$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Hotel Aura del Mar

3 stars
View map of Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n, s/n Col. Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
18 reviews
great stay

This is a funky little hotel perched on the hill above Madera beach. Only 30 rooms spread over 8... See full review

  • steverl
  • Mar 24, 2015
Relaxing Location

We went to Zihua for an escape. The hotel was so relaxing. Staff was friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Tropical charm in a small family owned hotel. Let the sea breeze caress your hair and the waves sing their melodies for you. In this Mexican style hotel every suite has a private terrace overlooking the beautiful Zihuatanejo bay. The hotel is located right in the beach. The hotel has a pool, a restaurant and a terrace bar. Come and enjoy the homemade hospitality. Amenities - Barbecue area, Billiards, Children's facilities, Lobby, Reception.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Aura del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Aura del Mar Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The junior suite has also a private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Junior Suite Jacuzzi Room
Junior Suite Jacuzzi Room offers one king bed or two double beds with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The junior suite jacuzzi has also a private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Family Suite
Family Suite offers one king bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The family suite has also a seating area, private terrace with two lounge chairs and a hammock overlooking the bay.
Master Suite with jacuzzi
Master Suite with jacuzzi offers one king bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone. The Master suite has a very nice private terrace overlooking the beautiful Zihuatanejo Bay with a Jacuzzi a hammock and two lounge chairs.
Bahia Suite
Bahia Suite offers one king size bed with remote controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, nice bathroom and amenities, cable / satellite TV, clothes dryer, color TV, en suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, tea and electric coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Aura del Mar

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers0804
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 18, 2012

Perfect boutique hotel with attention to detail, lush gardens, and relaxing lounge chairs

My husband and I traveled to Zihautanejo between Christmas and New Year's. We absolutely loved our vacation, and this was attributed mostly to Brisas del Mar! The grounds are beautifully maintained; around every corner is a small waterfall, plants, or flowers to make you feel like you are on vacation. The location is perfect for walking into downtown along the malecon. The other perk is that if you don’t want to walk, a cab is only 30/35 pesos into town – so cheap! This location is within walking distance of Margaritas for breakfast, and Kau Kan, for dinner. The beach, Playa Madera, is not the most popular in Zihau for tourists, but we found that it makes it much quieter than the more popular Playa la Ropa. However, the sand at Playa la Ropa is softer and lighter. We did not spend any time laying on Playa Madera, and only an hour in the ocean. We preferred the pool area instead. The pool area at Brisas del Mar was our favorite part. This is the exact opposite of high-rise hotels with hundreds of rooms. There were about 20 lounge chairs around the pool and never once were they all full. In addition, they do not play music over speakers, which allows you to hear only the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. The lounge chairs are super comfortable and for those that like to be extra cozy, there are extra wide lounge chairs for two. The waterslide into the pool was surprisingly fast and fun. We enjoyed this every day. They also provide poolside drink and meal service. Martin always did a great job of taking care of us! We stayed in a Master Suite room with a jacuzzi and a hammock on the balcony. Several nights we hung out in the Jacuzzi while watching a movie on a portable dvd player, but the best part was the breathtaking view of the bay in the background. Nearly every morning, we had breakfast on the balcony as well. The room was incredibly spacious (more so, since it was an end unit). The king size bed had soft linens and multiple pillows, so you can choose the one you like best. The beds were beautifully decorated with flower art each day by our maid. She even spelled out Happy New Year for us. It was a thoughtful touch. The air conditioning worked well and cooled down the room in no time. It was quiet when on and operated by remote control, which was nice when wanting to operate it from other parts of the room. The bathroom was just okay. It had double sinks and a european style shower (no door, no curtain). The bath towels were inconsistent. Some were soft and new, others were worn and older. The front desk staff was always helpful, whether with dinning accommodations, cabs, or late checkout. The lobby was decorated with a Christmas tree and nativity scene, which made us feel at home even when on vacation during the holiday season. Carolla is the friendly parrot that hangs out in a little inlet just off the lobby. When we walked by, she would always say, "Hello", just another one of the small details to make you smile on your trip. Brisas del Mar is an excellent choice for your vacation to Zihautanejo! You will be well taken care of and will leave far from disappointed. We can’t wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Coconuts in downtown Zihau for dinner. We ate there for half our dinners! You can walk along the malecon from the hotel if you prefer that to a short cab ride.

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma's treat
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 1, 2012

Granddaughter bonding retreat

I would never stay anywhere else than this hotel whenever I go back to Zihuatanejo. It is such a beautiful place to be and each detail attended to, from the floral decorations on the beds - not just upon arrival, but each time the room was made up - to the private balcony overlooking the water. The staff was always helpful and went out of their way to assure our comfort on all levels from suggestions for activities to the favorite eating places for locals. There was nothing to want for, it was all there in abundance. What a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sixtinos for excellent food, especially the fish dishes. It's just a short walk down the hill and turn left, past Nardo's.

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauren's Love
Business
San Francisco,CA
Dec 12, 2012

Great Get a way!

Walking into this lovely hotel, we were delighted with the flowers and plants all around us. The staff welcomed us with open arms and showed us around the grounds. The room was great, clean and Mexican decor with fresh flowers decorating the bed. They have a resident parrot who greets you all day long with "hello" or "hola". The pool and grounds around the pool are beautiful and very quiet and serene. Delicious food is served all day at the restaurant on the beach. We loved our stay here and will return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk along the beach path around the water to the marina where there is great shopping and eating.

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Washington water girl
Business
Seattle
Mar 4, 2013

A little bit of Paradise in Mexico

This hotel was recommended by a friend. It was so charming, great location. friendly staff and nice big rooms and great big decks! The best part was the pool, the private beach in the shade and all close to the water! Be prepared for lots of daily steps! Loved it and would return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kau Ken was a great restaurant where I celebrated my birthday!

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddo2
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Great Stay

A group of six friends stayed at this great place. Great location and views. The staff was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
citlamore
Business
Vienna, Austria
Oct 9, 2013

Perfect getaway!

This hotel is good located, you can walk to downtown in 5 minutes. The staff is nice, the hotel is perfectly clean, the view is amazing. I compared with other hotels in Ixtapa and after my visit I know i choose the best option..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
totallychilled
Business
nyc
Sep 17, 2014

This was our favorite hotel in Z

We'd previously stayed on La Ropa Beach, which is lovely, but decided to try Aura del Mar. The location made it so much more fun as we could easily walk into town, which we did once or twice a day. The beach is fine. Steps away from the lounges we were on was a restaurant with the most fabulous fish tacos. The reception area is a nice way of starting and then a parrot greets you on the way to your room. The staff is terrific. Best of all, we were upgraded from a junior suite to a fabulous, large room with an entire kitchen out on the porch. We were totally delighted. Bed was comfortable. Shower was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew G.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Relaxing Location

We went to Zihua for an escape. The hotel was so relaxing. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable with amazing views. The layout of the hotel makes it feel intimate and private. The pool and deck areas are set up well. Kept immaculately clean. And Carola, the resident parrot is a hoot! Location is great too-- very close to amazing food (shout out to La Pearla Negra and El Arrayan), Mercado Centrale, Paseo Pescadora and downtown. My only complaint was the massage I got at the in house spa. It was only about 40 minutes, even though I paid for 60-- and it felt rushed, like they had to get though each "piece" more than the amount of time. Place next door was amazing for massages thereafter though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great food and even better people, try out La Pearla Negra and El Arrayan just down the hill.

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steverl
Business
blaine
Mar 24, 2015

great stay

This is a funky little hotel perched on the hill above Madera beach. Only 30 rooms spread over 8 floors, so lots and lots of stairs. This was our second stay and we returned because of the great proximity to restaurants too numerous to count, the great staff, great views of the bay from the room, and the relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Aura del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Reina
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 9, 2014

3rd stay at Aura del Mar still great as ever

Although its name has changed (formerly Brisas del Mar), this small hotel on Playa Madera remains a wonderful spot for relaxation and exploring Zihuatanejo. The concierge Carlos helped us arrange a fishing trip with a very good captain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top