$778 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum 307, Km. 51, Solidaridad, Solidaridad, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
482 reviews
Fab Vacation where my boyfriend proposed

Can't say enough about this hotel, fab beach, lovely staff, great service and a brilliant concierge... See full review

  • SusanC
  • Dec 16, 2014
Perfect getaway

I traveled alone and just returned from this amazing resort! Plenty of peace, quiet and beauty when... See full review

  • Runner Lea
  • Sep 20, 2014
One of several Secrets hotels dotting the coastline of the Mayan Riviera in Mexico, Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is situated right on the seafront. Enjoy the complimentary in-suite Internet access (fees may apply) and a swim-up bar, as well as the cool, stone-tiled interiors and thatched awnings over the pool. Whether spending your time swimming with dolphins or windsurfing around coral reefs, or attending a business meeting on the terrace with the sounds of the Caribbean Sea in the background, take a moment to mellow out with a Swedish massage or seaweed wrap at the Secrets Spa. Dinner is served by the Italian experts at Portofino and the Japanese-style gourmet chefs at Himitsu, among many other dining choices.
Key Facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • 4 floors
  • Restaurants: Barefoot Grill, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill and World Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Swim-up bar
  • Private beach
  • 13 swimming pools
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Between lively resort Playa del Carmen, and the more laidback vibe of Puerto Morelos on Mexico's east coast, you can get up to countless activities on land and water around the neighborhood. Take to the sea via kayak, enjoy a sailing and scuba diving excursion within sight of the hotel, or stick to the shore with yoga, archery and cocktail classes. Make the ten-minute drive down the coast to Playa del Carmen for souvenir shopping and an up-tempo beachfront bar scene.
Hints and tips
When it's time for a full meal, most of the restaurants here don't require reservations, but you'll definitely want to book ahead for seats at Japanese venue Himitsu.

Guests may prefer to book their own airport transfers from Cancun International Airport (CUN), as shared journeys can be lengthy, dropping off passengers at various different resorts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

All suites offer the following:
Four poster king or two double beds
His-and-her Armoire
Sofa
Jacuzzi for 2 in every room
Ceiling fan
Electronic safety deposit box (laptop size)
Iron and ironing board
Vanity mirror
Hair dryer
Secrets box for private room service delivery
24 hour room Service
Night table with lamp
32" satellite-TV
DVD player
Mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water and beer
Coffee/ tea maker
Alarm clock with i-Pod docking station
Direct dial telephone
Internet access*
Private and furnished terrace or patio
Electric voltage- 120V

*Additional charge applies
Junior Suite Partial Ocean View or Ocean View
624 sq ft. In addition to the above amenities, the Junior Suite Partial Ocean View and Ocean View also offer a four-poster king or two double beds and ocean or partial ocean views.
Junior Suite Swim Out Tropical View
In addition to the above amenities, the Junior Suite Swim-Out also offers pool and garden views, a four-poster king bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower, water closet and double vanities, and a private furnished terrace with direct swim-out access to one of the 12 pools that flows to each private patio.
Preferred Club benefits include:
Private Preferred Lounge
VIP Status and Amenities
Concierge service
Daily continental breakfast service in the lounge
Afternoon hot and cold hors d'oeuvres; exquisite desserts & fine liquors in the lounge
Pillow Menu
Complimentary newspaper in lounge every day (English or Spanish)
Free internet access in suite
Free computer access in Preferred Lounge
Upgraded mini bar service
Upgraded bath amenities
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View
624 sq ft.In addition to the above amenities, the Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View also offers breathtaking ocean views, four-poster king bed, full bathroom with separate shower, water closet and double vanities and furnished terrace with exterior private soaking tub.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Swim Out
624 Sq Ft.In addition to the above amenities, the Preferred Club Junior Suite Swim-Out also offers pool and tropical views, a four-poster king bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower, water closet and double vanities, and a private furnished terrace with direct swim-out access to one of the 12 pools that flows to each private patio.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite
1,249 Sq Ft.In addition to the above amenities, the Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite also offers ocean views, a four-poster king bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower, water closet and double vanities, a private furnished balcony or terrace including an exterior private soaking tub, table and chairs. First level Honeymoon Suite features a private furnished terrace with direct swim-out access.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Revive Bar
Spa Bar with natural juices
Himitsu
Specializing in a fusion of Pan-Asian and Oriental a la carte specialties.
Manatees Bar
Swim-up Pool bar
Barracuda
Beach Bar
Desires
Contemporary music lounge and sports bar, flat screen TV, dance floor and DJ
El Patio
Savor Mexican a la carte cuisine in a traditional authentic ambiance.
La Habana
Piano Lounge and Cigar bar
Oceana
Situated directly under a "palapa" with a beautiful ocean view, serving a la carte seafood specialties in a romantic and seaside setting.
Wolrd Cafe
Continental cuisine served buffet style with a variety of international-specialty items and classics
Seaside Grill
Located in the pool area with a stunning ocean view, serving a la carte grill specialties.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Secrets Maroma Beach has over 8,000 sq.ft of dedicated meeting and function space. The meeting area offers freestanding flexible space as it divides into four sections. Aditionally, Secrets Maroma Beach offers storage for service and set-up equipment, a breakout and foyer area, a private boardroom and three individual meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (482)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
482 out of 482
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Customer (?)
Business
New York
Oct 25, 2010

Unfortunate Encounter

We arrived late due to equipment failure of American Airlines. However, the hotel did not honor our prepayment and sold our room to another guest! There was no room left for us and we had no choice but to stay at another hotel located half an hour away from Secrets Maroma. The following night they tried to compensate with an upgrade. This is the first hotel I encountered where prepayment does not guarantee that a room will be waiting for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 17, 2009

Not many good things to say ...

I suppose if you just want a relaxing and quiet atmosphere, this is your place. If that is not what you are looking for you will be bored. The staff was unfriendly and lacked the interaction typically displayed at other All-Inclusive Resorts. We have been to many resorts and each and every one left us with breathtaking views, great foods and wine, memories of great live entertainment, and wonderful friendly staff. This is literally the first time that I am unable to make these remarks about a resort. I was completely disatisfied and felt like I had just thrown $1,500 down the drain. The resort is beautiful and everything is really clean, so if that is the criteria you need to determine where you will stay ... this is your place. However, the food was similar to what can be cooked at home, the bartender at the Rendevouz bar and the entertainment staff were unfriendly and often ignored us, we were reminded that we were not "preferred guests" which was insulting, and the lack of entertainment throughout our stay made the trip boring and uneventful. The highlight of our stay was a very friendly waitress named [...]. You did not have to ask her for a thing because she always beat you to the punch. She seemed to be the only one that cared if we had a good time and offered us the same service that the majority received. There are so many other negative things that I can say, but I'm sure you get my point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop off of the resort. The prices are outrageous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles,LA
Jul 30, 2009

Ok Stay

Hotel is Great. But got REALLY SICK from the food. Be careful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Transportion is very expensive..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Aug 3, 2009

Never Ever Again

I'm going to do this quick, because to be honest, at this point I want to forget this trip. The hotel lacked a lush, rich, sensual, warm feel, not luxurious, not a feeling of VIP service that seemed to be a sell for this resort. Not one staff person was genuine, and maybe 10% spoke english. We travelled with another couple, our friend is from Mexico city, and he had communication problems, and actually got attitude from one concierge when he asked why he didn't have a clock/Ipod docker in his room, (as came standard in all rooms) they gave him a hard time over it!!, and no, he never got a radio. The loud entertainment from the pool and evening show were not a part of the chic feeling this hotels wants to sell. The food is horrible hands down, there was broken glass everywhere in the morning, turned over garbage cans, garbage on the beach. We are living in Texas and have travelled extensively. This place is for lack of a better way to put it, a resort that has a touch of Cancun, the majority of couples are tattooed rednecks ready to get drunk. it was depressing. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beachchic
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 11, 2009

Don't judge a book by it's cover...

We stayed at SMB for a wedding and it was a bit of a disappointment from all the hype that this was one of the best new resorts to stay at. I am surprised that we were upgraded, but everything in our upgraded room was broken. Granted they fixed everything after we pointed it out, but we were no longer there to use it. The food was average for an all-inclusive resort. However, the best dishes I had were the filet mignon and tortilla soup that was served at the wedding, which is probably the only food that they truly made an effort to prepare. Now the wedding itself was gorgeous and the bride and groom to the best of my knowledge were treated as king and queen during their stay based on their room upgrade and from "most" of the feedback that they shared with guests. However, the level of customer service in Mexico is very different from the level of service that I believe most Americans come to expect from a "high class resort" such as SMB. It seemed that we were always ordering drinks that never came at restaurants and if anything was wrong or a problem arose, they were not quick to fix the matter. I always felt that we had to keep asking to be accommodated or suggesting numerous alternatives to how they could make our meal or stay more enjoyable. What is the point of the concierge if they were never there to help you or make suggestions for possible solutions as opposed to saying there is nothing they can do? What the point of staying in an "upgraded" room with broken amenities and not being able to have a fully functioning room while we were still there to enjoy the amenities? Also, for as big of a resort that it was, I was surprised that they did not have A/C or fans in the lobby, restaurants, or club area. It was super humid and hot in all the public congregating areas. I can understand not blasting AC, but fans would have made dinner and hanging out in the dance club and lobby bar a lot more bearable. Those were my major gripes. To SMB's credit though, they did a really good job with our friends' wedding and the beach is wonderful. The water is so clear that you can see the schools of fish swimming up to you. (They don't bite) The sand is so white, fine, and cool to the touch. They just need to work on better customer service, offering a better food selection, and live up to the "higher class" resort standard. I also think that they need to have the restaurants hours overlap through deifferent meals of the day. There is no restaturant open at all during the hours of 5-6:30pm. There is only room service and that takes about 30-50 minutes to even get to your room, by then, you might as well just wait outside of the restaurant. I don't know that I'll return to SMB after our experience. There are better places in the Caribbean that have even more gorgeous beaches to offer and better service for a more reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A private cab ride to the resort for 2 costs @$32 (not including tip). I recommend that you book online to get a transfer that would be at or around that price to get you to the resort. Just make sure that you avoid "Grayline". They are a transportation service that monopolizes on unsuspecting tourists at the exit of the airport and charges about $70-$90 for a private cab or shuttle. If you do choose to go with them, do not pay more than $50 for 2 ppl for a private taxi. They often times squeeze you into a shuttle that stops off at different resorts along the way, making a 30 min trip to the resort almost an hr trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CocoCafe
Business
Vancouver, WA
Mar 13, 2010

do not waste your money

After we checked in, we were pointed out in the direction to our room (there are many buildings on the property). Normally bell boy walks you to the room and deliver your luggage. When we finally found the room we couldn't get in as our room key didn't work. We spend an hour by the door waiting for them to re-key. Our request for different room was rejected and no compensation was offered. Room was Ok, nothing special. Do not expect partial ocean view as they state on your reservation, unless you have beach front room you don't see an ocean. Swim up room is waste of money as people don't use pool because water is cold. If you don't reserve your chair at the pool by 9 am you out of luck. Food at the restaurants is blend, after you tried it once you tried it all. In general, hotel is way overpriced and over rated and over crowded. Have to give credit for waiters-they work hard to please you. If we would go back to Cancun we may stay at different Secrets hotel, Excellence was so far the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have great coffee shop by lobby called Coco Cafe. You can get quick bite of sandwich, pastry of fruits. Coffee is great, they can make anything you want even if it's not on the menu. Also we had great experience with airport transfer. Cancun transfer is the name of the company and we paid $82 for private round trip from airport to hotel, it's only 30 minutes drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couldnotstayawayfromreviewingthishotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 11, 2009

Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy...

Remarkable beach, good facilities, sloppy lazy personnel, careless irresponsible management. Half of advertised services were not provided. Definitely not the place for the romantic hideout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Nov 23, 2010

Good weather and good time

I enjoyed the weather and the atmosphere. The thing that was most disappointing was the food. When I go to a beach resort for a sun and sand I normally wouldn't bring dress clothes. But to eat in one of the restaurants you had to have slacks and a button up shirt. If not you were sent to eat outside and were eaten themselves by all the mosquitos. Even though it is 85-90 degrees they require the whole get up. The quality of the cafe was subpar. I will not return because of it. Also the over ambitious sales crew that tries to get you to buy into the time share was annoying. I'm on vacation. Leave me alone. It turned the check in procedure into an hour and a half long ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2009

AWFUL!!! Don't get married here

I had to wait 4 hours to get into my room. Upon arriving in my room they brought the wrong luggage to our room, and what I paid for, which was a partial ocean view.. wasn't even what we got. Also, when we entered the room they were doing maintenance. I went for a friends wedding, they lost her veil, put a hole in it, and when we went to get our hair and make up done, they thought I was the bride and gave me the Bridal suite to get my hair done in. Although it was a great time with friends… def not a place I trust going to again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord
Sep 3, 2008

Food Needs Help!

Overall our vacation was great. We knew what we were getting into being that the resort was only open 2 weeks. There was no excuse for the food, at times it was not edible. For a Secrets Hotel that claims to be a 5 star, the food is off the mark. Le Blanc and the Sun Palace in Cancun were both so much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top