$357 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
517 out of 517
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim H.
Business
Berwick, ME, USA
Nov 15, 2012

Capri getting tired

This was our second visit to Secrets Capri and we were disappointed with this resort this time. Service in the resteraunts was lacking , no hot water in our room for three days , hole in the room ceiling and management that didn't seem to care a bit. I never write bad reviews so take this as it is. We would no recoomend Capri or return !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
call me the fireman
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 13, 2011

Not a happening place

The Staff and the food were great. The day time events were as any other resort would offer. The nightlife was the worst that I have ever experienced. There was no access to swimming in the pool after 6 PM. The nightlife was all indoors, even on clear warm nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carman

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamison, PA
Dec 27, 2010

Secrets Capri

We went to celebrate our anniversary and were given two double beds instead of a single king size. Staff refused to switch rooms for us even though later I found that they did it for other people. This is not kind of service I expected from a 5 start hotel which it claims to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You can safely skip evening entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, *
Jul 21, 2008

WHAT IS THAT SMELL?

While the concierge was great as long with all the staff. our room was was next to the towel room which was very noisy. After talking to the management they did reassign us to another room but the new room was next to the towel room and as an added feature the hallway during the daytime smelled of sewer.when we went to talk to the management yet again they said they were sorry but all their rooms were overbooked as it is and we would have to make do. needless to say that put a real damper on the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cost062
Business
ohio
Jan 30, 2011

Will not return

This was our 5th and LAST visit to Secrets Capri. The food and service have DECLINED DRAMATICALY!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FlagAZ
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Oct 14, 2009

A no-personality, cookie-cutter resort

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 11 nights—long enough to see whether something is this hotel's standard practice or just our unusual experience. First the good things: the rooms are nice, quiet, and have large bathrooms. There is an actual beach in front of the resort—there are resorts that don't actually have a real beach so I must compliment this. The breakfast buffet is quite good, with fresh squeezed orange juice and other juices, great omelets, and selection of many other food items that are freshly prepared. Though bread, butter (tasted like margarine…maybe because it was margarine?), and coffee were disappointing. The staff is very polite. Everything else about this resort is however less than great. 1. Service: The food services is extremely slow in the restaurants which I suspect may be by design (less food served=lower cost of the operation…I assume). The waiters never come back after they serve the meal to ask if everything is ok. The room was cleaned daily but not thoroughly (sand on the floor not swept) and the bathroom amenities were not replenished every day. 2. Restaurants: Not a single restaurant features a typical Mexican flair(!); all their restaurants (and especially the Asian restaurant) serve food that is extremely salty and not the quality you would expect for the price they charge. Food was truly disappointing. Maybe if you stay for 3 nights you would not notice but any longer and you crave something real. 3. Drinks: Because this is a more high-end all-inclusive resort (at least based on the price tag) we were expecting higher quality alcohol to be included which was not the case at all—no top shelf tequila or whiskey and included wine was extremely disappointing as well (one type of merlot and cabernet sauvignon from Chile for red wine). 4. Coffee: Completely flavorless and even though they do have a decent espresso maker and grinder (Rancilio) the staff has to be yet trained on how to make a decent espresso. They clearly don't understand the difference between cappuccino and latte. 5. Beach: While the beach attached to the property is being cleaned every day the beach directly south of the resort has tons of trash on it. The beaches here are federal so they don't actually belong to the properties—which should be a one more reason for the property owners to clean also the adjacent beaches so when the guests venture out they don't experience beaches full of plastic bottles, old shoes, bottles from motor oil and similar artifacts. The resort may claim that it's not "their" beach but so is not the beach they actually do clean and it makes a really bad impression. 6. Technology: No wireless in the room, not even two cable outlets in the room (so don't bother bring two laptops). And the cables are two short so you cannot use your laptop sitting on the bed. No flat screen TV in the room—only the old tubes. The TV thing is not a big issue for me personally but it certainly makes the resort feel outdated. 7. Little things: The resort doesn't provide any hair conditioner!!!! I think even Motel 6 does. When we were there they didn't even have one in their gift shop. They say the shampoo is "conditioned" but everyone with longer hair knows you need a separate conditioner. When you start examining the otherwise nice shower closer, you find mildew which should not be there for this price. Overall, this resort has a very "plastic" feel to it—with Wal-mart style décor pretending to be Italian and the atmosphere of Pleasantville. My advice is go to the south beach of Tulum and don't do an all-inclusive. The beaches in Tulum are in a completely different category that those adjacent to Secrets Capri.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Tulum's south beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rachelmartin617
Business
Washington DC
Apr 29, 2014

Pool and Beach FABULOUS. Food -- not so great.

Whenever possible, I stay at very high end resorts (Four Seasons etc.); however, a bachelorette party took me to Secrets Capri. There are good and bad parts to the resort. On the positive side, Secrets Capri has a beautiful chlorine pool with plenty of chairs. The beach is impeccable with ample seating and shade. The rooms are clean and modern with large with soaking tubs and very comfortable beds. The liquor is high shelf (upon request), the coffee is excellent, the gym is clean and modern, and the breakfast buffet is very good. On the negative side, lunches and dinners were not great. Unless otherwise specified, the drinks are watery. And, most annoyingly, the resort insists on playing techno music regularly to, perhaps, promote a party atmosphere. The resort would do better by playing jazz and letting people entertain themselves. (For example, there was a somewhat cheesy "Mexico night" involving mariachi etc. The whole evening was a bit much.) And the resort tries to upsell everything, which i found very frustrating. All that being said, I had a wonderful time without breaking the bank. If you do go, request room 519. It is the quietest room with the best views (without paying the oceanfront prices).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the couple that had a good time anyway
Business
faribault mn
Jul 29, 2009

not a bad trip, but not the best either

We go to Mexico twice a year and this hotel was more like a holiday inn than a luxury hotel. Nothing was really terrible but nothing was great about it either. We had no turn down serivce, the bartender at the swim up bar was the best serice we got. Our fridge in our room did not work,our safe did not work,We had three light bulbs ou in our bathroom and one in our shower so we had to take a shower in the dark.Nothing speical just a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Queen B
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Secrets Capri

I had an ocean view room that was simply amazing. The beach was great as well. It was a very quiet and peaceful hotel. I did not have to wake up early each morning to secure a beach side lounge chair. I will say that it is strictly a couple hotel. I traveled with a friend of mine and we quickly realized that we were amongst ALL couples. It wasn't a big issue, but it may be something you want to keep in mind when considering this hotel. Also, while most of the food was amazing, on several ocassions we were told that they were out of items listed on the menu! The same thing happened at the bar. They only have a certain amount of liquor available each day. Towards the end of each evening the alcohol selection is limited. We were told after speaking to several wait staff that these are new procedures implemented after the swine flu issue. I hope that after the area rebounds that the Secrets will change their policies regarding food and alcohol. Overall, I had a nice time, but I'm not sure if I would stay at Secrets Capri again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calabay
Business
ireland
Sep 21, 2009

great stay with limitations

This was a return visit to a location we had previously speant two weeks. This time we stayed for 6 days. Perfect location in an excellent resort. Only issue I had on this trip was due to the seasons only a couple of restaurants were open at night and during lunchtime. Our favourite was only open on 2 nights out of 5 which was disappointing. They have put on a new bar at it is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top