$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel El Pescador

2 stars
Paraguay 1117 Centro, Vallarta, 48350
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Nice Week at the Beach

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pescador for 5 days while we enjoyed a beach getaway. Our room... See full review

  • Traveling Topher
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great deal

Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with ocean view, very... See full review

  • Bending Tree Yoga
  • Jun 10, 2014
In The Heart Of Puerto Vallarta. Hotel El Pescador is located in the heart of Puerto Vallarta Mexico, on the beach and near the famous Mal-econ (boardwalk). This is the best location in town, just a few blocks from the main plaza. Hotel El Pescador offers a total of 100 rooms, all with balconies, 45 of them have an ocean view and 55 face the Puerto Vallarta downtown area. These rooms all have an attractive Mexican decor and are equipped with air conditioned units, telephone and cable TV.
The other amenities include lobby and reception.
NOTE: The pool will be out of service for maintenance from September 16 to October 15, 2014.

Hotel El Pescador Rooms

Standard Room
Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Cable TV/ Color TV, Disabled facilities, Room service, Telephone. Refresh your senses in spacious rooms with panoramic view to the downtown of Puerto Vallarta. Comfortable fit for a good rest; have two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, phone and balcony. Enjoy room -service every day from 7:00 am to 10:30 pm.
Ocean View Room
Room with two double beds includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Cable TV / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Room service, Telephone. Relax with the sound of the waves. Comfortable rooms with a stunning ocean view fully equipped with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, phone and balcony facing the ocean. Enjoy-room service every day from 7: 00 am to 10:30 pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Pescador

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 16
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Topher
Business
Albania
Jul 25, 2014

Nice Week at the Beach

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pescador for 5 days while we enjoyed a beach getaway. Our room was great, with a view out over the pool and the ocean beyond. The accommodations are not elegant but clean and comfortable, and a great value for the view and location. We really enjoyed being able to walk just 5 minutes to the Malecón, where are the bars and nightlife is. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I would most definitely stay there again! (I saw in some of the comments that there were issues with the remote and air conditioning--I had no such problems. And, the wifi worked just fine.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Indian food place on a small road, half a block up from the Malecón! Just ask around and the locals will point you there no problem!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bending Tree Yoga
Business
La Manzanilla, Jalisco, Mexico
Jun 10, 2014

Great deal

Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with ocean view, very enjoyable. It came with free breakfast and room service was available. Plus location, beach front and near Malecon was ideal. Even though there wasn't any parking lot, it was easy to find street parking almost right in front of the hotel on a Saturday. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duque de Qaixias
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 13, 2014

A Delightful Place

wife and I had an ocean-view room at a very reasonable price. We were just over the beach, and the view was spectacular. We were in the center of a horseshoe-shaped bay, with mountains on each side, the surf rumbling beneath us, and the blue water of the bay before us. Furthermore, the sun set directly in front of us, and the sunsets were brilliant. The staff was pleasant and obliging. They were very nice people to be around, and after three-weeks there I will miss them. The hotel is not luxurious, but it is comfortable. It is in the center of the old part of the city, some of which is slightly run down, sidewalks are irregular, and the streets are cobbled, but I think it is the most interesting part of the city to be in. To sum up, I would go back to El Pescador in a minute if I could. I miss it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D LO Stkn ca
Business
Stockton ca
Jan 19, 2014

Hotel

Hotel is kool it's by the water.... It's lovely For a chap price.... To have a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arme
Business
Chicago IL
Dec 10, 2013

A weekend

I really enjoyed the weekend in this hotel, very close to the "Malecon" and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron in Norhwest
Business
Portland,OR
May 17, 2013

Pescador Vacation

We stayed 9 nights, the staff was very helpful throughout. It it right on the oean with a nice beach for swimming. The pool area is nice but it is hard to find shade. The rooms were basic but clean. Hotel is 3 blocks from the Malecon and close to all the Old Puerto Vallarta area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend Cheeky Monkey and Sea Monkey restraunts, both on the Malecon, great prices and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr.Bee
Business
Cleveland,Ohio
Mar 7, 2012

Walking

If walking around & easy access to downtown is your thing, this your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of close shops, dining,shopping but just say NO to the time share people !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joanie m
Business
Prescott, AZ, USA
Feb 16, 2012

Very, very basic

Balcony tiny, no privacy from other balconies, smoke comes into the room if door open onto balcony. Every conversation on surrounding balconies sounded like they were in our room or on our balcony. Not a picture or photo on any wall in room or hallways. No safes in rooms. VERY inconvenient. Clean room, walking distance to malecon - those were the only good things. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gaby's Restaurant is excellent - just off the malecon. Also Dolce Vida on malecon is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Feryluz
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Needs Updating

The hotel is well situated to the Malecon. It's only a short walk there. The bad things are that the beach which fronts the hotel is very rocky and not really good for bathing. A red flag warning was displayed all week and it doesn't seem to ever come down. The hotel needs maintenance as do the rooms. The air conditioners are old and noisy. The beds are terrible. It's like sleeping on a box spring. This needs to be addressed immediately. For being a hotel that caters to tourists from around the world the hotel needs to enforce it's regulations. People were allowed to swim in the pool in their underwear (this was an adult.) No outside drinks/food were allowed but people had their ice chests full of beer and playing music. The included breakfast was repetitive and only one item on it changed per day. It's an okay hotel to stay at since it is in the center of the city and everything is close by, but there has to be improvements or the big hotels further down the Malecon will eventually take it's business away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent dinning at the Marina. Great prices and the food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans, la
Jul 30, 2011

great value for a safe authentic place

the hotel is in the southern part of the hotel zone a block away from romantic zone were most of the real mexican places are. on the beach. nice pool. safe rooms with security always around. parking was on the street, never had a problem finding a spot. a block or three from grocery store, gas station,taco stands and souvenior shopping. breakfast buffet was edible and enough to get the day started. roads are rough to drive on in this area, and 5-10 minutes to marina, walmart, and airport. we did excursions everday, so didnt spend much time in room during the day, however tv had a few english channels, air conditoner was cold, showers were hot, and internet worked just fine on top floor. if your looking for more comfort like a mini-fridge, hot tub, ice machine, or fully english speaking staff then you should look else where. but beach was clean, water cool, and neighborhood was realtivly safe. we got a cooler from walmart, ice for 1.50 at the grocery, beer from the convience store, and tacos from the stands and had a awesome adventure. mind you we also went in the slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

flea markets are in the area, always check a few stalls before settling on a price. always pay in peso's were the exchange rate is always better at a bank. most things can be found eveywhere. expect to spent a few buck less on some stuff than you would elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top