$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
517 out of 517
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calabay
Business
ireland
Sep 21, 2009

great stay with limitations

This was a return visit to a location we had previously speant two weeks. This time we stayed for 6 days. Perfect location in an excellent resort. Only issue I had on this trip was due to the seasons only a couple of restaurants were open at night and during lunchtime. Our favourite was only open on 2 nights out of 5 which was disappointing. They have put on a new bar at it is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Take it or leave it

We went as a group (3 females) and found it to be more of a couples resort, although it's not really advertised as such. The resort is attractive and the pool is huge, however we had trouble reserving 3 chairs each morning. We had to set our alarms for 6am in order to find available chairs at the beach and/or pool area. That was a disappointment. Also, music only played at the pool during the one hour aqua aerobics at noon. After that it was quiet and a little boring. I guess married couples and honeymooners don't enjoy music while they are drinking in the sun... I've stayed at many all inclusive resorts and most had better food and a more exciting pool/beach atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel overall is lacking daytime excitement. I relaxed but I was looking for something more. The spa experience was falsely advertised, as I signed up for a thick cool clay massage that turned out to be a thin layer of hard coated masque-like texture and actually felt awful on my skin. Not to mention my friend and I were put in the same room for what looked like a "couples massage." We are not a couple and didn't request that. Also, we were unable to relax at the spa beforehand because they had a hydrotherapy "circuit" that included us being instructed on what to use, when to shower, and how long to relax (5 minutes each activity). That was not a relaxing experience, I felt like I was circuit training at the gym and having to wait for a free machine. That was my absolute biggest gripe about my overall stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet was best. All else not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myshouldersarepeeling
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful Trip, BUT....

I would like to start off by saying that I had a fabulous time and although these things didn't ruin my trip, they would make us think twice about booking Secrets Capri again. This was our second visit, the first being about 3 years ago. We remembered it as a first-class resort and at that time it definitely lived up to it's 5-star rating. This time, it seems that there were a few things that needed attention. For instance, we got to the room and the first thing we tried to do was put our passports and valuables in the safe...but the safe was broken and so was the lock on our balcony door. We called down and they said okay, but didn't let us know if they were moving us, coming up to fix it or what. Before we went down to the beach we told the front desk again...they said nothing but that they would report it. We met other couples by the pool that said their safes were broken also. Our fridge did not get cold and the shower water was either really hot or really cold and would phase in and out. Although the food is not bad and you definitely have options, I wouldn't say it's the greatest. I ordered surf and turf and got a shish kabob with two pieces of beef and two shrimp with some vegetables. It was still good, but just not what I expected. The "nightlife" at the hotel is kind of sad. You walk into this sports bar with a small dance floor that is well lit. They had about 3 tables outside off of the bar and we couldn't help but wonder why they don't put some more seating outside, maybe some music? I don't know...It just seemed odd. Everyone is kinda sitting around, staring at each other. After 10pm a dj comes in and refused to take requests from another couple. I do have to note the positives: beautiful beach that is extremely clean. They have someone cleaning up seaweed all day long...Great service, definitely not shy about feeding you alcohol all day long. A cleaning person came by the room twice daily and another person came by to refresh the fridge every day. We had a bottle of champagne upon arrival and the room was very clean. I think that with the economy the way it was, Secrets may be cutting some corners which is understandable. The natural stone tile throughout the resort needs to be resealed, the furniture in the lobby and rooms is somewhat dated. One other feature that we missed was the coy and turtle pond under the stairs...there is not one living thing in that pond. If we paid more than what we did for the trip, I would be upset. Overall, I had a great time, but I hope they make the much needed upgrades necessary to maintain their status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snickerdoodle
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great Place to Stay

A great experience but I would never go back to this resort. I had a problem with Ant's in my room and after calling housekeeping twice to get the problem fixed I still had a few Ants here and there... Other than that a great resort. Friendly staff (when you tip) and food was not too bad. Not a lot of name brand liquors but its an all inclusive so that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Griff007
Business
Kansas, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Average

Te food was good. The rooms were immaculate. It was too small of a resort. The picture of the resort shows jungle on both sides. However, this was photoshopped. It had a resort right next to it. The beach was public and people kept trying to sell you things. I cut mu foot on the first day in the ocean due to so many rocks. No nightlife. They did have a good fireshow one night and some vendors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Was good and the right sized portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Wills
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 2, 2012

Some good, Some bad

So this place was not really what we were expecting. The food was so-so and the pool area was rowdier than we anticipated. Also, we upgraded to a nicer room and had several problem with it (namely the TV never worked and the AC made a very strange and loud noise)...oh and they forgot to put towels in our room the first night. However, there were some very good things about the place. The hotel itself is very nice and kept very clean. The staff is absolutely first rate and catered to our every need. Finally, the spa was out of this world. So great that we ended up booking two consecutive days of treatments. In the end, it was a good...but not a great stay and we probably won't be staying there again. But it's not because the staff didn't try...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure and check out the spa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda, ca
Oct 6, 2009

Secrets Capri

This is our second stay. Unfortunately the quality of service has deterirated. They need to update room furnishing, particularly t.v. We had a beach front suite, but the air condition unit leaked water. We had to call multiple times to restock the mini bar. Overall a disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid oceana restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Nov 12, 2009

Nice rooms, bad food

The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are clean and big. The hotel is very noisy, the sounds travels thourgh the floors. The food was horrible. I have been to Mexico about 15 times and never had food this bad(it was all in-clusive). I do not recommend this establishment. Sorry!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat somewhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Questionable food - great hotel!
Business
New York, NY
Apr 19, 2010

Bad food and weather but great hotel

We took a short vacation (4 nights) to the Secrets Capri. The first two days brought "uncommon" rain and wind. The second two were beautiful, sunny days. We enjoyed the pool, drinks by the water. and the location to the beach. The Secrets Capri is a small, intimate hotel with only about 250 rooms. The staff is great and the service is top notch. However, the food definitely leaves something to be desired. I was sick for our last two days on vacation and while was able to make it through the days, wasn't able to make it to dinner either night. My boyfriend has a stronger stomach than I do and for him the food was ok. Definitely don't order room service; smells awful and tastes worse! The only other thing to share is[...] Greyline connection in Mexico is not a great service. We tried to book a fishing trip early on our third day and they "forgot" to pick us up. It was a total waste of a morning and they just really had nothing to say about it. [...]. When they came to pick us up for our departure trip back tot he Cancun airport they were late - [...] Very disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 27, 2009

On the Fence-(GOOD/BAD of Secrets-Capri)

REVIEW SUMMARY: IT MIGHT BE GREAT FOR OTHERS, BUT I WOULDN'T STAY THERE AGAIN. My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets Capri for 6 nights in July 2009. Before going, I read the posted reviews and took them all with a grain of salt. I figured some were probably written by the Hotel itself and some from disgruntled guests with something to prove. I took a trip to Jamaica last year at an all inclusive resort, so that was my frame of reference. I was highly disappointed with the view of the room. I booked a partial ocean view. What we got was a view of a service road overlooking a neighboring resort. We could partially see the ocean if we tied off and leaned 3 feet over the balcony. I checked to see if we could possibly switch and was told it would be $80 per night additional ($80 X 6 = $480 = Seriously?!?). Decided against that. *** ADVICE: IF YOU WANT ANY SORT OF VIEW, MAKE SURE YOU BOOK THE FULL OCEAN VIEW OPTION. THERE ARE NO PARTIAL OCEAN VIEWS. Since we didn't spend much time in the room that first day and were exhausted from the plane ride, we failed to notice the swarm of mosquitoes inhabiting our room (and no we did not leave or have any doors or windows open). I informed the front desk and was told they would spray the room. That helped a little, but when I woke up after the 2nd night I found myself covered in bites and 5 X as many as before. We also asked others at the resort and no one else reported having mosquitoes in their room. I was initially told that the hotel was booked and nothing could be done (no way was it booked full). I basically had to argue with the front desk for an hour before "miraculously" an available room appeared on the radar. ***ADVICE: IF YOU ARE TAKEN TO ROOM 336. DO NOT ACCEPT IT. THERE MUST BE SOME DEFECT WITH THIS ROOM THAT ALLOWS BUGS TO ENTER. Our new room had approximately the same view but no mosquito infestation, so we were happy with that. The restaurants were good when they were open. Every night we would receive a flier for restaurants and activities for the following day. ***ADVICE: DO NOT RELY ON THIS FLIER. IT IS NOT ACCURATE. One day we waited 30 min. on the beach for an archery activity that never happened. No one from the staff ever even showed up. Also on more than one day, a restaurant would just be closed for an event or party. It was slightly aggravating that there was no advance notice of these closures. As far as entertainment goes, we were told on the day we arrived that there was a "Broadway" show every night in the main ballroom. We went there that night and there was nothing. The second night we were there, a hypnotist performed (that was pretty cool), but after that the room was set up for business conference that lasted the entire week and there were no performances. Here's the facts (and a few opinions) from my stay at Secrets-Capri. The GOOD: - It's Adults Only and after a 3 hour plane ride next to a screaming 2 yr old, that was very refreshing. - The pool bar and pool bar staff was great. - The food at the restaurants was better than most all-inclusive resorts. - The beach was gorgeous. - The spa and massage was phenomenal. The BAD: - The front desk staff was unfriendly and uncooperative. - The restaurant selection was very limited. - Entertainment was unreliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the Round Trip Transportation before you get there and don't waste your time with the "Time Share" people in the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top