$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Gran Hotel Diligencias

4 stars
1115 Independence Avenue Downtown, Veracruz, 91700
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
5 reviews
Excellent Location and Hotel

This hotel is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location. As soon as we pulled up in front of the... See full review

  • England66
  • Nov 10, 2013
Awesome restaurant! The food is delicious!

Wonderful! Great services, great food and great location. See full review

  • Chemi
  • Feb 13, 2014
Beautiful property where luxury and good taste predominate, located in an antique building with European style which dates back from the 18th century, with comfortable facilities framed in an exquisite colonial architecture. A unique feature in this hotel is that the famous Mexican composer, Agustin Lara, while staying in one of its guestrooms and during a full moon night, composed one of the most famous and beautiful Mexican songs, which is precisely called "Veracruz". The hotel is located 25 minutes away from the airport, in the heart of the beautiful city of Veracruz. From this point you can easily reach some interesting places, such as the Main Square, the Cathedral and the City Hall, just for mentioning some of them. As well, you can visit many shops, restaurants, coffee shops, and historic and cultural places. The hotel also offers dry cleaning, lobby, reception, smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

19.1999 -96.1386
Area served
Veracruz.
Nearby airports
Aeropuerto Heriberto Hara.
Area description
The hotel is located 25 minutes away from the airport, in the heart of the beautiful city of Veracruz. From this point you can easily reach some interesting places, such as, the Main Square, the Cathedral, and the City Hall, just for mentioning some of them. As well, you can visit many shops, restaurants, coffee shops, and historic and cultural places.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Diligencias also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Gran Hotel Diligencias Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers one king bed or two double beds with Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service, Voice mail, Tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms are comfortable with a good taste of decoration , sitting area and bath tub.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
In the restaurant Villa Rica you can try exquisite dishes from international and typical cuisine, in the bar El Estribo you will have the opportunity to enjoy your favorite beverage and tasty snacks. On Thursdays and Fridays afternoons, you can try the most delicious cakes with an aromatic cup of coffee from Veracruz.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Diligencias

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chemi
Business
Raleigh, NC
Feb 13, 2014

Awesome restaurant! The food is delicious!

Wonderful! Great services, great food and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Villa Rica restrurant is one of the best we have ever experienced. I have travel the world and this place is not second to none.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler9485
Business
Ajijijc, Jalisco, Mexico
Feb 5, 2014

Great Hotel

Hotel is located right in the middle of old town, adjacent to the Plaza and all the cafes. It is a good place to stage out of for any tours you take. I walked every day on the Malecon and around town. Staff is very attentive to any needs. English is not spoken by many in the area so a basic understanding of Spanish helps. But, a smile and attempts will always get you what you want. The only problem was with the card readers on the door. Me and many others had to have the cards updates sometimes twice a day. Finally the staff came and 'adjusted' something, and all was well. I will stay here again and I highly recommend to anyone visiting Veracruz. Ask for a room facing the plaza. A little noisy but worth the view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
England66
Business
Vancouver, CANADA
Nov 10, 2013

Excellent Location and Hotel

This hotel is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location. As soon as we pulled up in front of the hotel, we knew it was going to be nice. The hotel has great spacious clean rooms. This is the best hotel we have stayed at so far, on our trip through Mexico. Highly Recommend..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Gringa
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 3, 2013

Fabulous and Restful

After several long days in the humidity and heat in the north of the state of Veracruz, including a very long ride in a second class bus the day of our arrival, this hotel was a wonderful place to spend our final night in Mexico. The staff, location, and room were all great. Even though it was right on the plaza, the room was quiet. The AC worked great. The TV, beds, bathroom, were all super--even the little soaps and lotions were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can buy bus tickets (ADO) at the Farmacia de Ahorro just to your right as you exit the hotel on Avenida de Independencia. Be sure book several days in advance to get primera clase, definitely worth the trouble of advance booking and marginal additional cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Jan 5, 2013

better than anticipated

Based on photos and reviews, I expected some problems, but found the Hotel Gran Diligencias to be surprisingly good. Great water pressure, plenty of hot water, an iron and ironing board brought up quickly upon request, and air conditioning that worked well. The staff was also very professional, friendly and helpful. My one complaint would be that the restaurant attached tended to be all buffet, all the time, and being a vegetarian, it didn't offer much for us. It positions itself as a seafood place, so that's not too big a surprise in Mexico. When I asked if I could order from the menu, I was told that "there wasn't much available" from it. I don't know what that meant, but I high tailed it next door to the Gran Café del Portal and found plenty to my liking. The location isn't on the water, but in that area of town, all the hotels on the water look at the port, not sandy beaches. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but if you want that kind of thing, you're not going to be staying near the zocalo and the historic center of town. This hotel couldn't be more centrally located to that historic center. At first, I was a little bummed that my room didn't have a view of the zocalo, but rather a view of the other wing of the hotel. Nevertheless, upon seeing some of the rooms with zocalo views (the maids leave the vacant rooms open at times to air them out), I changed my mind. Those rooms seem smaller, and the bed is located on the same wall as the window, making it so that you can not enjoy that view unless you are standing up next to the window. Like many hotels, three-prong outlets are not readily available where you need them. There were two in my closet, another two by the sink, and two under the desk, but the refrigerator they supply (quite ample and quite cold) has a plug that blocks the second plug, making it hard to use the refrigerator, a laptop, the supplied coffee maker (for some reason always only decaf given to us) and other device chargers hard to use at the same time. I ended up brewing coffee at the vanity, charging my laptop in the closet and using the battery to operate it at the desk. I do not know what the problem was, but the wireless, while I was able to connect with my Apple devices to the router in the room, did not connect to the Internet. I always carry an Ethernet cable, which one can plug in below the desk. Because this worked fine for me, I didn't call to have this problem investigated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat next door at the Gran Café del Portal. A competing set of cafés, both with the same name and standing next to each other but with different menus, are the Gran Café de la Parroquía restaurants on Gomez Farias.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top