Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

3 stars
Playa los Algodones Km 20, San Carlos, 85506
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
14 reviews
GREAT LOCATION

GREAT LOCATION AND GREAT FOOD AND GREAT VIEW TO THE OCEAN See full review

  • RUBINHO008
  • Feb 17, 2014
Decent room for a decent price

The staff at the hotel were outstanding! The location of the hotel was great. The rooms do need... See full review

  • Mexican Vacationer
  • Jun 13, 2013
Nestled between the mountains of the Sonoran desert and the deep blue waters of the Sea of Cortez, Paradiso Resort boasts a unique landscape of cacti and red desert rock mountains towering over an azure lagoon. Paradiso Resort & Beach Club, located in San Carlos Sonora, Mexico gives you a warm welcome. Located in the state of Sonora, 6 miles from the town of San Carlos, Paradiso Resort lies amidst natural beauty and 1.5 miles of sandy beaches, and boasts all necessary elements for your relaxation and enjoyment.

The hotel lies directly on the beautiful beaches of Sonora Bay offering tranquility and serenity unsurpassed, where the deserts mountains meet the dark blue sea of Cortez. Paradiso Resort & Beach Club is located approximately 6 miles from the town of San Carlos. Situated in northern Mexico's Sonoran Desert, San Carlos is comprised of approximately 62 acres located on a natural lagoon, surrounded by miles of white sandy beaches and the cobalt waters of the Sea of Cortez (also known as the Gulf of California).

The Tetakawi Hill and Bacochibampo Mountains in the horizon overlook Paradiso Resort and lend to the uniqueness of the scenery.

24hrs front desk, pool, business center, health club, restaurant, spa and high speed wireless internet (complimentary around the bar/restaurant area).

Hotel Map

27.9707 -111.1141
Area served
San Carlos; sonora; Mexico; sonora bay; sea of cortez; gulf of california; mar de cortez; gulfo de california; sonora beach; resort in sonora
Nearby airports
Guaymas International Airport and Hermosillo international airport.
Area description
Paradiso Resort & Beach Club has proximity to diving, snorkeling,whale watching (seasonal), fishing, golfing, sailing, hiking, biking, museums, sunset cruises, cave kayaking, historical town of guaymas, pearl factory,sites from the movies Zorro and catch-22, horseback riding, clubs, bars, beautiful beaches, wave runner rentals, wedding ceremonies, conference rooms, daily activities, bird watching, many wildlife animals around, etc.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradiso Resort & Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Paradiso Resort & Beach Club Rooms

Lagoon View Room
This room offers 1 King Size bed or 2 Double beds with rustic Mexican-style designed guestrooms with tile red floors and wood furnishings. All Guestrooms lagoon view rooms have a view over the private 20 acre salt water lagoon. Its unique Sonora accommodations feature satellite TV, Air conditioner, private bathroom with shower.
Ocean View Room
This room offers 1 king size bed or 2 double beds with rustic Mexican-style designed guestrooms with tile red floors and wood furnishings. All Guestrooms ocean view rooms have a view over the lush sea of cortez and the beach. Its unique Sonora accommodations feature satellite TV, Air conditioner, private bathroom with shower.
Budget Room Lagoon View
All Guestrooms ocean view rooms have a view over the lush sea of cortez and the beach. Private Bathroom with shower. Not available: Air conditioner, TV
Deluxe Ocean View with Balcony
All Guestrooms ocean view rooms have a view over the lush sea of cortez and the beach. Its unique Sonora accommodations feature satellite TV, Air conditioner, private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

La Isla Snack Palapa
Undoubtedly suited for the young at heart, the casual ambiance at La Palapa offers light fare and a wide array of drinks and beverages for your enjoyment while wading at the pool. Open seasonally from march 15 to November 15.
Sahuaro Restaurant & Bar
The best spot in the hotel to enjoy a fulfilling appetizer while watching your favorite sport or just spending some leisurely time. Overlooks the pools and lagoon. Add a fireplace for those cool evenings to have a good time with friends. International menu a la carte.
La Carreta Restaurant
La Carreta's buffet menu (available on some weekends, large groups or special Holidays only) boasts world-class dishes which can be enjoyed in the spacious and comfortable dining rooms while enjoying an inspirational view of the surrounding mountains and the Sea of Cortez, accompanied by the highly polished service by the qualified team of hosts.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have a wide array of meeting facilities from 20 to 280 persons, all accompanied with telephone lines and wireless internet. Projectors, projector screens, banquete facilities available upon request.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Bob
Business
Tucson AZ
Oct 20, 2013

Ghetto

No air conditioning that works, numerous units missing windows and doors, sewer smells, project has so much deferred maintenance it should be torn down. Hardly no staff and no service. We will never use this site again for a reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is no shopping in San Carlos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ramsesfb
Business
ciudad obregon sonora
Jul 28, 2011

Only problems

I got to this hotel and they didnt have my reservation until i spoke to someone on the reservations department of the hotel[...]no food or any kind of drinks allowed to go in the hotel , the minimart inside the hotel closes early and opens up late so you are out of luck if you didnt buy anything or have some craving for a late night snack , hot water only lasts 15 seconds.the only thing good pool is nice , clean and really big good bar service and nice beach , recepcionist was really kind , the problem about this hotel its the management until they change some stuff or remodel this hotel i dont recommend you staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
May 4, 2010

Hidden....and should stay that way!

This was a horrible place overall. The room key didn't work to start, the faucets leaked all over the soaps and towels, there was, at times, no hot water. There are no screens on the windows so when you're sweltering in your room, you can't open the window because the mosquitos eat you alive!! We went to eat at the hotel restaurant and the service was bad. Our waiter apologized constantly for messed up orders and had to give us free things just to keep us there. Don't get me wrong, the taste was good, but also expensive. My daughter and I wanted to rent a 2-person boat but the place was either closed or all the boats were "damaged" somehow, go figure. We decided to take a walk to town....mistake. This place is so far out of town you'd have to be a distance runner to make it in a day! We finally flagged down a cab but by then were too tired to do anything and went back to the ice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's horseback riding close but by the time we found out about it, we were leaving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FAMILY THAT TRAVELED TO FAR FOR THIS
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 20, 2010

IN NEED OF BETTER MANAGEMENT

San Carlos has a beautiful beach and it might rise to become a great destination, however, Paradiso Resort is in deperate need of better management. There are many rooms out of service, with broken windows and trashed. The rooms that are working are OK for an overnight stay, but the halls are dirty and have smelly stairs and water leaks, plus trash scattered as you go to the room. The restaurant has poor service and is not very clean, and the food is not that great. There are many other options in town for a pleasant stay at San Carlos: do not book Paradiso until things improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Explorer
Business
San Carlos
Oct 2, 2012

Needs a Dramatic Update

The hotel is set in a very nice location, and surrounding areas really comploments the hotel design. However this hotel is in desperate need of updating. The rooms are very basic, and very old looking. They advertise several activities available to visitors however, the problem is this: 1 - Tennis Courts: Not in function - Exist but barely visable due to neglect and upkeep, and are not useable at all because of their condition and the condition of the surrounding area. 2 - Gym: Not in function - The gym is very old and full of broken equipment. Air conditioning is broken, and the room is very small and compact. Washing / changin facilities do exist, but dont look safe to use! The overall presentation of the gym facility looks something like you would see in a back-street boxing joint from the 1960's / 70's. 3 - Massage / Spa: Not in Function - The massage room basically consists of a small room with equipment that looks so tatty and un-hygienic. In fact , this service was not available to visitors... We had a good look round the place, and when we saw this room... it looked more like a underground squat you would see on tv depicting a rundown, shanty drug den! 4 - Pool Table: The pool table is in use however, its very tatty and looks worn-out and in need of replacement. 5 - Table Football: There are two football tables, both of them have parts missing from the players, and all the metal parts have rusted and look unsafe to use... we would not recommend anybody to use these. 6 - Swimming pool: The swimming pool is actually pretty nice, the only thing we did not like about this was the amount of dead insects (lots of them) floating about. Part of the hotel is undergoing modernisation, however, I have also read that this has been going on for some time. The gounds of this place are super huge, and have the potential to depict as the name of the hotle is called "Paradiso". When we visited, 3/4 of the hotel complex were closed down to the public, and the areas that were closed down were also damaged. Most of the rooms in these areas had broken windows and if you look closely through the windows, most of the rooms had been trashed, interiors destroyed and infsted with insects and other animal guests!. We even had a guest racoon, searching through the trash bin outside our room in one evening. If little finaincial injection was re-invested in this place, it could be super awesome!... but at the moment, i'd only recommend this place as a last option.... or for people on a super low budget....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S3K3R
Business
Tijuana, BC
Dec 4, 2012

"Needs upgrades & investment"

We stayed just one night, location can't get any better between the lake and the beach, room though was as bad as it can get, staff was just ok. Bring low expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 28, 2007

Very Basic Accomodations

The beds were rock hard. The A/C leaked water all over the concrete floors. I called maintenance and didn't get anyone to come until the water was running out the door. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

Beautiful Beach/Terrible Rooms

The beach at the Paradiso Hotel was absolutely gorgeous..so if this is what you are looking for, stay here. The sunsets were spectacular. The water was very warm and the shells plentiful. That is where the gorgeous part ends. The rooms were extremely small, barely enough room to move around. There was no phone or internet access in the room. We found a scorpion and several cockroaches in the room. Maid service was sporadic. We signed up for a snorkeling excursion and got up very early to be on time and no one ever showed up to take us and once they did show up they wanted double the money to take us. Although we were staying for a long period, we were initially given the worst room possible..on the first floor right in front of the childrens playground. We ended up switching to a room on the second floor. Since this was once a Club Med, all of the rooms are identical so there is no way to upgrade your room. We will definately return to San Carlos but will choose another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Greek food at La Palapa in downtown San Carlos..right on the beach..there is music on Wednesday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacationer
Business
Farmington, NM
Jun 13, 2013

Decent room for a decent price

The staff at the hotel were outstanding! The location of the hotel was great. The rooms do need slight updating. However the room was pretty decent for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Feb 14, 2010

Nice discount resort

On a family vacation I was forced to find a hotel room when we tried to get to many of us into a timeshare (with a seven month old). I found a room thru Orbitz at Club Paradiso (old Club Med) for $30 less per night than a more modern resort USD, with ocean view in the off-season (Feb.). The resort is at the far end of San Carlos (the road literally ends at the resort) and a car would be necessary if you plan to do anything but sit on the beach and eat at the resort (very good food at the hotel, quesadilla is amazing). I felt the location right on the beach and views made up for many of the draw backs. The resort is the former Club Med and 30 yrs old, showing its age. I spoke with the new director who told me it is a work in progress, resort is expansive. The rooms are small and old school, but clean (have that tropics wet smell). If you like to spend lots of time in your hotel room then the resort is not for you. It is a shower and sleep type of room (very hard beds did not bother me). The Soggy Peso Bar is right in-front of the resort and kite surfers use the area. You get a private lagoon, large swimming deck and pool, large open dining/drinking area with wi-fi, billards tables, ping pong, and water sports in season. The advertised health club was closed for repairs during my visit. Two bottles of water were replaced each day in the room (no separate purifiers on the sink). Staff was very friendly and entertained the family one night at dinner. In the off season we were the only diners and got the royal treatment. If fact, one night I was the only guest (180 rooms) and had a "private" resort during the week. Botton line, if you are a snobby traveler go else where...if you are going to San Carlos for the beach, ocean, activities, old school charm etc...then you will be fine with your stay and have saved some money. Oh, watch out for the horses which roam the streets at night to graze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do one upscale (still Mexico casual) meal while you stay in San Carlo go to La Conquista. A totally different meal than Bananas (which I like) and the rest. Great food, great presentation, great service, and less than half the cost of what you would pay for the same nuevo meal in the US. The Sat/Sun brunch at El Embarcadero (San Carlos Marina) is great and view does not hurt. For the open "street cafe" JJ's on Main strip was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top