$509 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Bahia de Petempich SM12 MZ 31, Lote 14-02, Riviera Maya, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
411 out of 411
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mika NJ
Business
Tuckerton, NJ
Jul 18, 2009

Not for the Average Joe

This hotel was fancy looking but looks can definetly be deceiving. Overall it was just a bad resort that was understaffed alot. Each bar had One blender to service 40 people at a time...Uhh Hello maybe you should get 2 more blenders!!! Pool service for drinks which by the way were DISGUSTING, took 40 minutes to get one drink and thats if it came to you as how you ordered it!!! Beach uhh nope cant use it caue of the Jagged rocks by the shore line that rip your feet up and the mountains of Sea Weed to hurdle over!! All and All I would never go back to this Resort or recommend not even my worst enemy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

activities all day are So So

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST. LOUIS MO
Jul 17, 2009

great place if you want to be bored

FOR A ADULTS ONLY PLACE WE SAW A COUPLE OF TEENAGERS, WAS GREAT PLACE IF YOU WANTED TO DO NOTHING, I MEAN NOTHING, ALL IN ALL NOT BAD BUT SEVEN DAYS WAS TO MUCH WITH NO ACTIVITIES. YOU COULD HAVE ACITIVITIES BUT IT WAS EXPENSIVE TO DO EXCURSIONS EVERY DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

TAXI WILL COST ABOUT 80 DOLLARS ROUNDTRIP TO GO INTO TOWN.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
penyx
Business
mtl
Jul 17, 2009

Relaxing!!

Very relaxing..good food..nice rooms..and friendly staff. pools are big, but the ocean is very dirty..should not go there if you to swim in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allen,Tx
Jul 16, 2009

very good

During our stay we were able to enjoy our days at the hotel and enjoy thwithe sun ,pools and dinning and menu at all times of the day. We were able to rent a car and take visits to area of interest(PlayaDumar,Cancun,Playdacarmin,Gozemel)and spend our days as we wished but waiting to get back for dinnerand drinks. The beach was wonderful for laying on and enjoying the surf but offered little for swimming in the ocean unless you walked up the beach to another area. Overall experience - very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 15, 2009

With a little more work and care.....

I believe the management staff was most disingenuous in their reasons for the Preferred Club to be closed. Although I paid for the Club, it was never open, with the reasons ranging from "maintenance" to "it doesnt offer anything different anyway, you get the same deal if you are not Preferred Club". The cost was certainly different, if nothing else. I suspect it may be the occupancy rate. Whatever the truth is, I should not have been charged. This is more than disconcerting to me! I hope that will be addressed with me. Perhaps it is a management thing at this point in their brief history. To be sure, all of the staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be. There is, however, an evident lack of training with the staff with respect to the jobs they are asked to do. Numerous calls were necessary in an attempt to get the proper supplies in the room, and turn-down service was sporadic at best. I should have known that something was amiss when I checked in and was told I was getting an upgrade to a Honeymoon Suite. When I asked why, the question was answered with a blank stare. I guess I should have figured it out. My wife and I were expecting the same or similiar experience we had in Secrets Excellence in the DR. But, that was not to be. While the restaraunt service was sometimes slow, it was not impossible, and the food was worth the wait every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 14, 2009

Still very new

I read all the reviews before booking this place with my sisters and the reviews were pretty harsh compared to what I experienced. The nine pools were beautiful, clean. The staff was very friendly and remembered what your drinks were and kept them coming. The only downsides were the long waits at the restaurants, the "Dress code" was strict and often random for some people (we were kicked out three times for improper attire....it's a VACATION, hello?!?!?!), the and there were not enough rafts for the pool. Other than that, it was a decent place to go for the price. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Prepare for very long waits between ordering food and receiving it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Couple!!!
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 14, 2009

Secrets Silversands

Where ever I went I was asked what I wanted? If I was comfortable? Could they get me anything? it was GREAT!!! Service, rooms, pools, spa, trips, EVERYTHING EXCELLENT. Restaurants are clean, all have different themes. Very comtemporary, classy, and romantic. BEST VACATION I have had. The beach is a walk away, indoor/outdoor bars everywhere in resort, food always available, great night time entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try EVERY restaurant!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speeder
Business
Phila, PA
Jul 13, 2009

Great value at current prices

As long as your expectations are in tune to what you're paying, there will be no surprises. The hotel is rated 5*s, it is new, modern, clean rooms, great pools, absolutely awesome food, and good bars. It is also an amazing bargain at current prices (July, 2009), but nothing is free. Due to lack of travel to Mexico in recent months, the hotel is obviously trying to get clients by cutting prices, but with ridiculously low prices there are some cutbacks. 2 of the biggest issues at the time of this review is the hotel is certainly somewhat understaffed, and they're cutting down expenses with cheap liquor at the bars. Room services and some other concierge requests took a while, and we once had to call twice after waiting 30 minutes for a request. Had to wait a while for a car to be brought up front at some point as well. With the bars, if you're sitting in front of a bartender and you ask for a drink with your preferred liquor (ie Gray Goose), you will most likely get Gray Goose. If you don't specify, you get something 'national'. Restaurants often pour cheap liquor even if you request something premium. Other then the issues described above, the only other thing I found lacking was the fact that their music lounge was not open at all. Nightly entertainment was an hour long show (varied daily), live music outside and 2 bars. It got repetitive. The beach is also somewhat lacking, but my understanding is that it is because of the protected/national park status of the beach due to the coral reef being very close to shore. The hotel certainly makes it up with the pools. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and considered this trip a great bargain. 4*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car, travel around. Nothing is in walkable distance so you need a tour, cab or your own transportation to do anything outside the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2009

"Great Couples Trip"

We loved loved loved this resort. It is super relaxing. The staff at the resort are extremely hospitable. The pools are all amazing and everything about our trip was superb. Would absolutely consider going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 12, 2009

Beautiful resort--relaxing vacation

Resort was very well maintained, and the service for the most part was very good. Ultra-modern decor was very appealing. Food and drinks were great. A perfect resort for relaxing. We used all of the pools which were a perfect temperature for swimming and floating, but more shaded areas are needed around the smaller pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It's best to eat dinner fairly early as the restaurants get crowded later in the evening and the service slows up a bit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top