Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

2 stars
View map of Playa los Algodones Km 20, San Carlos, 85506

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
14 reviews
GREAT LOCATION

GREAT LOCATION AND GREAT FOOD AND GREAT VIEW TO THE OCEAN See full review

  • RUBINHO008
  • Feb 17, 2014
Ghetto

No air conditioning that works, numerous units missing windows and doors, sewer smells, project has... See full review

  • AZ Bob
  • Oct 20, 2013

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradiso Resort & Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

No amenity information is available for this hotel.

Hotel Policies

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Explorer
San Carlos
Oct 2, 2012

Needs a Dramatic Update

The hotel is set in a very nice location, and surrounding areas really comploments the hotel design. However this hotel is in desperate need of updating. The rooms are very basic, and very old looking. They advertise several activities available to visitors however, the problem is this: 1 - Tennis Courts: Not in function - Exist but barely visable due to neglect and upkeep, and are not useable at all because of their condition and the condition of the surrounding area. 2 - Gym: Not in function - The gym is very old and full of broken equipment. Air conditioning is broken, and the room is very small and compact. Washing / changin facilities do exist, but dont look safe to use! The overall presentation of the gym facility looks something like you would see in a back-street boxing joint from the 1960's / 70's. 3 - Massage / Spa: Not in Function - The massage room basically consists of a small room with equipment that looks so tatty and un-hygienic. In fact , this service was not available to visitors... We had a good look round the place, and when we saw this room... it looked more like a underground squat you would see on tv depicting a rundown, shanty drug den! 4 - Pool Table: The pool table is in use however, its very tatty and looks worn-out and in need of replacement. 5 - Table Football: There are two football tables, both of them have parts missing from the players, and all the metal parts have rusted and look unsafe to use... we would not recommend anybody to use these. 6 - Swimming pool: The swimming pool is actually pretty nice, the only thing we did not like about this was the amount of dead insects (lots of them) floating about. Part of the hotel is undergoing modernisation, however, I have also read that this has been going on for some time. The gounds of this place are super huge, and have the potential to depict as the name of the hotle is called "Paradiso". When we visited, 3/4 of the hotel complex were closed down to the public, and the areas that were closed down were also damaged. Most of the rooms in these areas had broken windows and if you look closely through the windows, most of the rooms had been trashed, interiors destroyed and infsted with insects and other animal guests!. We even had a guest racoon, searching through the trash bin outside our room in one evening. If little finaincial injection was re-invested in this place, it could be super awesome!... but at the moment, i'd only recommend this place as a last option.... or for people on a super low budget....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RUBINHO008
Business
TUCSON, AZ
Feb 17, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

GREAT LOCATION AND GREAT FOOD AND GREAT VIEW TO THE OCEAN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LOS ARBOLITOS GREAT FOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Bob
Business
Tucson AZ
Oct 20, 2013

Ghetto

No air conditioning that works, numerous units missing windows and doors, sewer smells, project has so much deferred maintenance it should be torn down. Hardly no staff and no service. We will never use this site again for a reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is no shopping in San Carlos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacationer
Business
Farmington, NM
Jun 13, 2013

Decent room for a decent price

The staff at the hotel were outstanding! The location of the hotel was great. The rooms do need slight updating. However the room was pretty decent for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S3K3R
Business
Tijuana, BC
Dec 4, 2012

"Needs upgrades & investment"

We stayed just one night, location can't get any better between the lake and the beach, room though was as bad as it can get, staff was just ok. Bring low expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Explorer
Business
San Carlos
Oct 2, 2012

Needs a Dramatic Update

The hotel is set in a very nice location, and surrounding areas really comploments the hotel design. However this hotel is in desperate need of updating. The rooms are very basic, and very old looking. They advertise several activities available to visitors however, the problem is this: 1 - Tennis Courts: Not in function - Exist but barely visable due to neglect and upkeep, and are not useable at all because of their condition and the condition of the surrounding area. 2 - Gym: Not in function - The gym is very old and full of broken equipment. Air conditioning is broken, and the room is very small and compact. Washing / changin facilities do exist, but dont look safe to use! The overall presentation of the gym facility looks something like you would see in a back-street boxing joint from the 1960's / 70's. 3 - Massage / Spa: Not in Function - The massage room basically consists of a small room with equipment that looks so tatty and un-hygienic. In fact , this service was not available to visitors... We had a good look round the place, and when we saw this room... it looked more like a underground squat you would see on tv depicting a rundown, shanty drug den! 4 - Pool Table: The pool table is in use however, its very tatty and looks worn-out and in need of replacement. 5 - Table Football: There are two football tables, both of them have parts missing from the players, and all the metal parts have rusted and look unsafe to use... we would not recommend anybody to use these. 6 - Swimming pool: The swimming pool is actually pretty nice, the only thing we did not like about this was the amount of dead insects (lots of them) floating about. Part of the hotel is undergoing modernisation, however, I have also read that this has been going on for some time. The gounds of this place are super huge, and have the potential to depict as the name of the hotle is called "Paradiso". When we visited, 3/4 of the hotel complex were closed down to the public, and the areas that were closed down were also damaged. Most of the rooms in these areas had broken windows and if you look closely through the windows, most of the rooms had been trashed, interiors destroyed and infsted with insects and other animal guests!. We even had a guest racoon, searching through the trash bin outside our room in one evening. If little finaincial injection was re-invested in this place, it could be super awesome!... but at the moment, i'd only recommend this place as a last option.... or for people on a super low budget....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ramsesfb
Business
ciudad obregon sonora
Jul 28, 2011

Only problems

I got to this hotel and they didnt have my reservation until i spoke to someone on the reservations department of the hotel[...]no food or any kind of drinks allowed to go in the hotel , the minimart inside the hotel closes early and opens up late so you are out of luck if you didnt buy anything or have some craving for a late night snack , hot water only lasts 15 seconds.the only thing good pool is nice , clean and really big good bar service and nice beach , recepcionist was really kind , the problem about this hotel its the management until they change some stuff or remodel this hotel i dont recommend you staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qvan4u
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The place is nice, mountains, lake, beach but they need more activities there and I has a bad time trying to check in. ( they told me, I have no room when we show up there )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson Arizona
Oct 10, 2010

San Carlos trip

They wanted to charge me the room rate even after I proved to them that [...] already charged my account. Also, I was charged for an extra adult because they told me that kids older than 10 are considered adults. I was not pleased at all with the service of this hotel. I felt like I was taken avantage of. I will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FAMILY THAT TRAVELED TO FAR FOR THIS
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 20, 2010

IN NEED OF BETTER MANAGEMENT

San Carlos has a beautiful beach and it might rise to become a great destination, however, Paradiso Resort is in deperate need of better management. There are many rooms out of service, with broken windows and trashed. The rooms that are working are OK for an overnight stay, but the halls are dirty and have smelly stairs and water leaks, plus trash scattered as you go to the room. The restaurant has poor service and is not very clean, and the food is not that great. There are many other options in town for a pleasant stay at San Carlos: do not book Paradiso until things improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradiso Resort & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
May 4, 2010

Hidden....and should stay that way!

This was a horrible place overall. The room key didn't work to start, the faucets leaked all over the soaps and towels, there was, at times, no hot water. There are no screens on the windows so when you're sweltering in your room, you can't open the window because the mosquitos eat you alive!! We went to eat at the hotel restaurant and the service was bad. Our waiter apologized constantly for messed up orders and had to give us free things just to keep us there. Don't get me wrong, the taste was good, but also expensive. My daughter and I wanted to rent a 2-person boat but the place was either closed or all the boats were "damaged" somehow, go figure. We decided to take a walk to town....mistake. This place is so far out of town you'd have to be a distance runner to make it in a day! We finally flagged down a cab but by then were too tired to do anything and went back to the ice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's horseback riding close but by the time we found out about it, we were leaving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top