$777 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Chetumal-Cancun Km. 328, SM 31, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
38 reviews
2nd Anniversary

My wife and I were married at this resort 2 years ago. We decided to come back this year for our... See full review

  • Disappointed Concert Fan
  • Oct 15, 2014
5-Stars All the Way!

We've stayed at a lot of so-called 5 star resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean, but Zoetry is a cut... See full review

  • Mykel67
  • May 5, 2014
All-suite oceanfront resort with high-end amenities
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita is set on 14 acres of beautiful national park -- complete with a 500-yard private beach -- and has only 90 one- and two-bedroom suites. The resort's private pool, restaurants and 22,000-square-foot oceanfront Thalasso Center & Spa makes it one of the most luxurious in the Yucatan. The all-inclusive hotel has an extensive Library Bar with reading collection, free Wi-Fi Internet and stunning ocean views. The architecture pays homage to Mayan culture with open courtyards, fountain-adorned paths and calming pools. Private chauffeured airport transfers are included. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita is a AAA Five Diamond Award winner and is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and International Gastronomic Association "Chaine des Rotisseurs".
Highlights:
  • Luxurious 90-suite property on 14 acres with 500-yard private beach
  • 22,000-square-foot oceanfront spa is first and only certified Thalassotherapy center in North America
  • Relaxing library bar with free reading collection, Wi-Fi and ocean views
  • Exceptional service with three-times daily maid service and 24-hour in-room dining
  • In house scuba diving center and fishing chartersdeparting from the property dock
Rooms:

The 90 suites at the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita are filled with hacienda-style architectural details and antiques and have marble floors. All suites include a sitting room, marble tub for two with Bvlgari luxury bath amenities and private terrace. Exceptional service means daily stocked mini-bar, three-times daily maid service, 24-hour in-room dining, a welcome bottle of tequila and handmade beach bag. Stay entertained and connected with the two satellite TVs, DVD player, and high-speed wireless Internet. Over-the-top extras include aromatherapy pillows, customized in-room pampering oils and a daily bottle of Champagne and fresh fruit. Even international calls are complimentary.

Features:

The star of the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita is the 22,000-square-foot Thalasso Center & Spa, the first and only certified Thalassotherapy center in North America. The spa features an outdoor saltwater pool, 16 wet and dry treatment rooms, fitness center, saunas and steam rooms, traditional Mexican steam room and state-of-the-art anti-aging center (fees may apply).

Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita has a private 48-foot catamaran that guests can enjoy during their stay for private cruises (fees may apply).

Dining

The three restaurants at Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita focus on gourmet food with an emphasis on heart-healthy and vegetarian options. The hotel makes its own juices, ice cream, sherbets and pastries and incorporates local flavors. The gourmet fusion La Canoa is a AAA Four Diamond restaurant. There are two on-site bars, one of which overlooks the pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/36 km)
  • Tulum (57 mi/92 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available
  • Policies and fees
  • Guests must be at least 18 years old to check in at the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive also booked these hotels.

Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive Rooms

Master Suite Ocean Front two bedrooms with terrace
The spacious Master Suite Ocean Front is 1830 sq. ft and is located at the second level. Enjoy calm and tranquility from the comfort of your terrace which overlooks the private white sand beach and hear the relaxing sound of the waves. The suite has a large living area with TV, CD/DVD player, Nespresso machine, daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine by the bottle as well as daily champagne and fresh fruit, which adjoins two master bedrooms providing comfort and privacy. Each bedroom has a king size bed surrounded by a breathtaking and unique decoration. The bathroom has a stunning marble sunken bath for two, glass showers and handcrafted sinks, as well as Luxurious Bvlgari bath amenities
One of the bedrooms and the living room open onto a large private terrace with a double sun lounger offering one of the best ocean views of the Caribbean Sea. For your comfort, enjoy in room dining at this luxurious accomodation. (Max. capacity: 4 guests)
Master Suite Ocean Front two bedrooms with plunge pool
Located on ground level the spacious Master Suite Ocean Front is 1830 sq. ft and features a relaxing plunge pool in the midst of a natural ambience. It offers a large living area with a TV, CD/DVD player and Nespresso coffeemaker, daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine by the bottle as well as daily champagne and fresh fruit. Ideal for couples or friends getaways the suite has two master bedrooms with a king size bed adjoined by the living area. Each bedroom has its own private bathroom with a sunken bath for two, Luxurious Bvlgari bath amenities, glass showers and handcrafted sinks. As its highlight, both the bedrooms and living room open onto a large private terrace with a plunge pool and double sun lounger offering the best ocean view of the Caribbean Sea and the Island of Cozumel. Relax and enjoy a glass of champagne, as well as in room dining in the comfort of your suite. (Max. capacity: 4 guests)
Presidential Suite Ocean Front
The Presidential Suite is a luxurious private villa decorated with unique pieces of art from around the world. Located on the ground floor, this 3000 sq. ft. suite offers two master bedrooms. Each one with a comfortable king size bed for a quiet and peaceful sleep, as well as their own bathrooms featuring marble sunken baths, glass showers and handcrafted sinks. Adjoining each bedroom is its own large living area with TV, CD/DVD player and Nespresso coffeemaker, daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine by the bottle as well as daily champagne and fresh fruit. A plunge pool and private wrap around terrace offers the ultimate in privacy. In addition, the Presidential suite has a private dining area for up to 10 guests and a large kitchen for our Chef to prepare an exclusive dining experience for our guests to enjoy. (Max. capacity: 4 guests)
Ocean Front Suite with Terrace - 2 Double Beds
The Ocean Front one bedroom suite with terrace is 1130 sq. ft. and offers two comfortable double beds and a spacious living room featuring a daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine and champagne by the bottle, fresh fruit, and TV,CD/DVD player where you can spend a relaxing afternoon. The living room opens onto a large terrace where you can lay down either on a hammock or your private double sun lounger while enjoying the stunning views of the Caribbean Sea. A very spacious marble bathroom with a sunken bath for two, Luxurious Bvlgari bath amenities, glass showers and unique handcrafted sinks adjoins the bedroom. These suites are located on the second and third floors. (Max. capacity: 3 guests)
Ocean Front Suite with Terrace - 1 king Bed
Also located on the second and third floors, the Ocean Front one bedroom suite with terrace is 1130 sq. ft and features an elevated king matress, so first thing in the morning, you can enjoy a beautiful ocean view from the comfort of your bed. Ideal for couples. With unique elements of decoration from around the world, this suite offers a spacious and relaxing living room with TV,CD/DVD in addition to the daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine and champagne by the bottle and fresh fruit. Immerge yourself into the breathtaking views of the turquoise waters from your double sun lounger or hammock in the terrace. Adjoinining the bedroom, there is a lavishing marble bathroom with a sunken bath for two, glass showers and unique handcrafted sinks. (Max. capacity: 2 guests)
Ocean Front suite with plunge pool - 2 Double beds
Located on the ground floor, the Ocean Front suite offers a private plunge pool in the terrace with a faboulous ocean view. The 1248 sq. ft suite features two double beds covered by the finest handpicked linens from different regions of the world and a spacious living room with TV,CD/DVD player, daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine and champagne by the bottle, inviting comfort and relaxation. Pamper yourself with Bvlgari bath amenities in a luxurious marble bathroom that features a sunken bath for two, glass showers and unique handcrafted sinks adjoining the bedroom. (Max. capacity: 3 guests)
Ocean Front suite with plunge pool - 1 King bed
Also located on the ground floor this romantic suite is 1248 sq. ft and has an elevated king size bed where you are able to enjoy the exquisite furnishings of the suite and idyllic views of the powdered white sand and turquoise waters of the Caribbean, this suite features a private plunge pool in its spacious terrace. For indulgent evenings relax and enjoy in room dining at the comfort of your living room wich also includes a TV,CD/DVD player and Nespresso coffemaker, daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine by the bottle as well as daily champagne and fresh fruit. The lavishing marble bathroom has a sunken bath for two, Luxurious Bvlgari bath amenities, in glass showers and unique handcrafted sinks adjoining the bedroom. (Max. capacity: 2 guests)
Lovers Suite Ocean Front with outdoor shower and plunge pool - 1 King bed
Ideal for a romantic getaway this lavish oceanfront suite features a unique outdoor shower nestled in a tropical ambience surrounded by the calm. The suite offers a spacious terrace with private plunge pool and double sun lounger, where you and your loved one can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Located on the ground floor, the Lovers Suite is 1290 sq. ft and has a comfortable living room with TV,CD/DVD player and Nespresso coffemaker , daily stocked minibar with premium beverages, deli snacks, wine by the bottle as well as daily champagne and fresh fruit. A stunning marble bathroom features a romantic sunken bath for two, Luxurious Bvlgari bath amenities, in glass showers and unique handcrafted sinks adjoining the elegant bedroom. (Max. capacity: 2 guests)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

El Chiringuito Beachside Grill
This casual open air Oceanside grill offers a variety of fresh seafood, chicken and meats grilled to perfection on a wood fire using the native hardwood, "Zapote". Guests may also enjoy "Chilpachole" - a traditional light Mexican seafood stew served in a clay pot - or one of the fresh pizzas baked in the outdoor wood fired oven. Situated on the beach with a cool ocean breeze blowing through, this is the perfect setting for a relaxed outdoor meal.
Kaax Restaurant. (Mayan word meaning Jungle)
As you enter Kaax, the first thing you notice are the hand painted murals depicting the flora and fauna of the region that surrounds you. However, it is the wonderful Mexican menu that adds the true authenticity and sets this restaurant apart from the other Yucatan dining experiences. Our chef has drawn on the traditions of the region by staying true to the original recipes but has added his own modern touches and presentations. Waiters are at had to explain each dish to you as you discover a whole new gourmet experience.
Savor a carte Mexican cuisine in an authentic atmosphere
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner
Dress code: Casual
La Canoa Restaurant
Taste true excellence with the cuisine of our Executive Chef. In La Canoa, our AAA 4 Diamond Award Winning Gourmet Restaurant, you will experience Paraiso's unique "Cuisine de los Soles", a fusion of styles based on spices and chilies used in the cuisine of warm-weather countries.
Sikil Sushi & Ceviche Bar
Sushi bar and Pan-Asian specialties
Library Bar
The resort's library bar has an extensive reading collection and soothing ocean views, making this a relaxing and inviting meeting place for guests
Open 24 hours
Dress code: Casual
Hippos Bar
Covered by a large Mayan "Palapa" which provides a cool shelter from the sun and overlooking the pool and the ocean is Hippos Bar - the heart of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita during the day. Our bartenders will be more than happy to mix up any cocktail for you to enjoy in this cool, tranquil and relaxed ambiance where people gather to chat and just have a good time.
Apart from a variety of cocktails exclusively created by our bartenders, a menu with light snacks is available to accompany your drinks. At night, Hippos is the ideal place for a quiet pre dinner drink where a variety of Mexican snacks are available for you to try.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,400 sq. ft. (130 sq. meters) of functional and customizable meeting space
Air-conditioned
Capacity for up to 70 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kismet 007
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 28, 2010

A beautiful hotel with terrible service

We spent one week at the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita and left very disappointed. Our troubles started as soon as we arrived when the promised private transfer from the airport to the hotel was not waiting for us. Our problems with the service continued from there. We had difficulty making use of many of the "Endless Privileges" because staff did not respond or were unavailable. For example, it took five phone calls to get our laundry picked up. The AC in our room did not work for almost our entire stay, leaving our room sticky and hot and making sleep difficult. (Due to mosquitoes, it is not possible to sleep with the windows or doors open; anyone visiting this resort should pack bug spray as the resort neither provides nor sells it). Our repeated calls for service for the AC went unheeded, with Guest Services offering multiple explanations for the problem, but always unable to fix it or to move us to a different room. The resort offers free WiFi, but it didn't work for 24 hours and was extremely slow and unreliable throughout our visit. The long stretch without any internet was a major problem for my wife and I as this was a working vacation for us. Staff told us if we needed internet, we could take a taxi into town (US$12 each way) to use an internet cafe, all at our own expense--even though the internet was working fine in the hotel offices. At any other resort, staff would have simply set up a terminal for guest use in this situation. This kind of lack of helpfulness was the norm throughout the resort. Our biggest problems stemmed from the restaurants. On the whole, the service at all of the restaurants is painfully slow. A simple lunch of a sandwich can take well over 90 minutes, and it was not unusual for us to wait more than 20 minutes after we were seated just to receive a menu and a glass of water. While I appreciate portion sizes have gotten out of control in the US, the spa-sized portions at the Zoetry are an over-correction. Their shrimp curry dish at dinner consists of 4 shrimp and some curry sauce--not enough food to stop your hunger for 5 minutes. Side orders were routinely forgotten, and food quality was variable. We ate a chicken dish early in our visit at the outdoor grill and it was fantastic; a few days later, we ordered it again and were served a charred, dried up piece of chicken with no herbs at all. Restaurants also don't follow their posted hours and almost all close early. We arrived for a late lunch at 3:30pm at a restaurant that closes at 4pm and were turned away. On another day, we tried to order some guacamole and chips at 5:15 from a restaurant that closes at 5:30 and were told they were closed (all food services on the property shut down during from 5:30-6:30pm, which makes no sense anyway given that this is happy hour). Even worse, while we were assured at check-in that it would not be a problem, we consistently ran into trouble with my wife's food allergy. My wife was poisoned once and spent an entire day sick in our room recovering. On another occasion, she was served a meal containing the allergen, but was assured by wait staff the food was fine. Only when she got a manager's attention did she learn that the dish DID contain the allergen. On several other occasions, she was served food which we had to send back because the allergen was plainly visible. All of this happened even though the hotel put a note in the computer system detailing the allergen AND we discussed it with our server and/or the restaurant manager on duty at every single meal. We travel extensively (including in Mexico), and have never encountered this level of problem at a hotel or resort with this allergy, which is actually quite easy to deal with normally. Especially frustrating was that the staff were often rude about it. We found management to be generally unresponsive to our problems. It took 3 days for the general manager to return our phone calls, and when he did, he simply made excuses for our experiences....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ALS travel
Business
Chicago
Jan 14, 2013

Disappointed

I was expecting great service but I was very disappointed. The staff seems to be running always but very ineffectively. We never had a meal which lasted less than one hour(including breakfast). Sometimes it took 2.5 hours to be served. The rooms are dated. Towels in the rooms used to be white now they are dirty greysh. The drinks at the pool are very diluted. If you do not tip continuously nobody pays any attention to you. Front desk manager Sergio very unhelpful, gruf and argumentative. Beds are very hard and hard to get on due to heigh. I am 5'4 and had to get a stool to get on the bed. Mattress in our room was torn on the side. Overall not worth all the additional expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dive Buds
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 30, 2012

Late Summer Vacation

Great get-a-way for a quiet, private vacation. Only 20 minute limo ride south from Cancun airport. Staff was so happy and helpful, suite very spacious and nicely appointed, and food and drinks high quality. Spa has many special treatments. Beach was nice, but no one swam in the ocean; seaweed and dirty 1st 10 yards out. Diving was delightful, with reef, wreck and Cenote options. Many activities to engage in; yoga, wine tasting, cooking, catamaran sail, snorkeling, fishing, windsurfing. Great place to just relax and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is best by far. It is not open every night, so plan accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerico
Business
St. Louis
Nov 1, 2012

Not good service, but nice place

The staff needs lessons from the staff at Secrets Capri and Now Sapphire - snooty staff - they do not have the guests' best interests at heart - they obviously don't want their guests to have a great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timtravel
Business
MN
Dec 9, 2012

Our Zoetry Stay

Beautiful resort. The staff is fantastic and leave you wanting for nothing. The rooms are beautiful. The best part being the totally private terrace. We stayed in the Bangkok.The beds are on the hard side though. The only improvement I would have to suggest would be to vary the menu more. For a seven day stay the choices became a little boring. This is not an adults only resort. There were a few children when we stayed. One was below us in the resort and we could hear him cry daily. That was a negative and might make me choose an adults only next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWNYC614
Business
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

Luxurious GIrls Weekend

We selected this hotel for its location because we had a short weekend trip planned, and we didn't want to waste time in transit. The hotel delivered on this, and the shuttle service to/from the airport was a great plus. The hotel itself is great--the communal areas around the pool and beach (restaurants, bars) are super luxurious. The drinks are flowing and the staff are SO nice and ready to help. The saltwater pool in the Spa/Thalasso area is a MUST visit. What a relaxing spot! The food was plentiful and good, but it seemed like there was too much effort in making it "fancy" with foams and gels and molecular gastronomy kind of things. A simpler approach might have been better. The package didn't come with all the activities that we thought would be included--snorkeling, paddle boarding, and anything with the marina were an extra charge. The catamaran tour WAS included but we waited too long to book it and it was full. The yoga class was free and was WONDERFUL. Honestly, I've taken many yoga classes at home, and the instructor was BETTER than most of the teachers I have had. I'm still sore! The staff of the hotel is the shining star---they're very nice and happy to help you any way they can. I wasn't sure about the tipping policy, so we asked and some people do tip, so we did. We gave $5 for breakfast, $10-15 to the pool/beach service, which is where we also ate lunch and $10-20 for dinner. Random $2-5 were given to bellman, bartenders, whatever. I would have liked to not have to tip, but we didn't want the staff to think we didn't appreciate their help. All in all, a great hotel. I will say, though, having stayed at other 5 diamond resorts, this was on the lower end of the spectrum luxury-wise, though still VERY luxurious and nice--and it is the only all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Yoga class with Gabriela... she's a fabulous instructor and it's a great way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slpreimer
Business
Michigan
Oct 10, 2010

Great vacation..Again!

The grounds, food and service are all fabulous! We visited this resort last year and were very happy again this year! The best resort food I have ever eaten. Seafood every meal cooked over open fire!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
May 28, 2009

Very nice but not outstanding for the $$

Lovely property and friendly staff. Good 1st impression with airport transfer. Very clean. Staff may be at a disadvantage due to lack of proper management to help them out enough. It seems they could maximize efficiency in ways so the staff wouldn't have to do quite as much. Several glitches in service that keep me from saying it is 5 star service. I'd say this is a 4 star place with 6 star prices because they over promise what is delivered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wendyww
Business
Brighton, MI
Jul 5, 2010

Beautiful, but less than perfect...

This was our 5th trip to the Riviera Maya in the past 3 years. Although we have stayed at 3 different resorts previously (one of them twice) they were all owned by the same management company. Our prior experiences have been nothing short of incredible (we've referred several other friends and family members to those resorts), but we learned of Zoetry two years ago and had been watching it as a possible vacation desitnation ever since. In addition, we thought it was important to try a resort not owned by the same management company to determine whether or not we were staying at the best possible places.[...]We prefer "boutique" (smaller) resorts and there is usually a premium associated with that. We also prefer having access to the pool directly from our room's patio, so although Zoetry didn't have "swim-up suites" the private plunge pool seemed like a good alternative. In February, we went ahead and booked June 28th - July 3rd at the Zoetry.One of the perks we were really looking forward to was the private airport transportation provided by the resort -- a definite plus! However, we had "assumed" (and you know what that does) that the White Lincoln Navigator would be waiting at the curb for us when we came out of the airport. Suffice it to say that it wasn't. The Zoetry transportation coordinator put us off to the side in the 90+ heat to wait for our ride. She joked that it would only be a few minutes, which in Mexico meant that it would be closer to 30 minutes. She wan't far off. About 20 minutes later we saw a Navigator drive by in the traffic circle. At the same time, another couple walked out of the airport and up to the Zoetry rep and she ushered all 4 of us out to the parked vehicles. At first we were thinking that they were going to put all 4 of us in the same vehicle -- not very "private" but better than waiting in the heat. Instead, she steered the freshly arrived couple up to the Navigator and directed us to an older model, dark blue Expedition. My normally laid back husband almost came unglued because he thought it was disrepectful to make us wait and then put us in something other than the white Navigator. Despite being a Customer Service Director by profession, although I was a little disappointed, I was just happy to get out of the heat! Our driver, [...], was great so we quickly forgot about the wait and the switch to the Expedition.We arrived at the resort after a quick 20-minute champagne ride where they were waiting for us out front with green tea, iced tea. I'm not a tea drinker, but it was delicious! One of the guest services representatives approached us and told us not to worry about the luggage...she would give us a quick tour and then take us to our room for check-in, which is a big plus of a boutique resort for those of you who have not stayed at one before. We've never had to wait for our room at a boutique resort and they always do in-room check-in...so nice! Things went downhill quickly when we arrived at our room. You may have already read some reviews referring to the "weak" air conditioning and uncomfortable beds. In fact, I had emailed the resort ahead of time expressing my concern. When we walked into our room, it was pretty obvious to us (though not to the guest services rep) that there was no air at all. She insisted that it was on and that we could keep the room more comfortable by keeping the doors and blinds closed all the time. No way lady...we were both "glistening" profusely within 3 minutes of arriving in our room. We quickly turned on the overhead fans and made certain that the air conditioning was set on "high." After an hour there was no improvement and my 6'6" husband could easily put his hand up in front of the ceiling registers to confirm that there was no air coming out of any of the vents. We quickly opened the patio doors (both of them) to usher in the 30 mile an hour winds -- a parting gift from tropical storm Alex and a definite blessing in disguise! We were quickly re...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sign up early for things like the boat taxi to Puerto Moreles or the sunset cruise on the catamaran. We signed up Tuesday thru Thursday but the trips were cancelled because of the high surf left behind by tropical storm Alex. When they called to cancel us on Thursday, I asked that they add us to the list for Friday, which they responded to by saying "Yes, of course." However, when we walked down to the marina Friday morning, we were not on the list and missed out on both "free" excursions. I thought it was a little petty since my husband had worked with the Marina staff for more than two hours on Tuesday morning to help them free the shopping excursion boat which had broken loose from its moorings overnight and beached itself on the sand in front of the guest rooms. They were very grateful and said they wanted to do something for us (which wasn't necessary) but you might have thought that they would at least give us priority on one of the 3 boats that finally went out on Friday! Instead, we rented a taxi into Puero Moreles, which was worth the trip. It's a quiet village with none of the pressures of Playa del Carmen or Cancun. There was a good selection of the Mexican pottery that we like to collect and the prices were much better than either Playa or Cancun, thought it's cash onl (USD or pesos).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily - Mom-to-Be
Business
Fort Collins, CO
May 24, 2011

Excellent

I have traveled to the Riviera Maya region 4 times and have stayed at wonderful hotels. What made this hotel special was that it was small and intimate. I will never go back to a large hotel again based on this experience. You do give up a few things when you travel to a small hotel (not as many restaurant options, fewer choices, etc.) but it is well worth it. What made this hotel fabulous was the size and scope of the beach! The beach was absolutely wonderful and the private catamoran was amazing! The staff was super friendly and accomidating. They went out of their way to make sure our experience was top notch. While the food was excellent, the options were the same each night at each restaurant. I was not impressed with their breakfast restaurant as well. It is just one location and with a very limited menu. A must is the private dinner on the beach...what a truly unique and romantic experience! The spa at the resort was lovely but if you are looking for a spa hotel then this will not be impressive. Like other reviewers, the beds were hard but my husband and I found it comfortable. The private transportation to and from the hotel was wonderful - no waiting for other guests - no multiple stops along the way to other resorts! Plus, this resort is only 20 minutes from the airport which was a great surprise. I hadn't realized that you could find a resort of this quality so close to the aiport - which meant more quality time at the hotel on travel days. My husband I got the babymoon package which was a real treat for expecting parents. I received a fabulous mommy-to-be massage and my husband loved the reflexology massage. The package was well worth the cost ($350) - you received a lot of extras (cigar for dad, a special drink for dad, romantic dinner on the beach, manicure and pedicure for mom, etc.). Overall I give the experience a 4.5! It would receive a 5.0 if they updated the rooms, provided more food options and had a better mini-bar with snacks, etc. in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must book the romantic private dinner on the beach! People thought later in the evening was better but we would disagree. Book it early on so that you get to enjoy the ocean view and the cruise ships passing by, if you book too late you don't get to look at the ocean!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top