$347 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Bahia de Petempich SM12 MZ 31, Lote 14-02, Riviera Maya, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Breenie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2009

Clean, Relaxing, and Great Food

I really liked the feel of the hotel. The people were friendly. It was clean, open, and very contemporary. The food was way better than I expected. It was a little hard to plan on what resturaunts you wanted to visit just because some of them are not open certain nights. Maybe it would have been better to have a list of what resturaunts were open days ahead so you can plan out where you would like to eat. The room was nice-Clean and comfortable. The pool was very nice- I like that there were different pools to go and relax in while the main pool was more upbeat. I think that upbeat music by the pool each day would have been nice. There was always just relaxing music by the pool and that is nice- but it could have been upbeat at times. The only bad thing that I would have to say is that the Spa was overpriced and bad service. I had a peticure- that was supposed to be the best that they have for $65.00- for about 55 minutes. It was about 15 min of her painting and 1 minute scrubbing my feet, and about 1 minute of her massaging my leg by slapping it. My nail polish came off the next day- Totally not worth $65.00- Overall I would come again- just not visit the spa! :) I would recomend this hotel to anyone who is planning on staying at Riveara Maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 26, 2009

Good, could work on a few areas

The rooms were beautiful and clean. The food was good. The staff was friendly and hard working, but more help was needed. One day, the pool bar opened an hour late. They need more actvities and lively music at the main pool during the day. We had to start our own game in the pool, because there just wasn't much going on. There are plenty of other quiet pools people can go to if they aren't into a "party" atmosphere. Also, the Barracuda beach bar would be a great place to hang out at night, but it closed at 5:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Jun 25, 2009

Gorgeous & Relaxing

MUST SEES: Xel-Ha & Chichen Itza; also: for couples take the dinner cruise - it's gorgeous & romantic.. . .we even saw dauphins after the sunset. We've never stayed in a hotel this nice. It was amazing. The beach was a tad disappointing, the beach itself was beautiful, but once in the water it was mostly rock & seaweed - not great for swimming. A 15 minutes ride to Puerto Morelos gave us a MUCH better beach though, it was GORGEOUS. The hotel was laid out very well, there were 8 pools and there were two or three pools that we only saw two or three people in the entire time we were there. There are also lots of places to lounge somewhat privately, great for a couple looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway. The pools were spotless and the staff very hardworking. The food was topnotch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nonad
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 24, 2009

Excellent Stay!!!!!

Best Stay...HIGHLY Recommend!! A-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cancun

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agawam, MA
Jun 24, 2009

Great Place

Beautiful and clean resort. Friendly staff. Good food. Despite the beach which was too rocky to enter and full of seaweed....and the lack of topshelf liquor and lack of wine choices I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OG
Business
Pearland, TX
Jun 21, 2009

Best Vacation 2009

It had a slow start and ended being the best vacation of all times!!! Excelent service from all the staff members. Fantastic food. Very friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try out all the restaruants in the hotel as they were all fantastic!

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hyde Park Mass
Jun 21, 2009

Great resort

Everything was great except the orbiz rep. He was not around and rude when asking questions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great restaurants

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wait4Me
Business
Colorado
Jun 17, 2009

Book your trip now!

Although this was our first time at an all-inclusive resort, we've decided that all-inclusive is the way to go. And we'll come back to Secrets Silversands Riviera Maya every time. We were truly spoiled the entire time we were there. We ate like royalty. The meals we had were superb. The dining in the evening was so elegant. The entertainment at night was fun. The setting was spectacular. We searched numerous websites and found the best package deal for flight/hotel through Orbitz for our trip to Secrets Silversands. We also googled and found a promo code to get an extra significant discount for staying 6 nights. It was promo ENTERTAIN200. Knowing Spanish is not a necessity at this resort. All of the resort workers spoke sufficient English. We spent the first two nights in the cheapest room we were able to book on-line, and that first room smelled really musty. We then upgraded our room to an ocean view, which was fantastic. There is beach access, with a few little bungalows scattered along the beach to hide out under from the sun.... The beach has beautiful white sand and is very nice to stroll on, but it isn't great for swimming, very rocky and lots of coral even close to shore. I wished I had brought water shoes. However, there are catamarans (wind sail pontoon boats) to use for free...... There are also sea kayaks for free, also fun. Supposedly, there is snorkel equipment available to use, but we really had to haggle to get all the necessary equipment. We would recommend bringing your own equipment as there are some nice little reefs near the hotel. We did do one group snorkeling boat tour, our one "paid" activity for the trip and saw a nurse shark and a sea turtle. There is a beach area you can swim in about a 10 minute walk along the beach from the hotel (avert your eyes, as you pass the nude beach along the way!) My favorite activity by far though, was sietas in the afternoon on the bed on our ocean view balcony....so nice laying there with a breeze blowing and the waves crashing. Other than what the cost of the trip on Orbitz, plan on transportation to and from the airport. We paid $40 total one way to get from the airport to the resort. Bring lots of $1s for tips....Probably plan on at least $100+ in tips by the time the stay is over. Tipping isn't required, but the word got out that we tip and we received extremely good service every meal as well as from the maid, concierge, bar tenders, etc. The snorkeling tour came to $100 total for the two of us. Other than that, the only spent money on EXPENSIVE sun block from the hotel gift shop....the one bottle we brought with us definitely wasn't enough sun block! There's really not much shopping here, other than the few vendors who set up shop one night near the pool....it's pretty well secluded. We did also pay to upgrade our room for the last 4 nights…money well spent. We cashed in some of our resort credit vouchers to help cut this cost in half. We really had no complaints about our trip. It was fun, relaxing and wonderful. We would suggest booking a trip now while the resort is offering their pay a night stay a night free deal. We paid for 3 nights and stayed 3 nights free...hard to beat that deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do bring some nicer clothing...ladies tend to wear dresses and nice sandals for dinner at this resort and men wear nice short sleeve dress shirts and slacks.

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico city
Jun 16, 2009

my aniversary vacation

MY WIFE AND I WENT FOR OUR 10TH ANIVERSARY TO THIS HOTEL, WHEN WE GOT THERE IN THE FRONT DESK THE ATTENTION WAS HORRIBLE, THE HOSTESS WAS WITH A BAD FACE AND EVREYTHING THAT WE WERE ASKING , SHE TOLDS IN A BAD MOOD THAT SHE CANT GIVES US NOTHING BECAUSE EVREYHING LIKE AN UPGRADE OR A LATE CHECK OUT HAS AN EXTRA COST , EVEN THAT THE HOTEL WAS AT 40% OCUPPANCY AND SHE DIDNT CARE TO THE MUCH FOR US BEACAUSE SHE TOLD US THAT WE HAD A VERY GOOD DEAL IN ARE HOTEL ROOM AND THE PRICE WAS FOR A SUITE WITHOUT PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW, EVEN WHEN IT DIDNT SAY THAT, SO AFTER TALKING TO THE MANAGER THEY GAVE US WITH A LOT OF EFFORT ANOTHER ROOM CLOSER TO THE POOLS AND RESTURANTS, BESIDE THAT THE STAFF OF THE HOTEL WERE AMAZING, THEY TRY TO DO WHAT THEY CAN TO DO BRING YOU OR GIVE YOU WHAT YOU WANT, LIKE OCSAR ONE OF THE FOOD MANAGERS, DRINKS AND FOOD ARE VERY GOOD, I THOUTGHT THE BEACH WAS NOT SO GOOD BEACAUSE IT HAS A LOT OF ROCKS AND ITS DIRTY, ITS NOT A GOOD BEACH. THE POOLS ARE VERY NICE AND THE ROOMS ARE AMAZING , THE ONLY THING IS THAT THE JETED TUB IS NOT FOR 2 PRESONS, ITS FOR 1 PERSON ONLY O FOR 2 BUT NOT CONFTORBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

THE MEXICAN RESTAURANT CALL EL PATIO WAS AMAZING, STAFF , FOOD AND THE DECORATION IS MARVALEOUS DONT MISS

Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Jun 16, 2009

Way Beyond Expectations

This hotel is first class. From the moment you arrive you are treated with a level of service that rivals the top hotels in the US & Canada. The food and beverage selection were all top shelf and beyond our expectations. My wife who has been in the meeting planning industry for many years and has stayed in some of the top hotels in the US and Canada raved about every aspect of this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Whilst you could stay weeks at this property without needing to leave, the Riveria Maya from Cancun to Tulum is a great place to drive around. The Hotel is 40 or so minutes from the major shopping districts of Cancun or Playa Del Carmen and the driving is great. Book your car on-line and expect the $11-14 manditory insurnace charges.

Back to menu Return to top