$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Hotel Aura del Mar

3 stars
View map of Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n, s/n Col. Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
18 reviews
great stay

This is a funky little hotel perched on the hill above Madera beach. Only 30 rooms spread over 8... See full review

  • steverl
  • Mar 24, 2015
Relaxing Location

We went to Zihua for an escape. The hotel was so relaxing. Staff was friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Tropical charm in a small family owned hotel. Let the sea breeze caress your hair and the waves sing their melodies for you. In this Mexican style hotel every suite has a private terrace overlooking the beautiful Zihuatanejo bay. The hotel is located right in the beach. The hotel has a pool, a restaurant and a terrace bar. Come and enjoy the homemade hospitality. Amenities - Barbecue area, Billiards, Children's facilities, Lobby, Reception.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Aura del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Aura del Mar Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The junior suite has also a private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Junior Suite Jacuzzi Room
Junior Suite Jacuzzi Room offers one king bed or two double beds with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The junior suite jacuzzi has also a private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Family Suite
Family Suite offers one king bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The family suite has also a seating area, private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Master Suite with jacuzzi
Master Suite with jacuzzi offers one king bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The Master suite has a very nice private terrace overlooking the beautiful Zihuatanejo Bay with a Jacuzzi a hammock and two lounge chairs.
Bahia Suite
Bahia Suite offers one king size bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Aura del Mar

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitzman
Business
Portand Oregon
Dec 16, 2012

Staff and location outstanding.

I will go back to this hotel again. Other than the fishing fleet sending dead fish ashore along the beech and a plugged shower drain,( both situations out of their control), the entire work force help make this a very nice get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmelitas cafe breakfast or lunch, and La Gula for a four star diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Reina
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 9, 2014

3rd stay at Aura del Mar still great as ever

Although its name has changed (formerly Brisas del Mar), this small hotel on Playa Madera remains a wonderful spot for relaxation and exploring Zihuatanejo. The concierge Carlos helped us arrange a fishing trip with a very good captain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
totallychilled
Business
nyc
Feb 15, 2014

Location, the staff, the room - perfecto

We'd always stayed on the other beach, which is longer and perhaps more pleasant, but this hotel is so well located, making it a great change as we went into town easily and happily. The staff is delightful and we had a wonderful room with an enormous patio, complete with jacuzzi and kitchen, which was terrific as we were there for 8 days (never enough time in Zijua). We ate in town so I can't speak to the restaurant, but they attended to our needs and were most accommodating. The bed was king-sized and super comfortable. The wi-fi was erratic but we managed. The bathroom was fabulous and the view is incredible. We got a lot of bang for the peso.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carmelita's for lunch or brunch, have chicken at the dive (Meson de Chong) and mahi mahi tacos (guacamole too) at the restaurant on the beach with the Tecate signs to the right of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauriebarbie
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Beautiful hotel!

Brisas del Mar is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city! The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The beach and pool areas were very well done. It was a little on the expensive side for some others near it but totally worth the extra money. The only thing missing was a ceiling fan in the room (they have AC but it is very noisy). Cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant down the beach called La Rana Rene was amazing! Great food and nice people. Try the chicken fajitas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nordlanders
Business
Oregon, USA
Feb 20, 2012

A wonderful getaway !

This hotel is not brand new, does not stick twenty stories into the sky or have a gilded atrium or glass bottomed pool. Instead it has an impeccably maintained facility right on the beach maintained by a staff who take pride in the profession of providing excellent service. We spent a week here and on our last day were planning our return. Nuffsaid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina 10
Business
Washington State
Dec 29, 2012

Cozy, friendly, homey

Enjoyed it very much. Beds were a bit hard for my taste, but others might like that kind of bed. It was basically a great room, with attentive maid service. Flowers on the made beds every day. Restaurant was quite good as well. Views from the rooms are terrific. Has a boutique hotel feel about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frozen Toes in Michigan
Business
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect location

Great views and pool. Efficient staff. Bar and food service slow at poolside. Bathrooms need updating. Lovely setting. Nice happy hour at sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frozen Toes in Michigan
Business
Michigan
Apr 15, 2013

Best Location

Charming, clean, walking distance to everything! Only downside was after the first day, there was no poolside service. Had to walk down to restaurant/bar for service. Everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ansom
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 23, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

Everything setup for us was just great. Service was excellent, and immediate. I recommend Aura Del Mar to all my friends. I do wish they would acquire an escalator. Our room was located is a very pristine location. The hotel located the perfect fishing vessel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot of places to go to shop, snack, drink close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers0804
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 18, 2012

Perfect boutique hotel with attention to detail, lush gardens, and relaxing lounge chairs

My husband and I traveled to Zihautanejo between Christmas and New Year's. We absolutely loved our vacation, and this was attributed mostly to Brisas del Mar! The grounds are beautifully maintained; around every corner is a small waterfall, plants, or flowers to make you feel like you are on vacation. The location is perfect for walking into downtown along the malecon. The other perk is that if you don’t want to walk, a cab is only 30/35 pesos into town – so cheap! This location is within walking distance of Margaritas for breakfast, and Kau Kan, for dinner. The beach, Playa Madera, is not the most popular in Zihau for tourists, but we found that it makes it much quieter than the more popular Playa la Ropa. However, the sand at Playa la Ropa is softer and lighter. We did not spend any time laying on Playa Madera, and only an hour in the ocean. We preferred the pool area instead. The pool area at Brisas del Mar was our favorite part. This is the exact opposite of high-rise hotels with hundreds of rooms. There were about 20 lounge chairs around the pool and never once were they all full. In addition, they do not play music over speakers, which allows you to hear only the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. The lounge chairs are super comfortable and for those that like to be extra cozy, there are extra wide lounge chairs for two. The waterslide into the pool was surprisingly fast and fun. We enjoyed this every day. They also provide poolside drink and meal service. Martin always did a great job of taking care of us! We stayed in a Master Suite room with a jacuzzi and a hammock on the balcony. Several nights we hung out in the Jacuzzi while watching a movie on a portable dvd player, but the best part was the breathtaking view of the bay in the background. Nearly every morning, we had breakfast on the balcony as well. The room was incredibly spacious (more so, since it was an end unit). The king size bed had soft linens and multiple pillows, so you can choose the one you like best. The beds were beautifully decorated with flower art each day by our maid. She even spelled out Happy New Year for us. It was a thoughtful touch. The air conditioning worked well and cooled down the room in no time. It was quiet when on and operated by remote control, which was nice when wanting to operate it from other parts of the room. The bathroom was just okay. It had double sinks and a european style shower (no door, no curtain). The bath towels were inconsistent. Some were soft and new, others were worn and older. The front desk staff was always helpful, whether with dinning accommodations, cabs, or late checkout. The lobby was decorated with a Christmas tree and nativity scene, which made us feel at home even when on vacation during the holiday season. Carolla is the friendly parrot that hangs out in a little inlet just off the lobby. When we walked by, she would always say, "Hello", just another one of the small details to make you smile on your trip. Brisas del Mar is an excellent choice for your vacation to Zihautanejo! You will be well taken care of and will leave far from disappointed. We can’t wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Coconuts in downtown Zihau for dinner. We ate there for half our dinners! You can walk along the malecon from the hotel if you prefer that to a short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top