Hotel Villa Mexicana ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$76
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016
4 /5
Overall score
92%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Plus Garden or Garden View
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

The gentle waves at Playa la Ropa set the stage for a relaxing, restorative stay at the oceanfront Hotel Villa Mexicana. This popular Zihuatanejo hotel on Mexico’s Pacific coast offers charming guest rooms and family suites, most with private terraces and ocean views. While away an afternoon under a breezy palapa or stop in the beach bar for a cerveza or margarita. The staff at the Hotel Villa Mexicana arranges activities such as horseback riding and deep sea fishing, or excursions to nearby Ixtapa or Isla Ixtapa.

Rooms

Most of the 64 guest rooms at Hotel Villa Mexicana include a private terrace with ocean views. All accommodations feature air conditioning, in-room safes, cable TV and telephones. Choose from one king or two double beds, or select a family suite that boasts two double beds and a king. In guest rooms and throughout the hotel, bright purple and terracotta colors accentuate the tropical setting.

 

Property features

For delicious Mexican and international cuisine, look no further than the Doña Prudencia restaurant at Hotel Villa Mexicana. Home-style specialties include chicken with mushrooms and seafood-stuffed potatoes. Room service is available.
 
For a relaxing retreat, enjoy the resort's two pools, a beach club with individual palapas, chaise lounges and a beach bar. Guests seeking more adventure easily find fishing, golfing, kayaking, sailing, scuba diving and hiking throughout Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo. Hotel Villa Mexicana staff help plan any outing. 

 

Highlights

  • Villa Pandilla kids' program
  • Two pools
  • Family suites available
  • On-site Doña Prudencia restaurant

 

Nearby attractions

  • Playa la Gatas (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Magic World water park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (5.4 mi/8.6 km) 
  • Isla Ixtapa (7.9 mi/12.7 km)

 

Business

  • Business center
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting and event space available

Transportation

  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (5.7 mi/9.3 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (7.8 mi/12.5 km)

 

Dining

Dona Prudencia
The famous restaurant “Dona Prudencia” serves the most splendid Mexican cuisine dishes in town, a must for those claiming for the best.

Recommendations for you

Hotel Irma

★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$56
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$83
Guest score 4.5 / 5
$162

Las Brisas Ixtapa

★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$90
Guest score 0.0 / 5
$126
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$52

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • Pool

Activities

  • Pool

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking

Reviews

4 /5 Overall score

92% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.6/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 3.7/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 4.3/5

great staff great location

Would recommend Mon, Dec 14, 2015
We stayed at this hotel after reading other guests reviews and they were right on the money.The hotel may have not been 5 star but was very clean had a great location and the staff were all wonderful.We will be returning.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Most terrible experience ever

Would not recommend Sun, Nov 1, 2015
was the most disappointing place I have ever stayed I booked through your site and was told any amount when I went to pay they charged my double when I question this they told me I had to pay 19 tax $16.00 sea view and the breakfast charge which They told me was included.I think this is deceitful and I think customers should be warned about this practice and I did complain so the next time I went they put me in the last back room next to the workshop with no wifi or hot water. and I had no meals there so I wasn't charge again like before I would never give this hotel a good rating it was a disgrace

| N/A Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Enjoyable beach hotel for the price

Would recommend Sat, Oct 24, 2015
The positives of this hotel is their great location directly on the beach and their wonderful staff...many who are now friends. The pool was refreshing and clean, the food was good and you have great access to many activities and other restaurants and bars on Playa La Ropa. The negatives are the rooms, especially the showers and sink area need maintenance and the Internet is horrible. Unfortunately, I had a lot of work to do and the lack of a good signal prevented me from getting much done. Overall a very good value for your money, but they should invest in their infrastructure and make it enjoyable and productive.

| N/A Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Family trip

Would recommend Wed, Jul 29, 2015
Our experience it was fantastic. But we didn't like the manager, she wasn't friendly with customers, and all day she was reading in the restaurant.

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great time!

Would recommend Mon, Jul 27, 2015
The staff was very helpful, and was able to solve all of our doubts and situations. We had a wonderful time, and would surely return.

| QUERETARO Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Another fun Mexican trip

Would recommend Wed, Jan 14, 2015
Our only complaint was people reserving lounge chairs with towels and then not sitting in them! The hotel does not require "checking in or out" towels which seemed to encourage people to place on chairs early or night before and then not use. Frustrating on the days we wanted to sit.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

8th visit and still as good!!

Would recommend Thu, Mar 20, 2014
As the title say this is our 8th visit to Villa Mexicana in as many years, standard stays the same staff are friendly and helpful food is good quality and value. I only have one criticism and that is the access to the pools, there are no handrails on any of the gorgeous pools so if you have even minor mobility issues then it is quite a trauma to get in and out.

| Huntington beach,CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Value for money

Would recommend Sat, Jan 11, 2014
3 star hotel very well situated on neautiful La Ropa beach. Close to tiwn friendly staff. Would happily return

| San Francisco, Ca Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great value hotel

Would recommend Thu, May 9, 2013
Value is the key here. The rooms and grounds are basic, but the hotel is located right on the beach and very close to all activities. The staff is very friendly and can offer advice on activities. There is lots of shade from the palm trees lining the beach, and plenty palapas to lounge under. The beach is public and has plenty of activity. We were there in the middle of April and found it a very restful place. Would we go back? Yes! One thing, you could not call the US from your room, there is a pay phone on the street. WiFi is available, but you can only connect at the beach bar or restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, its one of the best on the beach, and has superb service.

| Anchorage, Alaska Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Unbeatable!

Would recommend Sat, Apr 27, 2013
I hadn't been back to Zihuatanejo in almost 16 years but I had always remembered the Villa Mexicana. My recollection was always that it was in an ideal location on La Ropa and although I don't believe it was ever considered a 5 star hotel, it was very well appointed. Nothing has changed... (and that's a good thing!) The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are kind of basic but CLEAN and the pools are excellent. I can't attest to the restaurant since we had not eaten there but I'm sure it is good as well. I guarantee that for the money there is not a better hotel on a more beautiful beach ANYWHERE!!!

| Long Island, NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$76
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016