$377 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
518 out of 518
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myshouldersarepeeling
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful Trip, BUT....

I would like to start off by saying that I had a fabulous time and although these things didn't ruin my trip, they would make us think twice about booking Secrets Capri again. This was our second visit, the first being about 3 years ago. We remembered it as a first-class resort and at that time it definitely lived up to it's 5-star rating. This time, it seems that there were a few things that needed attention. For instance, we got to the room and the first thing we tried to do was put our passports and valuables in the safe...but the safe was broken and so was the lock on our balcony door. We called down and they said okay, but didn't let us know if they were moving us, coming up to fix it or what. Before we went down to the beach we told the front desk again...they said nothing but that they would report it. We met other couples by the pool that said their safes were broken also. Our fridge did not get cold and the shower water was either really hot or really cold and would phase in and out. Although the food is not bad and you definitely have options, I wouldn't say it's the greatest. I ordered surf and turf and got a shish kabob with two pieces of beef and two shrimp with some vegetables. It was still good, but just not what I expected. The "nightlife" at the hotel is kind of sad. You walk into this sports bar with a small dance floor that is well lit. They had about 3 tables outside off of the bar and we couldn't help but wonder why they don't put some more seating outside, maybe some music? I don't know...It just seemed odd. Everyone is kinda sitting around, staring at each other. After 10pm a dj comes in and refused to take requests from another couple. I do have to note the positives: beautiful beach that is extremely clean. They have someone cleaning up seaweed all day long...Great service, definitely not shy about feeding you alcohol all day long. A cleaning person came by the room twice daily and another person came by to refresh the fridge every day. We had a bottle of champagne upon arrival and the room was very clean. I think that with the economy the way it was, Secrets may be cutting some corners which is understandable. The natural stone tile throughout the resort needs to be resealed, the furniture in the lobby and rooms is somewhat dated. One other feature that we missed was the coy and turtle pond under the stairs...there is not one living thing in that pond. If we paid more than what we did for the trip, I would be upset. Overall, I had a great time, but I hope they make the much needed upgrades necessary to maintain their status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calabay
Business
ireland
Sep 21, 2009

great stay with limitations

This was a return visit to a location we had previously speant two weeks. This time we stayed for 6 days. Perfect location in an excellent resort. Only issue I had on this trip was due to the seasons only a couple of restaurants were open at night and during lunchtime. Our favourite was only open on 2 nights out of 5 which was disappointing. They have put on a new bar at it is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Take it or leave it

We went as a group (3 females) and found it to be more of a couples resort, although it's not really advertised as such. The resort is attractive and the pool is huge, however we had trouble reserving 3 chairs each morning. We had to set our alarms for 6am in order to find available chairs at the beach and/or pool area. That was a disappointment. Also, music only played at the pool during the one hour aqua aerobics at noon. After that it was quiet and a little boring. I guess married couples and honeymooners don't enjoy music while they are drinking in the sun... I've stayed at many all inclusive resorts and most had better food and a more exciting pool/beach atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel overall is lacking daytime excitement. I relaxed but I was looking for something more. The spa experience was falsely advertised, as I signed up for a thick cool clay massage that turned out to be a thin layer of hard coated masque-like texture and actually felt awful on my skin. Not to mention my friend and I were put in the same room for what looked like a "couples massage." We are not a couple and didn't request that. Also, we were unable to relax at the spa beforehand because they had a hydrotherapy "circuit" that included us being instructed on what to use, when to shower, and how long to relax (5 minutes each activity). That was not a relaxing experience, I felt like I was circuit training at the gym and having to wait for a free machine. That was my absolute biggest gripe about my overall stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet was best. All else not worth it.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy28
Business
South jersey
Dec 31, 2013

Excellent honeymoon

We had our honeymoon here. It was great. Food was fantastic, staff was excellent, beach was amazing. Just watch out for their vacation club or time share speech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bill W
Business
Detroit, MI
May 7, 2014

Great Place!

The only negatives about the place are the food at some places and the size of the beach. Oceana and Hitsumo are great, the other restaurants are ok, but nothing special. Antonio the server at the riviera buffet should receive a raise. He goes above and beyond. Ask to sit with him. The beach is kind of small. Otherwise the place is great. Lots of great activities, and good entertainment. Jon, victor, al, Alejandro, and BMW are excellent entertainment staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a beeper for Oceana and Hitsumo early because there is usually a 45 min wait.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2007

Nice hotel for the most part

Tropical viewroom came with double bed and was over looking power lines and manufacturing plant not on hotel property. Seemed to be many disgruntled guest who had requested different rooms. The room itself was very nicely furnished and clean. The bath had no windows and to compensate, a window to the bedroom was added with folding louvered doors which could be opened or closed but took away some of the privacy. Bath included small jacuzzi tub,separate shower and double sinks. Room had well stocked mini fridge and a safe deposit box. We have stayed at other 5 star hotels in the same area and found the food and public areas to be comparable. Finding a concierge when needed was sometimes a problem. On two nights their were private functions (Fri. night had two!)which made areas by the pool and/restaurants closed to regular guests. With some creative landscaping camouflage, additional guest relations staff and more king beds, Secrets Capri could be truly worth 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Beach at hotel was pretty good. Lot's of palapa's and chairs. Only one big pool divided into 2 sections, all in sun. Only 1 outdoor jacuzzi. 15 min ride to town of Playa del Carmen for shopping or nightlife. Excursions offered to many places. Morning Glory snorkling trip was excellent. Shows at hotel were okay, not spectacular.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, florida
Jun 22, 2009

Beautiful and luxury

The hotel is gorgeous, service was perfect most of the time and the beach was cleaner than most surrounding and groomed daily by hand. Great drinks and great food but wine was expensive by the bottle. Room was beautiful despite not facing the ocean but who spends that much time in the room when the beach and pool are so inviting. The beds were ok. It was very quiet and relaxing if you wanted but fun activities if you choose to participate. We would definitely go again. The golf greens fees were included but travel to the courses was not. It is a $60 cab ride each way! We rented a car for the week at less than $100 and it was great. The golf course at Playa Mujeres is amazing, Pok ta Pok was nice. Both cost $70 for the cart fee. Neither was too challenging nor too easy. Playa del Carmen is the closest town and has a lot to see, do, eat and shop. If you stay here and plan to leave the hotel at all we recommend renting a car (on line from avis which has cars at the hotel) and checking out the area that way. We did not use the spa but the prices were a bit higher than in the USA for same treatments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car to get around, cab fees from this hotel to either Cancun or Playa del Carmen are expensive and the drive is easy.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 22, 2009

A Great Honeymoon Destination

The all-inclusive aspect to this place is key. The only downside to this is that they only serve "domestic" beer, but Mexican beer on a hot day is a good deal any way you slice it. The Mexican food is fantastic but their attempt at Italian is lacking. The Japanese Hibachi restaurant Himitsu is incredible. The only piece of advice I would give is that you don't need reservations to eat in the restaurant, only for the hibachi tables. Their regular menu is very good and you wont be disappointed. The overall service of the hotel is amazing and I would definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent but stay away from the Italian Restaurant. Mexicans preparing Italian food is a no-win combination.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peppy
Business
long island
Oct 17, 2009

Great Weekend

Staff was very friendly & helpful. I liked we did not need reservations for dinner and we were a group of 12. I think it was because it was an off season. It was not crowd which made it better. Did not have to hold chairs at the beach. October is a Great time to go. They could use a little better entertainment at night. and keep the outdoor bar opened later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelin sue
Business
wilm,de
Nov 25, 2009

not as good as expected

this all-inclusive should have included all tips, however the staff did not perform as well without a tip and some were rude if not tipped. the hotel is on 71 acres, however most of the property is hidden in front of the building, and not available to guests. the beach was not very wide, and the water was not clear as expected in the carribean. the worst was finding not one but glass on the beach every time we went for a walk. the food was absolutely incredible if you did not pass out waiting for a table and someone to serve you. the hotel did not offer a buffet meal option except at breakfast. the dinner was without reservations, which meant you waited sometimes over an hour, while there were empty tables. when you did sit down at a table the experience was like mickey d's not a 4 or 5 star resort. the waiter took your order,filled your water glass removed your plates, that's it! never offered if everything was ok and some did not offer desert!! the website listed newspaper delievered daily -did not happen. also listed were alcohol refilled in room - did not happen. NEEDS IMPROVEMENT!! NEEDS IMPROVEMENT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

akamal bay for snorkeling. beautiful clear water, many interesing sealife. not as commercialized. cuie reasonable little bar.

Back to menu Return to top