather ( in nov was perfect) The staff is amazing! & THE FOOD ( a bit on the expensive side) WAS DELICIOUS! nothing but great things about this hotel. If you want a quiet, relaxing, soothing time.... this is the place to go. =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

food is very expensive at hotel. Its better to drive a few miles down to get some nice mex food at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BarnabyBop
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2012

Amazing Holiday

Upon arriving we received a tour of the hotel and the gorgeous grounds. There are three swimming pools, two restaurants, a large beach with comfortable lounge areas, gift shop, spa and fitness room. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and clean. Twice daily maid service included floral surprises. The staff was attentive and helpful. We took a nap in the early evening on our first night and missed dinner hours. We phoned room service but they were closed too. However, they immediately sent someone to take our order. Food was delivered quickly. At one point in the trip I realized I didn't have my allergy medicine. The hotel was nice enough to run to a pharmacy and pick up some up for me. The hotel staff really went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. This truly was a week in paradise. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the special buffet dinners on offer certain nights of the week. Many delicious local foods are on offer. For extra romance, enjoy dinner on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manson
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Apr 1, 2012

Winter getaway

The Viceroy was a class act from check in all the way through to checkout. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and discrete. Loved the beach front location and the close proximity to town. We enjoyed having our meals delivered to our private balcony or to our palapa when we were enjoying the sun. The food was good but we did have better meals at some of the other resorts. We also enjoyed the adult pool being separate from the kids pool as it gave us a very quiet and relaxing vacation. Also a very safe feeling location whether in town or the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the beach restaurants next door have pretty close to the same breakfasts and lunches for half the price. Stuff like tacos, fajitas, seafood... Good clean food that won't make you sick. About 200m from resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chayobiscoito
Business
New York
Mar 8, 2012

Me time: great for traveling solo too

This was my second time traveling solo at the The Tides, now Viceroy and it was more wonderful than the last. This is not a "singles" resort -- lots of marrieds and couples, but a great place for some "me time" as well. The property is well kept and beautiful. The staff is truly exceptional who not only have a strong work ethic, but truly make you feel at home in the most sincere of ways from the point of arrival to departure...to an inevitable return to the property. All making a stay feel like a visit to a perfect home with good old friends. Definitely worth the decadent splurge on myself for a few days away. For Playa La Ropa, this is the best most comfortable location on the beach--beach chairs, service, view. If you're up for kayaking, paddle boarding or sailing or really anything you might want to try as far a water sports-- Miguel is your guy! Friendly, safe, fun and more than happy to teach--beyond fantastic for all ages. Definitely take time to let him show you the bay. The property has a ton of other things to do--but if your thing is to do absolutely nothing but tune out and maybe read or just watch the day pass in perfect Zihua weather. This is the place. While Mexico is having a major PR problem with safety concerns for tourists--there was NOT a moment I felt unsafe at this property. Security is ever present but totally inconspicuous 24/7. It's what you would expect from anywhere that had your best interest as their first priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you're up for kayaking, paddle boarding or sailing or really anything you might want to try as far a water sports-- Miguel is your man! SO friendly, fun and more than happy to teach--beyond fantastic for all ages. Definitely take time to let him show you the bay or let you play in the water like the old days at camp! The property has a ton of other things to do--but if your thing is to do absolutely nothing but tune out and maybe read or just watch the day pass in perfect Zihua weather. This is the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WASarita
Business
Port Angeles, WA
Feb 18, 2012

A very elegant getaway

We spent a week here, after having many years of experience in Zihuatanejo. The staff is amazing, and upon hearing your room number, will generally know your name as well. The rooms are very comfortable, with great beds (sometimes a rarity in Zihua) and are kept very clean. My only complaint is that it is so well run according to North American standards, that you are a bit insulated from a true Mexican experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Chuleto downtown (walk or take a cab) for the grilled quail

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmiD
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great trip!

we had an amazing trip- great food & staff! The location is also central to town. One complaint is that the rooms were on the smaller side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simple doc
Business
chicago
Apr 3, 2011

Fantastic community

Wonderful service and a really unique community which is charming, pampering, with great culture. Small but sprawling and Absolutely safe! Great views at some the local Restaurants yet plenty to enjoy on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach venders for fishing and all other activities are safe and worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Stahl's
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Nov 2, 2010

Beautiful Hotel!

The service and staff were amazing and the food was very good. The Superior room was nice though a little outdated. My husband was disappointed there was not a coffee machine in the room. The gym had great treadmill and eliptical machines but the stationary weight station was not very user friendly. I would liked to have seen a few yoga mats for stretcing and an excercise ball or two. The pool was very nice and the waiters were very engaging and attentive. The property is very clean and well maintained. A perfect place for a quiet getaway :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Though the food at the Tides is very good it is a bit pricey. There are many restaurants within walking distance along the beach or a short cab ride away that are also very good but more affordable. We always got to Serena Gorda for the best fish tacos in Zihua!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HQ
Business
Chicago, Illinois USA
Aug 30, 2010

Outstanding Food and Service

I got an outstanding room with ocean view, the room was ready, very clean and inviting, the staff was very corteous and waiting for my our arrival, staff went out of their way to help and service by the beach front was stellar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top