$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Villa Mexicana

3 stars
Playa De La Ropa S/ N, Zihuatanejo, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
41 reviews
8th visit and still as good!!

As the title say this is our 8th visit to Villa Mexicana in as many years, standard stays the same... See full review

  • gilbernownero
  • Mar 20, 2014
Beautiful place right on the beach!

We have stayed at Villa Mexican many times and have loved it each time. The staff at this hotel go... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 4, 2013
Oceanfront hotel with home-style cooking, beach bar and rustic charm
The gentle waves at Playa la Ropa set the stage for a relaxing, restorative stay at the oceanfront Hotel Villa Mexicana. This popular Zihuatanejo hotel on Mexico’s Pacific coast offers charming guest rooms and family suites, most with private terraces and ocean views. While away an afternoon under a breezy palapa or stop in the beach bar for a cerveza or margarita. The staff at the Hotel Villa Mexicana arranges activities such as horseback riding and deep sea fishing, or excursions to nearby Ixtapa or Isla Ixtapa.
Highlights
  • Villa Pandilla kids' program
  • Two pools
  • Family suites available
  • On-site Doña Prudencia restaurant

 

Rooms
Most of the 64 guest rooms at Hotel Villa Mexicana include a private terrace with ocean views. All accommodations feature air conditioning, in-room safes, cable TV and telephones. Choose from one king or two double beds, or select a family suite that boasts two double beds and a king. In guest rooms and throughout the hotel, bright purple and terracotta colors accentuate the tropical setting.

 

Features
For delicious Mexican and international cuisine, look no further than the Doña Prudencia restaurant at Hotel Villa Mexicana. Home-style specialties include chicken with mushrooms and seafood-stuffed potatoes. Room service is available.
 
For a relaxing retreat, enjoy the resort's two pools, a beach club with individual palapas, chaise lounges and a beach bar. Guests seeking more adventure easily find fishing, golfing, kayaking, sailing, scuba diving and hiking throughout Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo. Hotel Villa Mexicana staff help plan any outing. 

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (5.7 mi/9.3 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (7.8 mi/12.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Playa la Gatas (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Magic World water park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (5.4 mi/8.6 km) 
  • Isla Ixtapa (7.9 mi/12.7 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting and event space available

Hotel Map

17.6321 -101.5468
Area served
Zihuatanejo
Nearby airports
Only a 15 minuts from the International Airport of Zihuatanejo.
Area description
The hotel is located right on the La Ropa beach, one of the warmest, romantic and loveliest beaches of Mexico.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Villa Mexicana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Villa Mexicana Rooms

Standard Plus
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with cable TV, telephone, safety deposit box, and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dona Prudencia
The famous restaurant “Dona Prudencia” serves the most splendid Mexican cuisine dishes in town, a must for those claiming for the best.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Villa Mexicana

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 41
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gilbernownero
Huntington beach,CA
Mar 20, 2014

8th visit and still as good!!

As the title say this is our 8th visit to Villa Mexicana in as many years, standard stays the same staff are friendly and helpful food is good quality and value. I only have one criticism and that is the access to the pools, there are no handrails on any of the gorgeous pools so if you have even minor mobility issues then it is quite a trauma to get in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soon to be gramdmom
San Francisco, Ca
Jan 11, 2014

Value for money

3 star hotel very well situated on neautiful La Ropa beach. Close to tiwn friendly staff. Would happily return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ Alaska
Anchorage, Alaska
May 9, 2013

Great value hotel

Value is the key here. The rooms and grounds are basic, but the hotel is located right on the beach and very close to all activities. The staff is very friendly and can offer advice on activities. There is lots of shade from the palm trees lining the beach, and plenty palapas to lounge under. The beach is public and has plenty of activity. We were there in the middle of April and found it a very restful place. Would we go back? Yes! One thing, you could not call the US from your room, there is a pay phone on the street. WiFi is available, but you can only connect at the beach bar or restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, its one of the best on the beach, and has superb service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ted Ci
Long Island, NY
Apr 27, 2013

Unbeatable!

I hadn't been back to Zihuatanejo in almost 16 years but I had always remembered the Villa Mexicana. My recollection was always that it was in an ideal location on La Ropa and although I don't believe it was ever considered a 5 star hotel, it was very well appointed. Nothing has changed... (and that's a good thing!) The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are kind of basic but CLEAN and the pools are excellent. I can't attest to the restaurant since we had not eaten there but I'm sure it is good as well. I guarantee that for the money there is not a better hotel on a more beautiful beach ANYWHERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conifer Co
Mar 4, 2013

Beautiful place right on the beach!

We have stayed at Villa Mexican many times and have loved it each time. The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The locations could be no better as it is located on the beautiful La Ropa beach. The restaurant is one of the best too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The fishing is fun and can be easily arranged at the pier in Zihuatanejo.

Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EYE SPY
Vanc. Canad
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely week

We found this hotel to be well located on a lovely beach. Staff were friendly. Food a little bland, but had an awesome "Flan". Lots of renovations being done but workmen considerate. Beds a bit hard, pillows could of been of higher quality. Could have used more furniture, chair and place (bench) to put our suitcases. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to walk to Las Gatas. Loved Otila's Restaurant on the beach there. Fabulous food.

Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockin Johnny M
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2013

All you need, close to everything

This place is where we always stay in Zihuatenejo. It's right on the beach...only two stories tall. If you get the downstairs rooms right by the pool they are the best. They have massages available on the beach every single day for $30/hour. or walk a few feet down the beach and get them for $20/hour. There are restaurants all over the beach, you merely walk to wherever you want. Mini mart next door for cheap water and snacks is handy. The wifi works but you have to be in just the right place, like the bar next to the pool. The staff are friendly enough, and they are glad to exchange your money at a fair exchange rate any time you want. Rooms have a/c and televisions. We always feel safe at this hotel, they have a guy roaming around keeping an eye on things all the time. They don't let the beach vendors even step foot into the property so no getting approached all the time. For the money you can't beat this place. It's flat, easy on your back if you don't get around so well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can eat for very cheap on the beach, but make sure you splurge and get a couple nice lobster dinners while you are there. It doesn't get any better than eating at a beach restaurant with your honey, with your feet in the sand being waited on hand and foot with fresh seafood. And don't forget the margueritas.

Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sewer swimmer
Kenmore Wa.
Jun 27, 2012

Might not be the best choice for humans

Hotel grounds were clean and staff very friendly. Beds very unconfortable but hey, it's Mexico. Now for the not so pleasant... The large pool had many folks in it eating food and drinking. The adults only rule is not enforced. After marinating in it for a majority of the day we noticed that there was a very large amount of food, hair, skin, and other unidentifiable items in the water. There is a raw sewage problem on the left side of the property (facing the ocean) this drain does and will leach sewage into the water directly in front of the resort when the Mexican drainage system does and will occasionally overflow. The locals don't seem to mind??Not fit for humans trying to avoid swimming in sewage. Unfortunatley, this was not noticed/ realized until the end of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitly eat at Medditraneo restaraunt in downtown Zihuatanejo

Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spokane
Spokane, WA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Winter Vacation

We have been going here for the last three years and we love it. The location doesn't get any better for the price and the staff is always friendly. The beds and the drink prices are a bit stiff. However there are a couple mini-marts right next door to buy drinks from. We have been to Cancun, Cabo and Puerto Vallarta and we keep coming back here to visit Mexico for real.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is Paty's which has great breakfast, lunch,dinner and massages. Much better than the hotel itself and at cheap prices (except for the massages).

Review of Hotel Villa Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth Lynn
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 28, 2011

Best vacation

The hotel was beautiful, clean and excellent location. The staff takes very good care of the property. Food was very good and especially the snack menu and breakfast menu were very reasonably priced. Many good restuarants are a short walk away. You can easily walk to town or take a taxi for around $4usd. We would definitely stay here again. My husband is a commerical airline pilot and I am a flight attendant so we have stayed in many hotels. We would recommend Hotel Villa Mexicana to anyone looking for peace relaxation and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search