$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

3 stars
Playa la Ropa 23350, Zihuatanejo, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
14 reviews
Great Hotel On Playa La Ropa

Great Hotel on the beach. Excellent staff and service. Restaurant is the unsung hero of... See full review

  • w9pkb
  • Dec 11, 2013
loved it

We were in an older room that was just the basics. There were other options that were more upscale.... See full review

  • Katie14
  • Apr 13, 2013
Charming private hotel with a proud history on Mexico’s Gold Coast
A proud pioneer of tourism in Zihuatanejo -- and, over the years, host to guests from Italy's King Umberto II to Mick Jagger -- the Catalina Beach Resort hasn't lost its touch in providing guests with a comfortable, personal stay. The hotel is situated among lush tropical gardens on a hill overlooking the white sand beaches and Pacific waters of Zihuatanejo Bay at Playa la Ropa. Catalina Beach Resort suites and bungalows benefit from sea breezes and the gentle sound of waves touching the shore.
Highlights
  • Childcare available
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Freshwater infinity pool with swim-up bar
  • On-site Linda Vista Restaurant


Rooms
Room options at the Catalina Beach Resort range from small casitas to the honeymoon suite bungalow. All accommodations include terraces with two chaise lounges, hammock and sitting area overlooking the bay. Charming casitas are close to the beach and pool, include a refrigerator and are cooled by ocean breezes and ceiling fans. Larger suites and bungalows include air conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV and, like all rooms at Catalina Beach Resort, highlight the fantastic Pacific views that keep guests coming back to this region year after year.

 


Features
The Catalina Beach Resort concierge arranges outings and activities such as kayaking, surfing, sailing and massage therapies, though many guests find that lounging under a beach palapa with a drink is the best way to spend a Zihua afternoon. The freshwater infinity pool sits on the bottom of the hill, overlooking the sandy white beach and the picturesque Bay of Zihuatanejo. Swim up to the Palapa Pool Bar for a refreshing cocktail.
 
To recharge after a day of napping and watching the waves roll in, visit the Catalina Beach Resort Linda Vista restaurant, where the aroma of Huele de Noche bushes wafts through the al fresco dining area. Selections include Mexican chilaquiles for breakfast, and steaks and fresh seafood for dinner. Room service is available. The hotel's Panoramic Sunset Bar is popular with both guests and locals.


Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (1.2 mi/1.9 km)


Attractions
  • Playa las Gatas (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (5.3 mi/8.5 km) 
  • Isla Ixtapa (7.8 mi/12.6 km)


Business
  • Meeting and event space available

Hotel Map

17.6269 -101.5471
Area served
Zihuatanejo
Nearby airports
International Airport: 8 Miles North of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo Airport (ZIH)
Domestic Airport: 8 Miles North of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo Aiport (ZIH)
Area description
Zihuatanejo is the dream "getaway" talked about in the movie "The Shawshank Redemption". This is an old World Mexican fishing village nestled around a small bay dotted with beautiful protected beaches and no high rises

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Catalina Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Catalina Beach Resort Rooms

Small Casita
A slightly smaller room than the Standard Casita, The room is located close to the beach and swimming pool. The room has 1 single and 1 double size bed , ocean breeze-and fan cooled (Not Air-Conditioned),small fridge, a porch with a hammock, and two chaise-lounges.
Standard Casita
Room with one singel and one double zie bed or two double size beds or one king-size bed, breeze-and fan cooled (not Air-Conditioned, No T.V ), telephone, refrigerator. Closest room to the beach with a private terrace and great ocean view.
Deluxe Bungalow
Rooms with Mexican style decoration, large terrace with the best ocean view, partly roofed and partly for sunbathing, two queen-size bed or one king-size bed, one or two sofas,(wich can be used as beds) telephone, Air-Condiitoned, regrigerator,T.V..
Linda Vista Suite
Recently built the rooms are new and have elegant Mexican style furniture, very private cozy terraces with a small living room and spectacular view, telephone,Private Safe, Air-Condiitoned, refrigerator, T.V., .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Catalina Beach Resort offers 3 unequaled areas for Weddings. The Linda Vista Restaurant, Panoramic Sunset Bar, Private Beach Area can be used for either the Wedding Ceremony or Reception Dinner. For more details please contatc us directly .

Dining

Linda Vista Restaurante
Our Restaurant is situated on the opposite side of the bay's entrance, providing it with a refreshing breeze and beautiful view of the bay and Las Gatas Beach. Nearby "Huele de Noche" bushes with tiny white flowers give a lovely fragrance to the whole area.
Our menu includes a great selection of local dishes prepared with fresh local ingredients as well as more contemporary Western fare. Below are just a few examples:
Continental Breakfast: freshly squeezed juice of oranges, grapefruits or papayas, a plate of fresh tropical fruits of the season, rolls, marmalade, butter, coffee, tea, milk or hot chocolate.
American Breakfast: freshly pressed juice, a plate of tropical fruits of the season, 2 eggs any style with ham, bacon or sausages, chilaquiles, French toast, hotcakes with honey, hot or cold cereals, rolls marmalade, butter, coffee, tea, milk Breakfast a la carte: ...
Lunch a la carte: diversity of delicious dishes.
Dinner a la carte: fine soups, hearty salads, New Yo
Panoramic Sunset Bar
Named for its breathtaking view over the Zihuatanejo bay and gorgeous sunsets. Also well known for its delicious tropical drinks, this bar is visited by both guests and locals who fill the bar during the happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
w9pkb
Business
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Dec 11, 2013

Great Hotel On Playa La Ropa

Great Hotel on the beach. Excellent staff and service. Restaurant is the unsung hero of Zihautanejo, excellent food and presentation, service to match. This hotel does not have all the amenities but offers an excellent hotel experience at a budget cost. Views of the bay are breathtaking from almost anywhere within the hotel property. We are going to return next year and bring other family members to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Fiesta in town on Fri. Sat. and Sunday, at the Basketball Court Downtown Zihua Fun evening for entire family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie14
Business
Washington
Apr 13, 2013

loved it

We were in an older room that was just the basics. There were other options that were more upscale. The grounds, retaurants, pool were all perfect. The cost of meals was great and the staff was amazing. It is a very steep incline where it is located so not good for those with physical setbacks and elderly people. The views were breathtaking and the area was lush with trees and flowers. The beach was right there and had every excursion you would want. No need for a car, cabs were great. Can not drink the water but food and drinks with ice were no problem. Very close to the airport (Ixtapa). We had no issues with any bugs, but saw great wildlife in and out of the water. Loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Linda Vista restaurant is at the hotel, the food was the best food I have ever had in Mexico let alone many other places. The staff was so professional and friendly. The fish was freshly caught and amazing. Great prices and we charged it all to our room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbimbo
Business
boulder, co
Mar 2, 2013

on the beach

Clean, friendly hotel on the beach at La Ropa. Good food and reasonably priced--willig to cook to our preferences. Room was mediocre, in need of an upgrade, but a great view from the patio. Noisy--we had a loud family and cranky baby next to us in a room that wasn't close to full. Lots of steps to climb--you have to be in shape to stay here. Pool was clean, beautiful. Beach palapas were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunday brunch at La Vieja neare Madera Beach. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamieb
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Wonderful place!

Catalina Beach Resort was wonderful. Playa la Ropa is a beautiful beach to stay on and they had a wonderful set up of loungers and shade right on the beach. It was a bit strange getting used to only having screens on the windows, but I quickly became pretty comfortable with my surroundings. There are a whole lot of stairs here, so just be prepared to get a bit of a calf work-out. I would most definitely stay here if I return to Zihuatanejo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas tx
Apr 23, 2011

catalnia beach resort

the beach and scenery was beautiful. the activities were reasonably priced. jet skis about 35 per half hour. food was very good at the hotel. my compliments to the shef for a job very well done. the staff was very friendly and helfpull! good hotel. the one bad thing is all the stairs you climb to the resturant if you are the lower level. from the beach to the lobby is about 180 stairs so bring some walking shoes. if you dont mind that then its gorgeous. beds were a little hard but we had the cheapest room so waht do you expect...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

not to far its about 50 pesos to go from the hotel to the market and another 50 to go back. the town is nice but didt offer much for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and 2 picky kids
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 8, 2011

Unbeatable for the price

I agree with the poster about not getting a small casita...we did at first but I immediately upgraded for $25 more per night and was extremely satisfied with our room (a newly remodeled one). Cleaned every day which we didn't need but we didn't have a sign to put out. Great food, and the staff were very helpful and personable. Loved the Sunset Bar and Beach Bar. Gorgeous views from all over the hotel. There is construction going on at this hotel and next door, but it was never distracting. Infinity pool was perfect...beach was wonderful and they are right there with food and drinks if you ask. I caution about the numerous stairs but I must not be in too great shape because no one else seemed to complain! The stairs did add to the charm of the resort. This was a very relaxing place to stay if you want to steer clear of the more touristy areas in Ixtapa. All in all, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culinary Kate
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 22, 2011

Don't get a casita

We needed a hotel to stay at one night before transferring on to the condo we were renting for the week. Upon arrival Catalina reminded me more of a youth hostel/pension than a hotel, and the small casita we rented was on the same level of quality. All the way down by the pool in room 13, we had two double beds, a fridge and a bathroom and ceiling fan... its classification should lay somewhere between rustic and dumpy, though I must admit it was clean. The bed was hard and equipped with two lumpy pillows. The restaurants, bar and beach area are all quite lovely and I'm sure if you upgraded to some of the higher quality rooms it would be quite nice, but I can't recommend staying in a small casita under any circumstance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The sunset bar has 2/1 happy hours from 6-8. Their margaritas and mojitos were divine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Nov 21, 2010

Beautiful location

When we arrived at Catalina Beach Resort we were given a complimentary upgrade to a Bungalow from a Standard room. It was spotlessly cleaned every day. The staff was helpful in planning tours, trips to town, logistics of taxis, etc. The breakfast was delicious and selected from a menu. Purified water and ice were plentiful. The views were stunning from our private porch and terrace. The beach was the best on La Ropa with large palapas, beach towels, safe surf for wading and swimming. Wifi was available in the dining room at no extra charge. Catalina would be a perfect place for a family --a relaxed, cozy atmosphere. There are lots of steps to navigate in the resort. Can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 3, 2010

Mehhhhhhhh

The overall stay was not too bad. There were many areas where improvement was necessary. The hotel was also under construction and was in need of come general clean up outside. The beach was very nice not too crowded & had very few people selling stuff on the beach. But the AC didn't work well and made the nights hot & uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

there are many activities everyone can enjoy on the beach like boating, kayaking, snorkeling for very cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Catalina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward,Ca.
Sep 15, 2010

"Fantastic family getaway""Unbeatable "

The personel, very friendly and helfull and special GRACIAS to [...]They provied a good information for the area like Barra de Potosi,Playa Linda and El Centro.Catalina Resort is a nice place to stay,keep you in shape and rest.Thanks to [...] and her personel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We are Mercado costumers but this resort have a exelet food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top